Skip to content

Olympics Day 8 – Lanny McDonald and lots of other fun!

February 20, 2010

This has been an amazing day!!  It started on Granville Island where I met up with Jenn from Atos Origin and Hardeep from Cold-FX.  We have all been talking to each other for months because of Vancouver 2010 but this morning was the only opportunity that we all had to get together at the same time.  We had a blast!  We all came in our respective uniforms (I had my volunteer uniform on) so that we could ‘model pose’ for some photos, but we also took just some nice ones.

Hardeep, Jenn and I all in our snazzy Vancouver 2010 uniforms.

Our meet was unfortunately short, as we all had different directions that we needed to be running in but it was very, very nice to do anyhow.  When we were done, I raced back home, changed out of my blue volunteer uniform into regular Team Canada/Vancouver 2010 wear for the day.  I went for breakfast at the Elbow Room with my family (great place but don’t go if you don’t like being abused by the servers!) and from there my brother, Tony, and I headed for a bit of a tour for the downtown core with the goal of ending up at Robson Square where Global was filming today.  One note from our walk: the line for ziptrekking is very, very long so be prepared for that.  I’m sure it is well worth doing but it will be a while before you’ll get a turn.

We found the Global “studio”, and outdoor, tented area where they had a news desk set up.  As we entered the area where they were filming a gentleman welcomed us and when we had gotten past him my brother turned to me and asked “Do you know who that was?”
I, of course, responded no.  It was Lanny McDonald!!  We all seemed to have lots of time so we strolled back and chatted with him and his son Graeme for a while which was pretty sweet.  I gave Lanny and Graeme 2010vanfan.ca pins and unexpectedly we got pins back too – Molson Canadian Hockey House ‘McDonald’ pins!  So cool!

My brother Tony with Lanny McDonald!!

Lanny was on first, and then me shortly after.  I was standing between Randene and Squire, with my microphone in hand when I got rushed back out so that Patrick Chan, who had just arrived for filming could be interviewed.  I was bumped for Patrick Chan!  That’s sort of sweet.  While he was being interviewed I ran into Astra, whom I met many months before while volunteering at the BC Showcase.  We’re all busy off of our feet but loving it!  I gave her a 2010vanfan.ca pin too, as well as one for Patrick Chan, I hope she passed it on!  Anyhow, my interview went well, I’m getting a bit better at relaxing while doing these things and I think it helps.

My interview with Randene and Squire for the Global BC Noon News Extra.

From filming the Global BC Noon News Extra Tony and I headed to Yaletown.  We stopped at Yahoo’s Fancouver before trying to find some beer on a sunny patio.  We stopped at one of the Mexican places on Pacific at Davie and had some beer, in the sunshine, while watching the world go by.  It was pretty amazing.  We met lots of nice people, mostly through sharing chairs and tables.  Again, I am awed and overjoyed at the friendliness and cooperative spirit that the Vancouver 2010 Olympics invoke.

Inside Yahoo's Fancouver - between Hamilton and Mainland in Yaletown.

The night went by in a bit of a blur.  I got to go to tonight’s Victory Ceremony featuring the band ‘Theory of a Deadman‘ with Justin and Caitlin, then we met up with Mike and went for some dinner and drinks.  After that we headed to Gastown to meet up with friends  of Justin and Mike and after a quick drink we headed to the Canvas Lounge for the JetSetCrew Arrivals party.  Tonight was featuring the Canadian Luge Association and some of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic lugers and, without being entirely confident of who exactly was there there, there certainly were people that looked like they were possibly lugers!  Neat!

The party at the Canvas Lounge was great.  There was a really great vibe and people everywhere seemed to be having a good time.  My biggest impression from the night though was that I really am not cool.  I’m the nerdy kid in the corner and a posh club like this felt very far outside of my comfort zone, but with good friends and the great staff at the Canvas Lounge I had a wonderful time and would like to thank everyone for making it so enjoyable: Justin, Mike, Heather, Matt, Victoria, Keiran and the Canvas Lounge crew including Jaime and Jesse.

Thank you merci!

*     *     *     *     *

OK – well, I managed to get Day 8 all written up before going to sleep at 3am last night, but as I had to be up at 5am to go to Cypress today I didn’t have a chance to add the photos or links.  That’s why I’m late.  But that’s how my days go right now and I’m loving every minute of it!

I hope to see many of you tonight for the get-together.  Thanks for the notes from those of you that would like to be here but can’t make it.  I really appreciate your support.  I will try to write a bit earlier tonight!  Thank you merci!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 10:09 am

    You didn’t know who Lanny McDonald was; c’mon he’s a Canadian icon. lol
    Glad to continue reading all your interesting tidbits. So nice that your brother is home for all your family; sounds like you two get along famously. Keep enjoying each and every day of this and thanks again for sharing all this with us.

  2. Steph permalink
    February 21, 2010 11:49 am

    I’m not sure how old Andrea is but I know I’m older than her and Lanny McDonald was great during my time. So perhaps he was before her time. He kept his trademark mustache all these years!

  3. 2010vanfan permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:52 pm

    I should clarify! 😀 I do know who Lanny McDonald is… I just didn’t recognize him as we walked by. But then again I’m a generally oblivious person. I’m not good at recognizing famous people at the best of times. Ah well, my brother did recognize him and we had a wonderful time all talking together.
    😀

  4. February 22, 2010 11:09 am

    Love reading your updates, as usual – I can’t believe all the stuff you’re fitting in!! And I love that picture of your brother with Lanny McDonald – who happens to be my second cousin. You can tell…because we have the same mustache.

    Keep up the great work!! We love living vicariously through you!

  5. February 23, 2010 11:15 am

    Hey Andrea!!!!

    I don’t know how you are managing. While in Vancouver I did not have time to read my favourite blogs — I am catching up now. You are attending many more events than I did & still managing to write your blog — I salute you!!!

    It was a pleasure to meet you, Jenn & your parents! You have a very warm & lovely family. Please thank your mom for being our photographer. It’s a shame it was a bit rushed.. but great all the same. I managed to walk (in circles) around Granville Island & had to ask for help finding my way off the island! Then went on to wait 6 hrs in line @ the Mint…but I me some wonderful people & got to hold the Vancouver 2010 Medals so it was worth it!

    Keep up the great work.

    Cheers,
    Hardeep

Leave a Reply

