Skip to content

7 days 3.5 hours to go – The rest of my Molson & Village story…

February 5, 2010

Sorry about that folks.  I had meant to finish writing but at about 10pm last night I realised that I have a kidney infection and had to go find myself a doctor.  I have to say, the nurses and doctors at St. Paul’s Hospital are really wonderful.  I know that they are busy and often stressed but I never felt neglected, really I felt very well taken care of which was really quite lovely.  So a big thank you to all of them!  And thanks to all of you for your concern about my health.  Not to worry, I’m getting better very quickly and should be right as rain by tomorrow!

Time to finish my Molson story?  Yes, I think so.  Please read 7 days 16.5 hours to go for the first part of the story.

*     *     *     *     *

The Molson Coors brewery here in Vancouver has set itself goals of reducing its water, electricity and gas consumption by 5% each year and they have been surpassing that.  In 2009 they achieved a 7.3% drop in their water usage.  Now that is pretty impressive considering they have to put water in the beer.  But they are finding ways of reusing water that would have been lost as waste before and improving efficiencies particularly in their steam lines.

While we did see most of the brewery it was sometimes difficult to see how it was all connected but in the end you get beer, and that’s a good thing.  I shot two videos to share while I was there.  The first is of the cans through the pasteurization line, and the second is of the boxes being filled with cans for final packaging.  It was really cool to see this all happening.  From packaging we headed back to the ‘meeting room’ though along the way Gord (with some help from one of the workers) grabbed us some cans off the line so that we could have the freshest of Molson beer.

I meant to mention who all was along for the tour besides Gord Rickards and myself.  There was also Les, the cameraman from the Vancouver Sun, and then the Molson guys: Rene Holt – Vancouver Brewery Manager, Wade Bayne – Director of Sales, BC, Bryan Cox – Director, Public Affairs and Scott – Chief Engineer of the Vancouver brewery (sorry, I don’t have your last name Scott, nor your proper title).  I had a wonderful time learning about the Molson Coors brewery here in Vancouver and all of their efforts to become more sustainable (they are the greenest of all of the Molson Coors breweries in Canada!).  Thanks to everyone that came along and contributed, it really did feel like a private tour which made it even more special.  I’ll finish off with this photo of Les getting an image for the paper.  We were in the John Molson Academy – a really great pub style space inside the brewery where they host meetings and events.

The Molson guys. From left to right: Rene, Bryan, Scott, Gord, and the Vancouver Sun photog Les.

*     *     *     *     *

Since I wasn’t feeling all that well last night I didn’t stay long at my volunteer shift in the Olympic Village. 😦  But I was there long enough to see that the Living Room (aka the Salt Building) is going to get some good use.  The 4th was the first day that athletes were in the Village and many of them stopped by to check out their Living Room.  There were Russians playing video games, Japanese, Chinese and Italians playing pool, French enjoying the couches and many more people in and out, scoping out the place, during the time I was there.  The place is going to be electric in no time at all!  I can’t wait to be a part of it (but that will have to wait a day or two until I’m better 🙂 ).

*     *     *     *     *

Hmm…. some things happening today…

Robson Square is getting very busy!  I heard that Premier Gordon Campbell went ziptrekking across Robson Street this morning (I wish I could have been there!).  The Mascots are practicing their skating there nearly everyday and there are all sorts of lights up now to create quite the visual effect at night!

Vectorial Elevation is up and running.  If you would like to program the lights go to this site.

The Swiss House opens on Granville Island today.  I’m hoping to go over for that since it is so close, plus it would be wonderful to write about tonight.

Oh! And my wonderful friend Robyn ran today with the Olympic Torch in Squamish today.  I was supposed to be there to cheer and cry and dance and be happy for her but I had to do all those things from home.  Since I couldn’t go I did watch on CTV’s Torch Relay Live feed and it was wonderful to watch her.  Yay Robyn!!  You rock!  I’m so happy for you!

Robyn on her Torch Run! Yay!!!

Until tonight… Thank you merci!

*     *     *     *     *

Drat! Forgot to mention something that I thought was really cool…  Except for 2 types of Molson Coors beer (MC67 and Export) all of the beer available in all of the Olympic Venues will be coming from Molson’s Vancouver brewery.  Just a great little bit of info for all of us!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric P permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:59 pm

    Take care of yourself. I think you haVe enough su

  2. Eric P permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:20 pm

    SU

  3. Eric P permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:24 pm

    Support!iphone Broken!

  4. February 6, 2010 12:11 am

    Dear Andrea,

    Glad to hear that you are on the mend. Take care of yourself!

    Nancy & James

  5. Jo-Anne permalink
    February 7, 2010 2:42 pm

    Oh dear, so sorry to hear that you were sick but great to hear you are improving. We love you.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 8, 2010 12:03 am

      Thanks Jo-Anne! I’m just fine now, sorry to worry anyone. Love you too!

  6. robyn permalink
    February 9, 2010 4:25 pm

    Andrea thank you for being such a nice person you are one of a kind.I had a blast running sad you wernt there but I no you were watching.I ROCKED according to Michael Lansburg(TSN)
    Quote:You Rocked that hill Robyn….
    To be among Great Canadians Valerie Pringle and Michael Lansburg former rower Kim Gordon.And fellow torch bearers with fantastic stories.
    As I sit crying writing this what a life changing experience 2010Olympics has been and it only continues.Friday morning 9 am I will be on the zip trek….yeee haaa

Trackbacks

  1. 5 days 4.5 hours to go – Vancouver Olympic Buzz Examiner « 2010VanFan
  2. 1 day 21.5 hours to go – Molson Canadian Hockey House Preview « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

