Skip to content

7 days 16.5 hours to go – 1 week to go; my day Molson and Village

February 5, 2010

I intend to do way more with my days than I manage to accomplish, and today I learned a lesson in what that means.  I hadn’t been feeling so well last night and when I woke up this morning I still didn’t feel well.  I had a long list of ‘to-do’s’ and had to accept that some of it would be left undone.  Without some trusty clones I cannot do everything.  Instead, I actually heard some advice that had been given to me a few days ago. “Make a list of the 10 things you want to get out of the Games, and be sure you don’t miss those.  The rest?  It’s gravy.” OK, that is not a direct quote but I’m pretty sure it was Nick from Olympic Rings and Other Things that gave me this advice and I’ve decided to listen.  I’ve been a stress ball the last few days and that is no good for me, nor anyone around me.  Lesson learned… hopefully early enough that I get my 10 ‘must-haves’ out of Vancouver 2010 and am still able to write something interesting and exciting for my readers.  I am still working on my ‘top 10’ but I will let you know when I have it worked out.  What are your 10 ‘can’t miss’ items?

*     *     *     *     *

What I did get in today was a visit to the Molson Coors Brewery on Burrard Street today.  They had invited the media for a tour of the facility to see why VANOC had awarded them a 2010 Sustainability Star award.  Now, this may be my own personal sense of irony, but with sustainability such a big issue in today’s media, I found it very odd that myself and a photographer from the Vancouver Sun were the only two to attend.  Apparently there are more newsworthy topics in Vancouver than sustainability these days.  Quite honestly, I was influenced to attend more by the tour of the brewery than by the sustainability but I was pleasantly surprised by the whole event.

With only two of us we could have been given a ‘brush-off’ sort of tour, so that the many people leading the tour could get work done.  I mean, as far as I understand the Vancouver Sun would be getting their story from the press releases we were given but wanted just a few photos to flesh it out.  Instead, it felt like we were given the grand tour, from the thing before the lauterturn (sorry Gord, can’t remember the first tank’s name) right through to canning and packaging.  We got to see where Molson Coors had saved not only on water consumption, but on electricity and gas consumption as well as where they managed to reuse water.

The brewery's monthly and year-to-date sustainability chart - to December 2009.

Gord Rickards (yes, I said Rickards) showing us the lauterturn.

I have visited distilleries and wineries before, but nothing quite like the Molson Coors brewery here in Vancouver.  I also didn’t expect the treatment that we got, considering there were so few of us media types.

Drat, I’m going to finish writing this in the morning.  It has been a long night.  Take care.  Thank you merci.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:17 am

    Your first Olympics is always a bit of a shock to the system. Busy busy busy – but enjoy it – You’ll miss it when it’s over! I love the Top 10 idea – i’ll get working on mine!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:14 am

      Shock to the system is right! But I’m loving it!
      Thanks for commenting Tom!
      Andrea

  2. February 5, 2010 5:53 am

    Hope you are feeling better this day. The top ten list sounds like a no-brainer. Why not let all your fans become mini-clones for you during the Games; pointing out places of interest or sharing can’t miss spots. Just an idea! I would love to help but being from Ontario I’ll just hope these Olympics bring you all the joy that you are bringing us with this blog. Take care

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:14 am

      Great idea Ed! Everyone is welcome to post ideas, thoughts and ‘must-sees’ on the comments each day, or if you write something more extensive email it to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com and I’ll try to get it posted up!
      Thanks! Andrea

  3. February 5, 2010 9:13 am

    While the Games are super exciting, you need to make sure to take care of yourself otherwise you won’t enjoy anything. Nick’s suggestion is brilliant! Feel better and have fun!!!!! 🙂

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:12 am

      Thanks Marsi, I’m working on it. I’ll be in good shape, no worries!
      Happy Olympics to you!
      Andrea

  4. Lisa permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:19 am

    Hi Andrea – if you have a cold coming on, (assuming that is what you mean by saying you are not feeling well), try Cold FX. I absolutely swear by it! (plus it’s an Olympic sponsor!)

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:11 am

      I’ve been very good and taking my Cold-FX every day. Turns out I have a kidney infection, but will be just fine in a day!
      Thanks for your concern and happy Olympics to you!
      Andrea

  5. February 5, 2010 10:27 am

    Thank you, Andrea, and all the other commenters, for the love and feedback (and the hyperlink to my blog).

    Yes, indeed (channeling Yoda or Mr. Miyagi from “The Karate Kid” here: Whether one is working or playing at the Games, one must pace himself/herself.

    To paraphrase some co-worker and client banter from Beijing, “Pace yourself at the Olympics — it’s a marathon, not a sprint.”

    Don’t be surprised if you find yourself pin trading in an alley at 5 a.m. (it happened to me at my first Olympics in Atlanta — ooh, I should send that story to Jeff Lee, eh?). 🙂

    If you run with the Top 10 list idea, a few lines to keep on it or supplement it:

    Have fun!
    Make new friends!
    Never, never leave home without a pocket full of pins.

  6. Cathy permalink
    February 5, 2010 6:29 pm

    Hey Kiddo
    Sorry to hear about your kidney infection! 😦
    Like Nicholas said pace yourself. I know it is all very exciting, doing everything, and then having to find the time to write about it as well…..
    Take care of yourself!
    You are doing a great job!
    I love your enthusiasm!
    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 7 days 3.5 hours to go – The rest of my Molson & Village story… « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

