Skip to content

4 days 17 hours to go – Vancouver in the mist…

February 8, 2010

It was a grey and misty day here in Vancouver.  And while I do wish that it was raining it certainly made for beautiful ambiance and some neat photographic opportunities.

Concord Place with the mist and clouds around the North Shore Mountains. I don't think my photo does it justice.

Vectorial Elevation over some of the buildings around George Wainborn park. It is stunning when there are clouds in the sky!

And people all over the city are getting into the spirit!  On my way home from volunteering I found this…

Olympic Rings and Canadian Flags on a Yaletown condo! Go Canada Go!

And when I did get home there were photos waiting for me from Patti, a wonderful woman I met several months ago at the launch of the Vancouver 2010 Workforce uniforms.  If you will be in the downtown area on the morning of Friday, February 12th be sure to watch her carry the Olympic Torch along Davie Street at approximately 8:08am.  She’ll be running from around Broughton to Thurlow.  I’m going to be there to cheer her on!  Sounds like she’s planning on following the Torch for most of the day as well, which would be amazing!  I’ll have to see if I can tag along for a bit.  Anyhow, right, Patti sent me photos of the decorations in her yard.  Here is just a sampling!

I love the light-up hockey player, with red mittens!

Patti has really taken 'Paint the town red' to heart! Anything that isn't red is white and usually involves a maple leaf!

*     *     *     *     *

Decorations are popping up everywhere and it’s fantastic.  Got some great ones in your yard or your neighbourhood?  Send in photos of them before 11pm on Thursday, February 11th and I’ll put your name in to win an Atos Origin fish pin!  They are pretty neat and hard to get so start sending your photos in.  There are three ways to submit:

1 – Email it to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com.

2 – Post it to my Facebook group 2010vanfan.  Not a member of the group yet?  Search 2010vanfan and sign up! 😀

3 – Post it on Twitter and make sure to include @2010vanfan in your message so that I can see it too!

(And yes Patti, you are entered already!) 🙂

*     *     *     *     *

Last topic for tonight – I wrote back in November about Mitts for Kids which is a non-profit programme that is trying to raise enough money so that every school child (Kindergarten through Grade 7) in Vancouver will have a pair of Red Mittens to wear with pride during the Games.  Plus, Mitts for Kids is also helping support the Hot Lunch programme in inner city schools.  I have heard tonight that they are almost to their goal!  Just a bit more help is needed.  If you’d like to be involved click on Mitts for Kids to learn more!

*     *     *     *     *

I had been planning on being at the opening of the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre at YVR tomorrow morning at 7am but the time has been moved (new time is unspecified so far) and though it’s unfortunate, I’m happy I don’t have to get up early enough to be out there for 7am.  However it has still been a long, wonderful and exciting day so I’m off to sleep.  Less than five days to go, wow!

Thank you merci for reading and sharing!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    February 8, 2010 1:18 am

    Thanks Andrea and hopefully you will be able to join me as the Torch goes throughout Downtown. It’s going to be so exciting. See you Friday.

  2. Tom permalink
    February 8, 2010 4:30 am

    How exciting to see a “4” at the beginning of your blog entry! Only 4 days to go! Doesn’t seem like yesterday it was 1000.

  3. February 8, 2010 7:55 am

    Great pics, you’ve done it again 2010vanfan! It was nice to meet you, quite randomly in Yaletown, lol.
    I can’t wait for the beginning of a great celebration!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 8, 2010 9:23 am

      Hi Irwin, it was great to meet you too! Hope your shift went well. I’m sure I’ll be talking to you again soon 🙂
      Andrea

  4. February 8, 2010 5:38 pm

    I think the Olympic Rings in Yaletown belong to the person I am staying with this weekend. She sent me a photo for my Canadian Olympic Spirit photo album:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/christinawallaert/CanadianOlympicSpirit#

    I’ll send her the link to this post so she can verify.

    And Patti, you need to send me photos of your house so I can include those in the photo album!

    Christina

  5. Patti permalink
    February 10, 2010 3:04 am

    Hi Christina,
    I haven’t forgotten about sending you photos. I’m just not sure how to get them to you. Please let me know. Thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. 4 days 5 hours to go – Some celebrity Torchbearers « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

