Skip to content

Olympics Day 1 – Opening Ceremonies and a challenge met

February 13, 2010

I cannot express how wonderful it was to attend the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games with my Mom.  I’m afraid that since the Opening Ceremonies (and the impromptu post- Opening Ceremonies party at our house) I’ve been feeling pretty sleepy and a bit exhausted.  So instead of writing a lot tonight I’m going to post a few photos of my Mom and my adventure at the Opening of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games and then I’m going to get some sleep so that I can attack the remaining 15 days of the Games with verve and vigour!  I will try to post up some more on my thoughts and feelings about the Opening Ceremonies very soon!

2010vanfan and 2010vanfan's Mom on our way to the Opening Ceremonies! Yes, we do have t-shirts! (Photo by Doug).

Waiting to get into BC Place. The crowd was quite genial and kept moving pretty well.

My Mom as we're exploring our prop boxes. It was amazing to be part of the show!

This photo is from before the Opening Ceremonies began. We have the lovely pale blue ponchos on that were in our prop kits. The ponchos were needed so that the audience could be painted with light! (Photo by my mom, Sharon).

The Four Host First Nations welcoming the athletes. This was beautiful! (Photo by my mom).

Welcome Team Canada!!! We all cheered so hard! (Photo by my mom).

Big beautiful lit polar bear. Actually, I loved how the performers had to stay on the 'icebergs' of light, it was wonderful to see. (Photo by my mom).

The Olympic Cauldron in a sea of light. Such a magical evening! (Photo by my mom!).

Athlete's exiting past the Olympic Cauldron at the conclusion of the Opening Ceremonies.

*     *     *     *     *

I would also like to thank everyone for reading and following along with my Vancouver 2010 adventures.  When I first started this blog I had set myself the challenge to write everyday until the Olympic Opening Ceremonies, starting 210 days before the Ceremonies.  At the start of the Olympic Opening Ceremonies I met that goal and really really have all of you to thank, for your support, encouragement and friendship.  I will continue to post daily through the Olympic and Paralympic Games, but did want to take time to note this milestone.  Now… on with the Games!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    February 13, 2010 10:48 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for weeks and have enjoyed every post! I am from the Victoria and have been dreaming of being a small part of the olympics since Vancouver won the bid in 2003.

    I had always hoped to get tickets to at least the opening ceremonies, but it seemed like I was destined not to go – until last tuesday when they released a few more seats. I decided since I had no concrete plans to just make a day of it; so I spent 4 hours on the ferry back and forth on 3 hours sleep (got interviewed by CTV on the ferry), and 10 hours walking around vancouver – plus the Opening Ceremonies. Left my house at 4 am and got home 2 am the next day. What a crazy exciting whirlwind.

    I made a list of some of the places that you have either mentioned or been to that intrigued me and I have to say it was one of the top 5 best days of my life.

    Now that you’ve posted pictures from the Opening Ceremonies I am 100% sure I was sitting a couple rows behind you and your mom. Small world.

    Anyway, I can never thank you enough for how much you’ve helped and inspired me to make this once in a lifetime dream come true for me. So…thank you.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 14, 2010 9:57 am

      Wow Jen! I’m so impressed that you just went and did it all, and I’m so happy that you had such a wonderful time! Your day sounds truly fantastic! I hope you’ll have more opportunities for such amazing days in the near future!
      Thanks so much for reading, and for sharing. It means a lot to me!
      Happy Olympics! – Andrea

  2. February 13, 2010 11:51 pm

    Beautiful photos, Andrea!

  3. Jo-Anne permalink
    February 14, 2010 9:44 am

    Bet you cried as much as I did through the opening ceremonies. They were awesome. Thanks for sharing some terrific pictures, means a lot. See you in two weeks. So excited.

  4. February 14, 2010 10:21 am

    Great photos. Love the T-shirts! Looking forward to catching up one of these days. Pace yourself. The hard part is the middle weekend!

  5. Nancy permalink
    February 14, 2010 10:36 am

    Congratulations on meeting your challenge!!! It is fun to read your blog and get such a personal view of what the Olympics mean.
    Your photos at the OC are great! It was a great show!
    Good luck and enjoy these couple of weeks!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 16, 2010 12:36 pm

      Thanks so much Nancy! I hope you’re enjoying the Olympics!
      Andrea

  6. Nicole Gaumont permalink
    February 14, 2010 11:15 am

    Vancouver is one of the most beautiful Country in the world but the opening ceremonies was a disaster. I have nothing against Aboriginal people but this was too much. There was nothing spectacular about the openings like other opening ceremonies in other Countries when your eyes light up how spectacular it was. I was so excited to be able to watch the ceremonies but at times I felt ashamed being a Canadian.

  7. February 14, 2010 12:21 pm

    I’ve really enjoyed following your Olympic Adventures! Keep those pictures and stories coming – I feel like I’m there when I read your posts!

  8. Kerstin permalink
    February 14, 2010 1:54 pm

    Well done on 210 days Andrea. What a great achievement. I’ve loved all your blogs, felt like I was there, and learned so much about your beautiful city and its people. Thank you.

  9. Alan Christensen permalink
    February 14, 2010 1:55 pm

    Were you able to get a limited edition Coke Opening Ceremonies pin? Now that is a real hot pin during the games!!

  10. February 15, 2010 10:10 am

    I love your pictures and being at the Olympics “someday” is on my bucket list – Now I may need to get my mom to come along. How awesome! I also covet the Canadian mittens – they are just fabulous.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 16, 2010 12:29 pm

      Thanks for reading! And definitely try to make it to the Olympics someday! It’s well worth it!
      Happy Vancouver 2010 to you!
      Andrea

  11. Dan permalink
    February 15, 2010 4:10 pm

    Amazing pictures!

  12. February 17, 2010 12:19 am

    technically i’m in some of these pictures! the ones where you can see the seats above the Governor General’s swanky box! hehe

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 17, 2010 9:22 am

      I was trying to get a photo of just you but my zoom isn’t good enough 😉

  13. Sarah permalink
    January 17, 2011 3:11 am

    I think this is the first thing I read on your blog, and how I found you. I could be wrong.
    I spent a lot of this ceremony crying patriotically though I’m not Canadian *facepalm*. It was just all so beautiful, I bet your heart swelled with pride.
    My favourites where the whales, the spirit bear and cracking ice, the Emily Carr inspired trees, oh and the beginning with the snowboarder! Oh oh, and the hardcore fiddlers in kilts! Must be the Scottish in me.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 18, 2011 8:05 pm

      We’ve got an honorary Canadian beaver and maple leaf patch for you 🙂 I’m so glad that you found my blog – you’re a wonderful person to be sharing the Olympic experience with!

      The whales really were amazing, they were shocking and spectacular! Unsurprisingly I cried. I cried a lot during the Opening 🙂

      • Sarah permalink
        January 20, 2011 1:32 am

        Hi Andrea! Great to hear from you 🙂 Aww thanks for the honorary patch. I plan to get all ‘touristed up’ when I go there next year, patches and all. I’d love to do that now but it’s like wearing the t-shirt before you see the band live isn’t it?!
        I’m still reading along, sad it’s coming to an end though. Wah.

Trackbacks

  1. Olympics Day 17 – Oh Canada, what an ending! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

