Skip to content

Guest Post by Katie – The Kruzenshtern

February 17, 2010

On the boat

It was a dark and stormy day…  OK, maybe just grey and drizzly, typical Vancouver weather (we wouldn’t want to give everyone the wrong idea about winter in Vancouver now would we?).  Despite the rain my friends and I decided to check out the Russian tall ship, the Kruzenshtern, docked beside Lonsdale Quay (that’s pronounced ‘key’ people, not ‘kay’, but we know what you mean).

Eighteen dollars will get you a thirty minute tour by a genuine Russian Cadet on a ship that is nearly a hundred years old.  According to our guide there are 170 people on board, approximately two thirds of which are cadets who make up the bulk of the crew. That’s about 110 Cadets and of those 110, only 6 are female!   Brave girls!   It took them two and a half months to get here from Russia, a journey which included Christmas in the Canary Islands.   I would have liked to ask more questions, but it turns out I’m not much of a reporter.  Besides our guide was only about 16 or 17 years old and conducting a tour in a language not his own, something I certainly couldn’t have managed!

Not everyone will think this is worth $18, my parents didn’t, but I had a great time.  It is a beautiful ship and it’s HUGE.  I’ve never seen anything like it, let alone had the opportunity to be on a ship like that so I thought it was money well spent.  If you are visiting Vancouver I think it’s at least worth going over to the North Shore to check it out.  You get to go for a ride on the Sea Bus which gives you a spectacular view of the North Shore Mountains, the city and the Olympic flame.  Well, some of the time anyway, depends on the rain.

The Kruzenshtern in North Vancouver

Guest Post by Katie D.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 11:44 am

    Kewl report! I saw da cadets on robson and took a pic of them. That ship looks really interesting. can ya go for a cruise on it? I thought I read that somewhere but I doubt it. I think the tall ships are coming back here next year. Thanks. Bubbles

  2. Lizzy A permalink
    February 18, 2010 10:43 pm

    Thanks Katie – I enjoyed reading about my beloved Kruzenshtern in Vancouver. She IS a beautiful ship – I think the most beautiful in the world, and certainly one of the most historically important.

    I’m an Australian woman, but I have sailed in this ship three times! Yes, it is possible. I sailed from Puerto Rico to New York and from Liverpool to Bremerhaven in 1992, and from Fremantle across the Indian Ocean to Durban and Cape Town in 1996. It was a wonderful experience! I worked with the male cadets (there were no female cadets back then) and I did all the work up in the masts – even furling sails in a gale – just the same as the boys.

    I think it’s true that the ship is taking passengers out sailing from Vancouver – that was the plan anyway. It is quite expensive, but worth it. Or if you just want to get some great photos, find out the dates she’s sailing and you might be able to get some photos from the shore of her with all her sails set – that is a fantastic sight!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Olympics Day 7 – Birks & Skeleton « 2010VanFan
  2. Olympics Day 9 – Aerials at Cypress and the get-together « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

