Skip to content

2 days 1.5 hours to go – Olympic Rendevous @ Samsung Opening

February 10, 2010

I’m going to tackle my day one event at a time, starting with the Olympic Rendezvous at Samsung Opening (OR@S) at LiveCity Yaletown.  Samsung is the official mobile phone supplier for the Vancouver 2010 Games and a Worldwide Olympic Partner.  This was a pretty spectacular opening – Samsung really went all out.  There was the actual Pavilion that we weren’t allowed to enter until after the ceremony, instead they had a clear-roofed tent in front of the Pavilion.  It was all decked out – I heard more than a few comparisons of the tent to the set-up for a wedding (the chairs had covers and ribbons!).  The Olympic Mascots were there, playing near the dogsled with replica Mascots and real sled dogs!  The only thing missing was champagne! 😀

Quatchi and Miga playing with the Samsung sled dogs.

Quatchi playing hockey with a Samsung guy.

The Samsung dogsled with Quatchi and Miga.

Once the ceremonies got underway we heard from Geesung Choi, the President and CEO of Samsung, Gerhard Heiberg, Chairman of Marketing Commission of the IOC, John Furlong, CEO of VANOC, Honourable Gordon Campbell, Premier of BC, Tewanee Joseph, CEO and Executive Director of the Four Host First Nations and Wayne Gretzky, an athlete ambassador for Samsung.  Yes… I said Wayne Gretzky, and I was sitting only one row behind him!  It was pretty cool.

Not the best photo but Wayne Gretzky none-the-less!

After a bit more talking, some ‘dancing’ and a talking stick ceremony we were allowed into the Pavilion.  It is divided into two spaces.  The lower floor is open to the public and has some displays on Samsung mobile phone technology as well as some neat games.  The upper floor will be closed to the public as it is for athletes and their families.  Looks like it should be an interesting place to take a stroll through when LiveCity Yaletown opens tomorrow!

Inside the OR@S Pavilion.

Next up will be Molson Canadian Hockey House…. Thank you merci!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:20 pm

    You have a lot of great information. I see where noise makers are not permitted. Does that include cow bells?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 10, 2010 10:36 pm

      Thanks Steve,
      As far as I’m aware, cow bells are permitted, particularly for outdoor events. I guess you just have to make sure you don’t deafen (or clunk on the head) the people in front of and beside you, then it should be okay. Cowbells typically don’t obscure other people’s vision as badly as thunder sticks, unless of course the Swiss have brought these ones along.
      Happy Olympics!
      Andrea

  2. February 10, 2010 10:59 pm

    I love the sled dogs!!!! Are you going to the Panasonic opening tomorrow?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 10, 2010 11:56 pm

      Hi Marsi,
      I can’t make it to the Panasonic opening because I’ll be riding along with the Torch Relay at that point, but I am sending my dad, Doug, as a guest blogger. He knows way more about televisions than I do so it is probably a better idea than me anyway!
      Go Canada Go!

  3. February 11, 2010 7:53 am

    Have fun at the Torch Relay! I was hoping to meet you at the Panasonic opening cuz I love your blog so much & you’re such a celebrity now! I’ll keep my eyes open for your dad. Will he also be wearing a Mukmuk toque? LOL!

  4. Sarah permalink
    January 17, 2011 2:50 am

    I want that dogsled with mascots for my roof! I could do them up at Christmas with lights!
    P.S Yes still reading! It’s all great and informative. I’m coming for a visit next year with a friend so I’m taking notes of places to go as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Olympics Day 15 – With Glowing Hearts « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

