Skip to content

6 days 10 hours to go – A bit of a cold

March 7, 2010

Sorry folks, I’m a bit behind as I have managed to get a bit of a cold… unfortunately I ran out of Cold-FX last week and was too slow in replacing it!!  Ah well, I will be better in no time.  This is partly due to my morning so far.  I have been trying to answer the question that many of you have been asking me for, well, several months now “What are you going to do after Vancouver 2010?”.  I’m going to be a bit of a brat and not give out details yet, as I need some time to work some things out, but I do know what I want to be writing about!  Stay tuned to find out what over the next several weeks!

*     *     *     *     *

I had my first Paralympic volunteer shift in the Vancouver Paralympic Village on Saturday.  As athletes really only started arriving yesterday I was expecting it to be quite dull, but it was much busier than I expected.  There were only two other working on the Plaza & Events crew with me so we started our day by cleaning the Salt Building (the athlete’s living room).  I cleaned couches, vacuumed carpets and the pool tables, the girls cleaned up the living wall and we generally made sure that it looks as wonderful as it did before the Olympics.  It was a really nice feeling to make it look perfect again for our next set of guests!

The Athlete's Village.

From there I was sent over to the Welcome Centre, where the teams are supposed to first arrive.  I say ‘supposed’ because I was there to help the team from Japan with their luggage.  The luggage did arrive but most of the athletes wound up in the transport mall on the other side of the Village!  No matter.  We unloaded the truck full of luggage, put it all through the security scanners and the team on the other side of the security line got it all loaded up again to be delivered to their accommodation.  It was a really great shift!

I did leave a bit early from the Village though, as it was my brother Tony’s last day in Vancouver.  I met with him and our uncle Michael to have a dim sum lunch at the Floata restaurant in Chinatown.  I’m a little embarrased to say that I’ve never had a dim sum lunch (or dinner) but we had a marvellous meal and a great time catching up.  From lunch it was off home to get Tony’s luggage and head to the airport.  It has been nearly a year since I had seen him last but it should only be a few months this time, so it wasn’t too hard to say goodbye.  I look forward to visiting him in Munich soon and have already requested that we visit the Olympic Stadium and possibly the office for the Munich 2018 Olympic Bid!

*     *     *     *     *

Are you collecting the Vancouver 2010 circulation coins from your change?  The last one will be released on Thursday, March 18th.  It is the ice sledge hockey quarter and will complete the set of coins that the Royal Canadian Mint made for the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.  Look for them in your change or stop by your local Royal Bank branch to get yours starting on the 18th.

The final coin in the circulation set - ice sledge hockey!

*     *     *     *     *

One last note – I have been asked to share more of my volunteer experiences in the Village, and I will at some point, but as I volunteer in what is essentially the athlete’s ‘Living Room’ I have not been free to talk about the experience all that much and have not taken photos of much of it either.  I will be posting some of the stories and the few photos that I have taken after the Paralympics are over.  This is due partly to the IOC blogging guidelines and VANOC’s rules and regulations for volunteers.  Both restrictions are meant to protect both the athlete’s privacy and the sponsors advertising rights, which I certainly respect.  The things that I do share later will not impinge on anyone’s privacy but are neat little stories of how my volunteer experience unfolded.

Thank you merci!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jane permalink
    March 8, 2010 3:18 am

    hi, i just came across your page when i did a search for olympic pins 🙂
    i missed out on the whole pin-collecting fever during the olympics and now i’m hoping to start a collection of olympic pins.
    could u please give me some tips on where (if any places) i could go to get olympic pins during the Paralympics?
    thank you!
    -jane 🙂

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      March 11, 2010 10:45 am

      Hi Jane,

      You could try at Robson Square, LiveCity Downtown, the PowerSmart Village and the Mint at the Vancouver Public Library for pins during the Paralympics.

      Good luck!
      Andrea

Leave a Reply

