Skip to content

9 days 16.5 hours to go – Pins, the village and a bit more 2010vanfan

February 3, 2010

Three quick topics tonight:

1) I don’t have the exact details yet but I’ve heard that Coca-Cola is releasing their ‘7 days to go’ pin at the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre in the Olympic Superstore on Friday.  Like I said, no details, so I can’t tell you the time it will be released but based on previous releases there will likely be some give-aways and maybe even cake! (I like cake!).  I will post more when I have the info!

2) I had my second volunteer shift in the Vancouver Athlete’s Village tonight and thoroughly enjoyed it.  It is still quite quiet in there, with most of the athletes not starting to arrive until Thursday, but it’s giving me the chance to become really familiar with the places I’ll be working and that is really great.  I’m really pleased at how good the food is so far.  The meals I’ve had have been very tasty.  The Living Room doesn’t see much in the way of visitors yet but I’m sure that will be changing soon.  The space is too fabulous for people to not want to be in there.  There are video games, pin ball machines, foosball tables, pool tables, a piano, books, a stage and more!  I don’t want to leave it!

3) And last of all… Global TV has contacted me about being on with them again, but this time on the Noon News Hour.  I’m terrified and excited all at the same time.  I will post up more information as I get it and try to practice some semblance of reasonable enunciation for in front of the camera until then! 😀

More tomorrow.  Lots I’m sure as we’re so close now.  Thank you merci!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    February 3, 2010 5:04 am

    Well done on your next TV appearance – good luck. The village sounds great.

  2. Cathy permalink
    February 3, 2010 6:25 am

    Hi Andrea
    Great job!!!!!
    I wish I could see The Vanocuver Global news up here in Fort McMurray, all we get is The Edmonton Global News.
    Please let me know if I can pick it up via the web.
    Thank you and good luck! 🙂

    • keith77cdn permalink
      February 3, 2010 9:03 am

      cathy yes you can check out noon news hour on net it be broadcast everyday on the global site even they have additional half hour for noon news extra only on net,

  3. Cynde Russell permalink
    February 3, 2010 7:15 am

    Your insite is refreshing and I await the new views and info daily. I am particularly interested in your take on the Canada pavilion…getting some rather questionable reviews!

    Global noon news huh? You may find yourself a job!!! You will be great ..will be waiting for that..Keep up the great blog and most of all enjoy the ‘positive’ experience!

    I once read a book called the Power of Praise..(.altho I do not necessarily buy the context of that particular religious item and audience it focused on)……I remember after many years the good vibes I gave off and rec’d by adjusting my attitude.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 3, 2010 11:22 am

      Hi Cynde, I’m looking forward to seeing the Canada Pavilion, though I’m sure it will be good! Thanks for taking the time to comment!
      Happy Olympics to you!
      Andrea

  4. amy permalink
    February 3, 2010 7:54 am

    Hi Andrea. Saw you on Breakfast TV this morning, so thought I’d check this out, and I love it! Thanks so much for sharing!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 3, 2010 10:33 am

      Thanks for commenting! I didn’t know that the interview would be on today so I’m so glad you let me know!
      Happy Olympics to you! Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

  5. February 3, 2010 8:20 am

    Another news appearance!? Awesome! I’m setting the PVR as we speak.

    Interesting that both the NON-Olympic networks (Global & CBC + CityTV) have now picked up your story, but nothing yet from CTV. Wonder, if that is because you are non-accredited? Well I hope that Global will be making an announcement at the noon-hour news today that they are putting you on pay-roll as the special “fan-on-the-street” reporter!

    Say – have you checked out the new “5th Floor” International Store at the Bay yet? I hear a lot of it is overpriced, but i’m sure really interesting to see all the clothing from the other country teams. Cool to think us Vancouverites can buy foreign souvenirs – the world is truly coming to US! So exciting!

  6. Bob permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:48 am

    Thanks so much for the news re: the 7 days to go Coke pin!!! I have pass it on to fellow pinheads!

    Don’t worry about your interview on the Global Noon News … you know you will do good!

    Keep spreading the spirit Andrea!!! You are doing an awesome job!

  7. Beth permalink
    February 3, 2010 12:18 pm

    Hi,

    I am volunteering with PrideHouse at 1170 Bute St. Its a place for LGBTQ atheletes and friends to learn about issues in Canada affecting LGBTQ individuals. We also have a VERY limited edition “PrideHouse” pin (only 500 were made) and they are only $5. If you could mention a bit about us it would be amazing! Check out our website at http://www.pridehouse.ca

    Thanks !

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 3, 2010 2:49 pm

      Thanks for the information Beth! I’m sure you’ll have pin hunters at your door soon!
      Happy Olympics!
      Andrea

  8. Earl permalink
    February 4, 2010 12:19 pm

    Andrea,

    You mentioned that there’s foosball in the Living Room for the athletes. If any of them express an interest in playing with the locals please let them know about Soho Billiards in Yaletown, 1/2 block up from David Lam park. There should be a few local players there any Fri, Sat or Sun night– it’s the only place we play.
    http://www.sohocafe.ca/contact_us.html

    The foosball scene is much bigger in Europe than here – the world’s best player is from Belgium. I wouldn’t be surprised if a few of the athletes were quite good. We have many local players that have attended tournaments in the States (including myself), and a few have even traveled with other Canadian players to Germany & France for the Foosball ‘World Cup’. I thought you might find all this interesting and a bit of a conversation-starter with athletes.

    It’ll be interesting to see how much free time any of the athletes have to see our wonderful city. I suspect many of them will only see their competition venues and the Living Room – so give them all a hearty “Hello” from all of us (as I know you will).

    Thanks again! Earl

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:31 am

      Hi Earl,
      Thanks for the info on foosball! Very exciting. I’ll be sure to let people know that the Soho is available on weekend evenings. Pretty cool!
      Happy Olympics to you!
      Andrea

      • Earl permalink
        February 5, 2010 11:35 am

        Thanks Andrea,

        Just to clarify, Soho is open every day, but there may be no foosball players. Weekends there will be.

        Take care of yourself Andrea! Earl

      • 2010vanfan permalink
        February 5, 2010 11:29 pm

        Thanks for clarifying! 😀 I didn’t mean to make it sound like the Soho is only open on weekends as I know there is pool every day. Actually, I was shown a bit of foosball about this time last year by some guys in Soho. I had a great time though had to show how woeful my foosball (lack of) skills are.
        Cheers Earl!

  9. February 26, 2010 12:07 pm

    Hello, just wanted to mention that the foosball tables that the athletes play on in the Olympic village are from Home Billiards in Vancouver.

    Go Canada!

Leave a Reply

