Skip to content

9 hours to go – Sochi.ru 2014 World and Irish House

February 12, 2010

Just a quick note as there are way too many things to be excited about today.  I will be trying to get some posts in but may have to do them all from my phone, if so, please forgive the spelling errors.  The predictive text on my phone can get a bit wacky.  I will also do my best with photos but will be limited to what the camera on my phone can do.

After volunteering last night I had planned on meeting an American friend of mine, Justin, to go to the Irish House.  When I called to meet up he was at Sochi.ru 2014 World at Science World for its opening.  Conveniently the Olympic Village is very close to Sochi.2014 World so I strolled over to meet up with him.  I hadn’t received any notifications about Media being invited to the opening but I thought it would be worth putting my pass on and just asking, as, if nothing else, maybe I wouldn’t have to wait outside for Justin.  This was a great plan, I got to walk right into the party!  To top it off Justin found me in the lobby and gave me a VIP Day-Pass that his friends had given him for me.  Up we went to meet the friends, Max and Celia, both lovely people working with the IOC.  Thank you, merci, spasiba to both Max and Tina, it was very nice to meet you.

I got to see quite a bit of Sochi.ru 2014 World and have to say it is spectacular!  They had Dima Bilan, winner of the 2009 Eurovision Contest and now Sochi 2014 ambassador, performing when I arrived.  The various sponsors had taken over different parts of Science World transforming them completely!  (No, I have no idea where the normal exhibits went, but I’m sure they’ll return).  If you have a chance to stop by then you certainly should.  Parts of Sochi.ru 2014 World will be open to the public during the day from Noon – 5pm, but you will need to stop at the reception desk to get a Day-Pass.

Dima Bilan, Eurovision 2009 Song Contest Winner at Sochi.ru 2014 World

From Sochi.ru 2014 World we headed down to the Irish House, conveniently Justin had some VIP passes in his pocket so we didn’t have to wait in line.  It was busy in there, but the music was good and there were places to stand if you looked around some.  I’m glad I’ve been in there now and will try to make it back in the next two weeks.  We’ll see how time goes, something tells me that it is going to speed by quickly!  Go Vancouver 2010! Go Canada!!!

A photo from inside the Irish House. There are two raised platforms and a large floor below.

Thank you merci!  Go Canada!  Go Olympics!  Yay! Yay! Yay!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 10:54 am

    Hello Andrea,

    just a few hours and go go go Olympics in Vancouver!!!

    Have a good time during these two weeks.

    Ang go go for Annecy 2018!!!!!!!!! I hope ……………….. winter olympics games in France in 2018!!!

    http://www.annecy-2018.fr/ or http://olympliquons-nous.com/

    Best regards from France

    Yannick

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 13, 2010 1:48 pm

      Thanks Yannick,
      I’m looking forward to the competition between PyeongChang, Munich and Annecy for the 2018 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games. I’m heading to France sometime this spring, I should make a point of visiting Annecy!

      Thanks for reading, all the way from France!
      Andrea

  2. Sonya permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:35 am

    How do you get VIP status for these places? THANKS!!!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 16, 2010 12:28 pm

      Hi Sonya,
      I’m afraid the few VIP passes I’ve gotten were given to me by a friend. I’m not sure how you get VIP access other than that I’m afraid.
      Thanks for reading!
      Andrea

Trackbacks

  1. Olympics Day 6 – A beautiful day in Vancouver + the place for pin trading « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

