Skip to content

5 days 10 hours to go – Walkabout and “I should know better”

February 7, 2010

I’m going to start with “I should know better.”  I mentioned to a few people during the walkabout that I’m not entirely sure what I’ll do when the Paralympics are over because I have now been writing so many days in a row (205) that I generally cannot fall asleep without writing.  So what did I try to do last night?  Yes, silly me.  I tried to sleep without writing.  And I did manage to fall asleep only to wake up with my brain spinning about on various topics at 3am.  Sigh.  Ah well, lesson learned. 🙂  I will be posting something every night before sleep, for the sake of sleeping properly, and will just have to make sure that I budget my time according to this new habit.  So here we go with what I should have written last night.  😀

*     *     *     *     *

Downtown Vancouver was very busy with pedestrians yesterday!  It was really neat to just walk along the streets.  Robson Square looks ready to go with the Ziptrek towers up, lights, tents and decorations everywhere.  Granville Street is abuzz with people looking at the art pieces of Lunarfest.  The Olympic Superstore was madly busy, just jam-filled with people looking for Team Canada andVancouver 2010 clothes and other merchandise.  And the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre was really busy too – there are all sorts of pin traders in town now that I haven’t met before.  It was sunny and comfortable outside.  A perfect day for a walkabout.

I dragged Rob away from the Pin Trading Centre (he had been the one that wanted to check out venues today in the first place!) and we headed down towards the Yaletown-Roundhouse Canada Line Station to meet up with some others.  There was Robert, Kevin, Norman, Jenn, Bryce, Kim, Nancy, James and another woman with a very cute dog in a Canada flag scarf (sorry, I can’t quite remember her name 😦 ).  It was quite a group!  We started by walking past Casa Italia at the Roundhouse Community Centre on our way to peruse the LiveCity Yaletown celebration site.  We wandered around the LiveCity site to the east side of the Roundhouse where the Bike Valet will be during the Games.  Our tour continued east along the SeaWall past Concord Place all the way to Russia’s Sochi 2014 House at Science World.  From there we hopped on the SkyTrain back downtown where we looked at the International Village on the 5th floor of the Bay and peeked into the Canada Olympic House on the 6th floor of the Bay before heading out through the Olympic Superstore, along Granville Street to Doolin’s Pub, the host of the Irish Olympic House for a bit of refreshment.  It was a really great walk with a lot of interesting and enthusiastic people.  We even picked up Ricky and Gary along the way!

Meeting up in Yaletown. From left to right – Kim, Nancy, James, 2010vanfan, Rob, Norman and Kevin. My Mukmuk toque is handy for being found by people! Photo courtesy of Robert.
Water canons at LiveCity Yaletown. They’ll use these in the water and laser show at night!
Canada’s residence in the Vancouver Olympic Village! It’s a gorgeous building.
False Creek, with dozens of inukshuks and Russky Dom and the Olympic Village in the background.
Some adjustments being made to the model of False Creek in the Concord Pacific display centre. I love that they have the new roof on BC Place already!
Sochi is ready to welcome the world!
The Russky Dom!
Reviving ourselves at Doolin’s after our tour. Left to right – Gary, Robert, Kim, Norman, 2010vanfan, Nancy, James, Ricky’s girlfriend, Kevin and Ricky. Photo courtesy of Robert!

Thank you merci to everyone that came walkabout and thank you merci for reading!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 10:28 am

    Thanks Andrea for organizing and leading the walkabout! It was great roaming Vancouver where you can feel the excitment in the air instead of just in our heads! It was great meeting fellow enthusiasts and visitors from around the world! Thanks again for a memorable time!
    Nancy & James

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 8, 2010 12:08 am

      Thanks Nancy and James for coming along! It’s always such fun to spend time with you both! I’m sure I’ll see you soon – Andrea

  2. George permalink
    February 7, 2010 10:46 am

    Hi Andrea, we are coming up from Reno, Nevada for the weekend of the 20th. I have tickets but would like to know if there are any ticket trading and exchange locations like there are for pins. You are doing a fantastic job on your blog. Keep up the great work!!!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 8, 2010 12:07 am

      Thanks George!
      As far as I know there are no ticket trade or exchange locations, only the fan-to-fan sale site on Vancouver 2010. Has there been such a site at previous Games? This is my first so it’s all a wonderful new experience.
      It’s great that you’re coming up from Nevada. What a trip!
      Thanks again for reading and commenting!
      Andrea

  3. Carole Robertson permalink
    February 7, 2010 11:49 am

    Great photos! I am a featured CODE Connector and kicked myself BIG time for not having the camera with me yesterday! I too did a walkabout after picking up my dress rehearsal tix. It’s still quiet at Fleet Operations, so not all drivers were required. My shift was cancelled :o( However I saw some of the Russian Team on my travels yesterday!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 8, 2010 12:04 am

      So exciting to see the Teams around town now isn’t it?!
      Thanks for commenting and reading Carole! Happy Olympics to you! – Andrea

  4. February 7, 2010 9:41 pm

    It was beyond FUN! (Is that correct English?) Thank you for a great tour, Andrea!! And good luck this Friday on Global News.

    P.S. Tip: This Wednesday 30 Team 2010 Volunteers are heading up to Grouse Mountain at 3am in order to be live for the Eastern viewers of CTV’s Canada AM program

Leave a Reply

