Skip to content

8 days 16.5 hours to go – Pride House, Home on Howe and more!

February 4, 2010

There are activities, Hospitality Houses and other things popping up all over the city.  Vancouver is really getting into it!  Here are a few things that I came across today…

*     *     *     *     *

I have written about Pride House Whistler before but today I just heard about Pride House Vancouver!  This will be a great source for all Gay & Lesbian athletes, coaches, family, friends and allies to meet up, learn about Pride in Vancouver and Whistler and to have a good time.  Pride House Vancouver is located at 1170 Bute Street and will be open 10am – 7pm; Pride House Whistler is at the Pan Pacific Whistler Village and is open 10am to 10pm daily.  And for you pin heads out there, I’ve heard that Pride House Vancouver has had pins made, but there are only 500 of them!  Unfortunately I can’t find the email/tweet/fb message or whatever it was that gave me the details on this but I believe you can stop by Pride House Vancouver to pick one up for $5.  (Know more? Please comment, thanks!).

*     *     *     *     *

Home on Howe is crazy project/entertainment site being put on by Urban Barn on Howe Street at Robson Square.  One of the Urban Barn managers, Robbie, will be staying in the store for the full 17 days of the Games.  They’ve built him a washroom with shower and he’ll be living there 24 hours a day.  They describe it like this “Imagine Big Brother but with only 1 houseguest- Robbie. For 17 days,
during the 2010 Winter Olympics, Robbie will live (yes, live) at the Howe Street location. Under no circumstances, is he able to leave. How will he shower? We’ve thought of that. A shower will be installed for the duration of his stay so that he can freshen up and even cry, if he needs to.
”  Now, I realise this sounds a bit strange, but there is more to it than just Robbie, there is also going to be Wii challenges, table hockey tournaments and much more.  And it’s right beside the BC Pavilion at Robson Square so it may be worth a look (but don’t hold me to that!).

*     *     *     *     *

The JetSetCrew seems to be putting together some really great Victory Parties during the Games.  They are hosting a party every day of the Olympics down at the Canvas Lounge in Gastown.  Regular tickets to a single party are $30 each, VIP are $50.  Think you may go a lot?  Get a “Season’s Pass”, it gives you VIP access all nights and costs $199 (non-transferable).  They also have Corporate passes for $299 that are transferable.  There will be DJ’s and musicians from around the world.  I think it’s safe to say that this place will be hoppin’ and highly sought after.

*     *     *     *     *

I had meant to write more tonight but my computer has crashed once and I didn’t get home until 11:30pm so I’m going to call it a night… Though I would like to share two more things with you.

First, they snuck the interview I did for Citytv onto Breakfast Television this morning.  Luckily a reader (Amy) let me know or I wouldn’t have known at all.  If you’re interested, you can find the segment here.

Secondly, I was volunteering in the Athlete’s Village in Vancouver tonight.  As I’ve said before, I have pretty much the best volunteer job ever (I still have no idea how I got so lucky!).  But because I work in what is essentially the athlete’s living room I cannot share much of those experiences with you (it would be like me coming into your living room and then telling the world about it).  However, I can share some stories, and there was something that really got me tonight.

The Village officially opens tomorrow.  That is when we’ll start getting Athlete’s in.  Up until now it has been a few delegates from nations that wanted to prep/work/etc in the Village before the athletes arrive so we’ve been sort of ‘pre-open’.  Tonight I got to go around and take down the ‘Closed’ signs off of various venues within the Village and help to replace them with hours of operation.  Thursday morning at 8am there will be a ribbon cutting to officially open the Village.  I really wish I could be there but tomorrow night, on my fourth volunteer shift there will start to be a lot more people in the Village and I can’t wait!  It’s here.  It’s happening.  The athletes are arriving.  I got misty-eyed when I realised it earlier, and am again now.  Welcome world!  Welcome to Vancouver!  I know you’re going to have a wonderful time here.

The athlete's 'Living Room' housed in the Salt Building in the Village.

Thank you merci!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Norman Zeer permalink
    February 4, 2010 3:12 am

    Two great BIG THUMBS-UP to the Jet Set Crew, as they made a HUGE announcement last night!

    They have come through BIG TIME for about a dozen kids who were in limbo due to the cruise-ship that cancelled ALL of it’s accommodation bookings in North Van.

    Jet Set Crew have found & PAID for these kids that are from Make-A-Wish Foundation, that have unimaginable illnesses or cures, & deserve their wishes to come true 🙂

    Thank you Jet Set Crew for showing your Olympic spirit!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 4, 2010 9:06 am

      I’m so glad you mentioned this. I hadn’t heard until this morning on the news and through your comment. It is really wonderful that JetSetCrew stepped up to help these kids out. Good on them! This is Olympism at its best!

  2. Norman Zeer permalink
    February 4, 2010 3:32 am

    Hi Andrea 🙂

    I have been following you here on your blog since you were interviewed on Global BCTV over a week ago. You definitely seem to be in the “know” on just about everything to do with the Olympics, & you are doing a GREAT JOB!

    We are basically 1 week away to having the World here, watching on TV, & their computers!

    GO CANADA GO!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 4, 2010 9:03 am

      Thanks Norman! I really appreciate your wonderful comments!
      And I agree – GO CANADA GO!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:15 am

      Thanks Dean for the information and the links! That’s pretty sweet!
      Hope you have a wonderful Olympics!
      Andrea

Leave a Reply

