Skip to content

Olympics Day 5 – More Gold and good friends!

February 17, 2010

Today I was lazy.  I should have been running around investigating houses and pavilions and blogging like mad, instead I stayed home and cleaned up my desk and my closet and my pins.  It was a perfect day!  I got to watch all sorts of Olympic sport on the television, including curling, ladies snowboard-cross, and hockey.  It was wonderful to get to see Maëlle Ricker win Canada’s second Gold medal of the Games!  She owned her races right out of the gates!  Go Maëlle!!  Go Canada!!

What I did get to do today though was attend another Victory Ceremony (yes, my third in a row, and yes, I am spoiled!).  My friend Katie (and guest blogger extraordinaire) got to come along as well.  We missed the medal ceremonies (all sorts of crazy schedule things…) but we did get to see all of the set that the Barenaked Ladies put on tonight.  As usual, they were awesome!  I wish I could share some of their rap and jamming but since I can’t do that I will share this lyric…

“If I had a million dollars I would buy you an exotic pet like a llama or a Miga.”

Katie and I in our Canadian Red waiting for the Barenaked Ladies!

I’ve always loved their sense of humour and am pleased to say that they still put on one of the best shows I’ve ever seen.  They’re just so personable and really go out of their way to interact with the audience.  Anyway, they were awesome and I’m so very happy that I got to see them tonight!

The Barenaked Ladies take to the stage.

One of the things I love about the Olympics is how it brings people together, from all over the world.  Unfortunately the guys we went to the show with, Justin and his brother Mike (both from Seattle/Wisconsin depending on when you’re referencing), could not come out for drinks with us as they were on their way to a few days of skiing and snowboarding in Whistler (yes, I am sure you feel as terrible for them as I do 😉 ).  But Katie (a true, born and bred Vancouverite) and I (BC girl, born in Revelstoke) met up with Dan and Laura (currently living in Ottawa), Dave (my pilot and local Port Coquitlam boy), Morag (originally from South Africa but more recently from London) and Chris and Cheryl (Rachael’s parents from Hobart, Australia!).  See what I mean about coming from around the world?  The Olympics give people a chance to catch up as well.  I haven’t seen Dan in probably more than 10 years!  I love the Olympics!!  I hope you do too and are feeling the vibe wherever you go.  Go Canada go!!!

Thank you merci!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. keith77cdn permalink
    February 17, 2010 12:34 am

    if ya bored i can meet ya at yaletown livecity on 17th email me since i going bc then yaletown for bit then concord then victory

  2. Tom permalink
    February 17, 2010 7:16 am

    Sounds a great day. I was. At snow x yesterday to see that Canada gold. Brilliant. Shame they cancelled all those cypress tickets – I have two blank days now 😦

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 17, 2010 9:22 am

      Rats! It is definitely unfortunate about the tickets. We’re still waiting to hear if some of ours have been or will be cancelled as well. But that does give you two days to explore some of the stuff around Vancouver! So hopefully you’ll find lots of interesting things to do still!
      What days do you have free?
      Happy Olympics!!
      Andrea

      • Tom permalink
        February 17, 2010 1:15 pm

        This Sunday and the following (last) Saturday. I’m sure there will be stuff to do though!

  3. February 17, 2010 10:58 am

    You’ve seen my family and friends more than I have!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 17, 2010 11:05 am

      Hee hee! Yes, it’s a bit like that isn’t it? Hope you’re having fun up there! I’m in Whistler for skeleton tomorrow but I’m not sure how much time I’ll have, I would love to visit, even for a little bit. My bus leaves North Vancouver at 1:10 and the competition starts at 4pm, I may have a bit of time for drinks or something before (though I imagine you’ll likely be working then). And I’ve heard that I have two hours after to catch a bus back down. The competition ends at 9pm so maybe I could meet up for a bit then, though I’m more worried about missing my bus home than missing some competition. Do you have any free time on Thursday?? Hmm… now I’m just babbling! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Olympics Day 12 – Two hockey Games and some craft hour « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

