Skip to content

Olympics Day 11 – Gold in Ice Dance!

February 23, 2010

Well, my day was somewhat Olympic-ly quiet, but I think that’s ’cause we were up partying so late after the Canada – USA game. 😀  It was a great day to take easy.  The weather was gorgeous again.  We walked the dog along the Seawall to English Bay.  I walked to Cardero’s to have lunch with friends in Coal Harbour.  Actually, besides being a wonderful lunch with very nice people it was also the first time I had seen the outdoor Olympic Cauldron.  It was only from a distance, so I don’t have any photos, but I was touched nonetheless.  There is something powerful about that Flame, I will probably never be able to explain it with words.  But I’m sure that if you saw the Olympic Flame pass through your community on its way to the Olympics then you know what I’m talking about.

Other than that, I did a bit of Olympic shopping for friends, though somewhat unsuccessfully as most of the things on my list seem to be sold out but I got some done.  Then it was back home to get ready for dinner with my family.  My brother had booked a dinner cruise for the four of us as a surprise for our Mom.  It was scheduled to leave Granville Island at 6pm and we were cutting it a bit fine arriving on the island at about 5:50pm but we made it to the dock area where the boats leave from with a few minutes to spare, and then we looked, and looked, and then tried to phone the company, but we couldn’t find a dinner cruise leaving from anywhere around there.  Finally my brother got a hold of someone by phone and found out that they had cancelled the cruise (somehow we were the only ones booked??!!).  Highly annoying!  So onto Plan B: stand in line at the Sandbar and hope that it wouldn’t take to long.  We were told 30-45 minutes when we arrived, but were sat at a lovely table on the patio within 15 minutes!  Crazy!  We were all very pleased.  The food and service was great and we had a lovely night together.

Once home I sat down to write, turning the tv on as I did so, just in time to see that Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir had won Gold in Ice Dance!  It was perfect timing!  As I watched them be interviewed, skate out and take the podium, get their medals and skate some more I was really, really thrilled to see how excited and thrilled Tessa, Scott, and the Silver Medallist Americans Meryl Davis and Charlie White all were for each other.  I know that with the hockey game the day before Canadians, myself included, certainly had a hard time being generous and happy for the Americans win, and while we did get gold in the Ice Dance, by the looks on their faces I would say that even if the results were flipped those four skaters would still be just as thrilled for each other.  It was wonderful to see.  They were proud of themselves, their countries and their friends, and you could see it bursting from them.  It was very exciting and exactly the best representation of the spirit of the Olympics.  So congratulations to Tessa & Scott and Meryl & Charlie.  You’re all such wonderful role models and an inspiration hopefully to the world!

Thank you merci!

Tessa and Scott - photo from Sun Media, click for their story.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carole Robertson permalink
    February 23, 2010 10:44 am

    Just loving all your stories and links! I saw Tessa and Scott skate last night on TV. Their performance was breath-taking!!!! Hurray for them and Canada! Olympic GOLD!

  2. February 23, 2010 10:58 am

    WOOOHOOOO!!!!

  3. February 24, 2010 8:09 am

    I was fortunate to have Ice Dancing tickets and saw this Gold Medal performance by our wonderful Canadians. It was amazing to be there and I’m so happy for them, us, everyone. I can’t believe the emotions coming out of me during these Olympics. I want to tell everyone I see that I am Canadian and I love Canada! What an incredible experience for all of us!
    And then I was at the Canada/Germany game yesterday! Another amazing event. Can’t wait to see what else is going to happen!

Leave a Reply

