Skip to content

8 days 17 hours to the Paralympics – A new holiday and a lot of enthusiasm

March 5, 2010

I am stoked… I am so stoked for the Paralympics you’d probably think I’m exaggerating.  But I’m not!  Sledge hockey??  Are you kidding me?  What cooler sport is there?  Actually, if there was ever a chance that I could strap myself into a sledge and try it out I’d be all over it!  I’d be hideously embarrassed I’m sure (I have nearly 0% upper body strength and I know it) but I would be totally into it, even if I spent the entire time on my side, as I expect I would.   And I think this would be my strong sport!  I can’t even imagine strapping myself into a single ski or any of the other options… I can barely ski as it is!  Me… I’m an ‘intra-skier’.  Most people apres-ski… I don’t even get that far!  I do a run… I have a beverage… I maybe do another run… I definitely have another drink…. you can see where it goes from here!

Sumi playing sledge hockey!!

Alright, well… I got an email and a post from someone petitioning for British Columbia to have a holiday added in February.  Now… as a BC-girl I can tell you that we’ve been aiming for this for a while.  We have no holidays between January 1st and Good Friday (typically in April).  A holiday early in the year would be excellent!  Today I got a petition from Kathy, looking to have ‘With Glowing Hearts’ day on the third Monday of February every year, to commemorate our two Gold medals in Olympic hockey, not to mention how proud we are of all our Canadian athletes and medallists.  Really this is about celebrating the wonderful job that Vancouver and the region (really the whole province) did at hosting the Games!  In other parts of Canada there are already holidays called such things as: Family Day, Lois Riel Day and Islander Day.  It is time that British Columbia had a holiday in February as well!  If you support this idea please sign the petition at Glowing Heart Day and let our province and country remember what a wonderful event we hosted!

And I’m afraid it’s going to be short tonight… I have been awake for too many hours an my wee nap this afternoon did not seem to help with my wakefulness factor now.  If you have a question about the Paralympics or are curious about anything else please let me know (2010vanfan@gmail.com) and I will try to help.  If not, then just drop me a line!  I’m so happy to hear from everyone!  I’m just starting to get caught up on emails though so I’m sorry if I’m slow!!

Thank you merci!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 1:01 am

    We just signed the petition. Great idea!!!

  2. Bob permalink
    March 5, 2010 1:39 am

    There was a bit of a line-up at the UBC Bookstore Ticket Office this morning which is a good sign. I hope all the Paralympic sports get support. Sledge hockey tickets are definitely selling well!

    I signed the petition … even though every day for me is a holiday!!!

  3. Dan permalink
    March 5, 2010 2:54 am

    Haha, I knew you guys would make a holiday out of the Olympic win!

  4. keith77cdn permalink
    March 6, 2010 6:04 am

    i went bought 2 tickets one for sledge hockey but i miss out on canada ones since they sold out so i bought next one is i like see is sweden and italy game and i bought curling too

Leave a Reply

