Skip to content

Olympics Day 16 – I’m not ready!!

February 28, 2010

While watching the fireworks at LiveCity Yaletown from the front of our building just a few minutes ago I realised that I am not at all ready for this all to end tomorrow.  I know that is an overstatement in some ways – the Paralympic Flame is lit on March 3rd and the Games will run from March 12th – 21st but come about 8pm or so tomorrow evening the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics will be over and I am just not ready for that.  It’s come so fast and is nearly gone.  I’ve done so many things but have so many more I would like to get to.  There has not been enough hours in a day for several weeks for me but still I’d like more.  Well… it’s not over yet so I shouldn’t dwell, I should think about this day and the wonderful things that happened in it (hint… a lot of hardware was handed out today and in the last few days!!).

Morning came way too early today, after my adventures with Patti to be involved in CTV’s Olympic Cauldron filming thing-y, but came it did and it was luckily accompanied by eggs, bacon and a chocolate milkshake at Two Parrots restaurant on Granville Street.  My brother headed off to Kamloops to visit the rest of our family this morning, catching a ride with Kevin and Anna just around breakfast time.  I got some writing done and the rest of us still in the house (still 5 of us in a 1.5 bedroom condo! did I mention I’m a bit like Harry Potter right now, but instead of the cupboard under the stairs I sleep in the pantry?) tried to get out to do things but had a hard time leaving the television.  We watched the Canadian men win Gold in the 5000m team pursuit in speed skating and then Jasey Jay win Gold in snowboard parallel giant slalom!  We managed to pull ourselves away for a bit.  I had to go pick up my Paralympic accreditation and uniform conversion kit and found out on the bus ride back downtown that Lyndon Rush and his team had won the Bronze Medal in four man bobsleigh!  I hopped off of the bus and met everyone at the German Fan Fest for a beer and a bratwurst .  It was a pretty great environment there, aided by three medals on the day already and counting!  Curling was a blast to watch at the Fan Fest with so many excited fans!

After some time at the German Fan Fest we went wandering to find a pre-hockey game watering hole (my parents and friends went to the Bronze medal ice hockey game tonight) I found out my friend had a ticket for me to go with him to see the Figure Skating Gala at Pacific Coliseum.  Well, I raced home to change a bit and let him into our visitor’s parking.  All went smoothly and we were on our way in no time.  The Gala was great to watch.  We were a bit late so didn’t get to see everything but what we did see was really fantastic.  I love when the skaters have a chance to just have fun with a program – no rules, no requirements.  The two that stand out for me were the Bronze Medal Ice Dance winners from Russia, Oksana Domnina and Maxim Shabalin, dancing to a Matrix theme, and the Gold Medal Ice Dance winners from Canada, Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, as a rough and tumble hockey player and a prima ballerina!  Everyone put on a great show, it was really wonderful to get to see.  Oh, and it didn’t hurt to learn that Kevin Martin’s team won the Gold Medal in curling while we were there.

Oksana Domnina and Maxim Shabalin - Bronze Ice Dance Medallists from Russia.

Meryl Davis and Charlie White - Silver Ice Dance Medallists from the USA.

Scott and Tessa - our Gold Medallists in Ice Dance - and damn fun skaters!

The rest of the night was mellower.  A lovely and calm sushi dinner (while my phone updated us on the score in the Bronze medal game – Finland won Bronze in both men’s and women’s hockey!!) and then back home to sleep early and write in the morning… Ah yeah… I was going to write in the morning but the fireworks got into my system and I had to say it all tonight.

Canada – you rock!  While I’ve always thought this I’m always pleased and excited when it’s shown to the world.  Last week someone conceded that we weren’t going to ‘Own the Podium‘ as we set out to do.  And while we didn’t meet one of the stated goals of winning the most medals of any team at this Olympic Games I have to say that our athletes have really out done themselves.  We currently have 25 medals and will have at least one more tomorrow from hockey (we are guaranteed a medal in hockey, I have high hopes for the men’s 50km cross-country ski race too!) so we will finish with at least 26 medals, two more than the record we set in Torino of 24 during 2006.  We currently have 13 Gold Medals!  Higher than any other nation.  Higher than we’ve ever gotten in a Winter Olympics.  Higher than any host nation has had for a Winter Olympics.  It is a truly stunning and wonderful number, and when paired with our Silver and Bronze medals truly makes me think we were very successful at ‘Owning the Podium’.   Congratulations to all of our medal winners and to all of the athletes that have competed at these Olympic Games.  You make us all so proud and truly are an inspiration (I’m having minor dreams that if I started now maybe I could one day be a brakeman in women’s bobsleigh… 🙂 ).  You have reached – faster, higher, stronger – and have shown the world the best of the best.  Thank you all so much.

And now I should sleep, so that I’m well rested for the final two athletic events, and for… well… you know… that thing that happens tomorrow evening that I’m not ready for yet.

Thank you merci!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    February 28, 2010 12:21 am

    You are not alone … I think most people aren’t ready for the party to end!

    It has been a blast. These games have been a great success in many ways, but mostly in the sense that they have change Canada forever. We are no longer shy about showing our patriotism and pride in our country. We have cheered loudy, waved our flag and spontaneously song our national anthem over and over.

    Go Team Canada … win GOLD tomorrow against the USA!

  2. Norman Zeer permalink
    February 28, 2010 12:38 am

    Andrea,

    I could not of said it any better than you just have! 🙂
    13 GOLD Medals; with the very possibility of a 14th from our Men’s Hockey Team starting in less than 12 hours from now.

    You have done an outstanding job in keeping ALL Canadians up to date, with some extraordinary first-hand encounters @ these Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics! Two thumbs-up, with a ton of high 5’s to you & your wonderful family 🙂

    Thank-YOU so very-much for being there for those of us that could not.

    GO CANADA GO!!!

    Norman

  3. Fervidus Humanus permalink
    February 28, 2010 7:39 am

    We did Own the Podium. And you documented every step of the journey! Keep up the great photos! Did you get tickets to the game tonight? Even if not, it’ll be a smash wherever you watch. I have friends around the world watching at all hours of the night/morning, cheering for Canada.

    1 more to go.

    Believe.

  4. March 1, 2010 7:37 am

    One final note to you just to thank you for allowing us along for this momentous ride called the 2010 Olympic Games. You have certainly outdid yourself with all the lovely pictures sharing of feelings and for allowing us all into your family for a couple of weeks. Good luck with all your future endeavours and thanks again for sharing this experience .

  5. Cathy permalink
    March 1, 2010 10:58 am

    Hi Andrea
    The ending of the Olympics has left me with an empty feeling 😦
    Thank You so much for your wonderful commentary of this extraordinary event!!!!!
    You did a magnificent job!!!!!!!
    Thank You 🙂

Leave a Reply

