Skip to content

6 days 17 hours to go – The House of Switzerland Vancouver is open!

February 6, 2010

I made it out for a short excursion today.  I am so lucky and grateful that Granville Island is only 10 minutes from where I live.  I didn’t get a whole lot accomplished other than that today but that’s okay.  Tomorrow is looking decidedly busy so it will make up for it.

For the last while I’ve heard terrible and malicious rumours ( 😦 ) that Vancouver is not looking forward to the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.  Based on the line-up to get into the House of Switzerland – Vancouver to see it tonight, on the night of its opening, plus talking to people and a bunch of other incidents, I’d say it’s a load of hooey!  Yes, I said hooey!  I stood in line with my parents today to, very slowly, make our way through the main floor of the House of Switzerland, just to see what was happening and it was really slow going!  I even saw AirDave but couldn’t stop to talk ’cause it was so busy!  However, it was pretty fun.  They were handing out RicolaLindt chocolate and appies from Switzerland (are they called appies in Switzerland???).  There was music, a tonne of people, no where to sit and a lot of smiling faces despite the lack of space.

This may just be me… but based on the opening of the House of Switzerland and on friends reports of what the Torch Relay Celebration in Whistler was like tonight I’d say Vancouver, BC and Canada are ready for the Games!  There is a lot of excitement out there and I’m so happy to see it all!

Gigantic cow bells, Swiss flags, the Alps and dirndles – welcome to House of Switzerland!
Lindt chocolates being made in Vancouver – no, I didn’t wait in line to try one, hmmm… maybe I should have…

I’m going to try to add some photos of the Torch Relay celebration in Whistler in a bit, but that may have to wait until morning.  Until then… Thank you merci!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 12:50 am

    You don’t show it in the photos but you probably saw the huge (about 1.5 m tall) chocolate Inukshuk there. Well … at least I thought (okay “hoped & dreamed”!) it was made out of chocolate. But in fact, it was made of wood, I think. 😦

    Lots of people eating there around 9:30pm.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 6, 2010 7:58 am

      I did see it! And wish it was all chocolate too. Ah well, it probably wouldn’t have lasted long around us chocoholics if it was all Lindt Chocolate! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. 6 days 7.5 hours to go – Whistler, a walkabout and more « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

