Skip to content

One Year after Vancouver 2010

February 12, 2011

Really?  Has a whole year passed since the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics?  Where has the time gone?  For me at least, 2010 was a wonderful year.  Besides Vancouver 2010 I was fortunate enough to travel for three months in Europe, as well as live and learn to find work in Vancouver.  By a few months after the Games I wasn’t writing as much as I would have liked.  Heck, as you know I’m still not, but maybe I should make myself a Vancouver 2010 1-year anniversary resolution to get back at it!

Still in my Vancouver 2010 gear, even when I'm logging core!

I’m currently working as an exploration geologist (look ma! my degree came in handy!) at a mine called Mount Polley in central British Columbia.  It is a gold-copper mine and I help with brownfields (ie. near mine) exploration including logging core (most of my job), siting drill rigs, doing down drillhole surveys, and anything else that needs doing (ex. shoveling snow… a lot of snow).  I have spent most of my professional and academic life avoiding working on ‘metals’ deposits as I enjoyed working with gemstones and industrial minerals but I am very grateful for this opportunity to learn and grow.  It’s definitely a different life living at a mine but it is fun as well.  There are a lot of good people up at Mount Polley.

But because I’m working at the mine right now I am missing the Vancouver 2010 anniversary celebrations in Vancouver.  These are the first Vancouver 2010 events that I have missed in over a year and a half!  So, I’m a little sad today.  Sad to not be in my blues.  Sad to not be out photographing, documenting, participating and enjoying the excitement of remembering our very successful Games, both in sport and in Canadian Spirit.

I love the Red Men!

I miss the seas of people in Red  I miss the maple leafs flying everywhere.  I miss the Red Mittens.  (I think I even miss the crying several times a day in joy).  I miss meeting new people.  I miss volunteering in the Vancouver Olympic Village.  I miss my blue jacket.  I miss people smiling all over town.  (Right, enough, I’ve gone and made myself cry again, but not in a joyful way).

Seas of Red!

Let’s aim for some happy tears shall we?  I’m grateful for everyone that I met or got to spend time with because of Vancouver 2010.  There were so many wonderful people that I’m not going to try to name everyone, nor even one, because you all know who you are.  From fellow blue jackets to Torchbearers, pin traders to 2010vanfan readers, family, friends, scavenger hunters, fellow fans and line-standers, fellow bloggers, near-fellow journalists, incredible athletes and adorable Mascots.  As I suspected from the start, Vancouver 2010 was for me about meeting people.  I was sure that our city, province and country would come together as never before.  And we did!  Bigger and better than even my imagination led me to hope (and I have a pretty darned good imagination if I do say so myself!).

Olympic Rings during the Opening Ceremonies.

Vancouver 2010 is something that has touched the hearts of many.  It has changed the face of all of the participating cities and will continue to bring change to them for years.  It allowed many of us to take the patriotic pride that we had kept quietly burning in our glowing hearts and, like opening a lantern to light the world, share our joy, our love and our Canada with everyone.

If you made it to the anniversary celebrations today please share with us what you loved.  I wish I could be there, but I promise my heart and spirit are.

Oh Canada!

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    February 12, 2011 4:18 pm

    Funny, I was thinking about your blog the other day as we were approaching the year mark and how much I enjoyed it and how it really became part of my Olympic experience. Thank you for all your hard work uploading pictures and blogging during what was a crazy whirlwind couple of weeks. I know there was plenty of occations you updated us with little or no sleep at all.
    So from all of us readers, THANK YOU! Your efforts have not been forgotten.
    Best of luck with your new career path!
    Sincerely,
    (and still with glowing hearts)
    Jenn

  2. Patti permalink
    February 12, 2011 4:31 pm

    And now your writing has gotten me all chocked up. I’ve been doing a lot of reminiscing as well especially a year ago today when I was lucky enough to run with the Torch and you were nice enough to be there as a witness (I still need to get those photos). I’m going to the Canucks game tonight where they’re saluting the Olympians so I’ll let you know how that goes. I was going to walk my Torch route today but the rain dampened my enthusiasm so I’ll save it for another day. Sorry you’re missing all the Celebrations but if it’s any consolation, it’s pouring! Great news about your job but too bad it’s so far away. Maybe we can get together the next time you’re in town. And fantastic news about being included in the book coming out. Congratulations. I look forward to reading it.

    • Patti permalink
      February 12, 2011 10:30 pm

      Oops, I mean choked up.

  3. February 12, 2011 5:45 pm

    Great post. Glad to read about your current location and updates. Like you, a bit sentimental over here in Atlanta. Missing most the friends made in the great City of Vancouver, late-night dining downtown, the anxious walks from events to pin gatherings to work and the waterfront condo in the middle of everything. Longing to get back to Vancouver, and also to embark on adventures in the U.K. with London calling. Happy anniversary, Vancouver!

  4. Cynthia Russell permalink
    February 12, 2011 5:58 pm

    Long may your youthful enthusiasm be a role model for those around you and beyond! I’m sure you are a valuable player in the work force!!

  5. Leslie L. permalink
    February 12, 2011 7:40 pm

    We all missed you! I so enjoyed your regular Olympic blog. I understand *real* life has come knocking but it sound very interesting. Vancouver had a real pouring rain Saturday (very similar to last year’s First Olympic Saturday. Enjoy and you know that many will be happy to see your regular blogs! Thanks so much. All the best.

  6. February 13, 2011 9:34 pm

    Hop on over to my blog. I blogged the whole glorious weekend. 🙂

  7. Sarah permalink
    February 14, 2011 3:42 am

    Great to see an update and see that you’re doing well, a year on. It looks like such an interesting job that you do!
    Sorry you had to miss the anniversary things that went on, but maybe look on the bright side, it could have just reminded you it was over and made you sadder, maybe it’s better to just keep the richest memories alive, from when it was happening last year? Just a thought, you can tell me to shut up, lol.
    Have fun up at the mine! Do you still plan to go to London 2012?

  8. February 14, 2011 11:00 am

    I too was thinking of your blog when I got a nice surprise about your recent posting in my inbox.

    Glad to see that you are enjoying your experience in central BC! Not everything begins and ends with Vancouver. We do indeed have a great province!

    The one year anniversary was nice but subdued…the weather really put a damper (pardon the pun) on the festivities. It just wasnt the same…but what is? It still was great to see people out and dressed up and wanting to show their pride.

    One thing that the one year anniversary has done for me is spark in me a desire to create a yearly event that celebrates our diversity. Stay tuned for more in the coming year!

    All the best and keep us in the loop with your awesome goings on..

    brad

Trackbacks

  1. One year after Vancouver 2010 | NerdBird

Leave a Reply

