Skip to content

Fan memories and Vancouver’s windstorm

April 4, 2010

I’d like to thank everyone that has taken time to email me their photos and video montages of their Vancouver 2010 experiences.  I had somehow thought that I was finished with my crying at the wonder and joy of the Games, but these videos have proven me wrong.  As well as made me consider creating my own montage!  So here are the links to the videos I’ve seen so far.  Do you have one or maybe an online photo album?  Feel free to post it up as a comment or email me your link.  I love how much people enjoyed the Games!

The Andersen Family’s Montage

Mitch’s Montage

The Quatchi Kid – in his natural environment and at Easter.  If you haven’t seen the Quatchi Kid yet, you’ll definitely want to check out his videos or his Facebook page.  So darned cute!

I’m looking forward to seeing your memories!

*     *     *     *     *

If you have been in Vancouver over the last week you will be familiar with our terrible weather this last week!  It’s been cold, rainy and darned windy!  The wildest day so far was on Friday.  The sounds of the wind howling had me convinced that some trees were going to be blown over in the city.  And, I was right.  When I was walking the dog Saturday morning one of her favourite trees (I think squirrels live in it) was blown over – right across the bike path.  It was a pretty sizable tree and it looks like it destroyed another tree when it fell.  I’ve seen a broken sculpture, an awning blown completely off of a building, and even now I can hear some metal sheeting that has been pulled loose blowing in the wind.

The squirrel tree blown over.

The trunk of the tree seemed to have ripped itself apart as it fell. It is truly majestic and amazing to see.

The beautiful heron sculpture in George Wainborn Park in Vancouver is only flying with one wing right now.

The city is much quieter these days.  LiveCity sites are being returned to parks and everything is being put away.  It’s a bit sad, but I’m starting to see the beauty of how an event like this is meant to be a small capsule of time.  A perfect shining crystal of achievement, of friendliness, and of pride.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 6:51 am

    All three montages were good in their own way; my wife thought the Quatchi Kid was very cute.
    The other two brought back great memories from the Games and I could almost feel that rush again. Thanks again for keeping us up on everything post Olympics and for again sharing with us. Keep it coming!

  2. April 10, 2010 3:22 pm

    Good stuff. Just reading the word “montage” made me think of a possible theme song for this post.

  3. January 31, 2011 10:42 pm

    Gosh, those montages were wonderful and made me all teary of course. On another note (and this shames me!) I’d never heard the song on the second one ‘Wavin’ Flag’ from the FIFA world Cup. I love it! It’s on the MP3 now.
    Little Quatchi is just ADORABLE. I found myself giggling away at the waddle/running. What a gorgeous little sasquatch, thankyou for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

