Skip to content

Olympics Day 2 – People coming together

February 13, 2010
tags:

As I mentioned, I’m pretty tired so I’m going to just comment on something that I found really wonderful today, before I head off to catch up on some sleep.  What caught my attention?  How people will stop to watch coverage of the sports events as they’re walking down the street or through a mall.  Everywhere I went today, when there was a television present there was a crowd of people.  There was no differentiation of sex, age, race, or anything else that may otherwise draw lines between people.  Watching our Olympic athletes compete people stop to watch and share.  We share the excitement, the worry, the awe and the joy, and that is a truly powerful feeling.  If you haven’t experienced this yet, be sure to go on a walk through town, whatever town you’re in.  I bet, that if there is a television in a public spot that is showing the Olympics, there will be a crowd and there will be an amazing atmosphere that cannot be duplicated.  Welcome world to Vancouver!  And welcome, to all of my neighbours that I will get to spend time with over the next two weeks.  Even if it is only for a few minutes it is welcome.

Well, not my best photo, but it is an example of people gathering to watch the Olympics. I took this in Pacific Centre and at points this crowd was much larger.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 11:52 pm

    I was so busy at work today, I don’t know the results of practically anything. But I sense the Swiss did well at something because I heard several members of the IOC staff, all Swiss, cheering at some point!

  2. Steph permalink
    February 14, 2010 2:13 am

    Hi Andrea, I was wondering if you were going to keep blogging after the 210 days were over. I’m glad that you will continue for a while longer still 🙂

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 14, 2010 8:54 am

      Thanks Steph, yup, I’m still on, I just took a wee break for the Opening Ceremonies! 🙂

  3. Jo-Anne permalink
    February 14, 2010 9:49 am

    Oh yes, and many, many thanks for your blog and congratulations on meeting your challenge. Proud to have been there with you. What will I do when it’s over? BOOHOO

  4. Bob permalink
    February 14, 2010 11:55 am

    Hi Andrea … from your photos it appears you were sitting fairly close to me … looks like slightly to my right and slightly higher! So funny that we would come together when leaving the stadium!
    I took 358 photos during the Opening which I have started to post on Facebook. So many great memories!
    Bob

  5. Alan Christensen permalink
    February 14, 2010 1:49 pm

    That’s exactly how it was here for the Salt Lake games. I worked food service during those games and in the breakroom the tv was on and he people were glued to the tv!!

  6. David permalink
    February 14, 2010 5:26 pm

    I love your blog. What a thrill to be able to attend the openning cermonies. I am so excited about teh games. I will be arrving tomorrow as long as the car will get be there. I can wait for the excitement and passion. It is great that the rain ahs not damped teh spirit of the games. Go Canada Go

Leave a Reply

