Skip to content

11 days 17.5 hours to go – Pacific Pin Club

February 1, 2010

I went out to the Pacific Pin Club‘s Pre-Games pin extravaganza today, and yes, there were quite a few pins present.  I got to see several familiar faces as well as meet some new people.  I even managed to get some trades in!

It sounds like Saturday was quite busy at the show, but I was at the 2010vanfan Photo Scavenger Hunt so I missed out on that part but Sunday was very nice.  There are more and more pins showing up in town every day, and there are still lots and lots of people to come, so we’ll see a lot of pins!  I am getting more into it, and becoming more of a pin head as the days go by.  I’ve even signed up for a volunteer shift at the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre at YVR when it opens next week on February 8th.  I’m a silly goose though and signed up for 7am, as that’s when the centre opens!  Eeek!  What am I thinking?!

Alright, a few photos of the pin show and then bed.  On Monday I am planning on visiting the International Village at the Bay downtown and see how that is coming together.  I’m also planning on attending a demonstration for the media of Games-time security.  And hopefully I will get to meet up with a fellow 2010 fan as well so it should be a busy day!

Pacific Pin Club trading

Janet and her daughter Cynthia from Salt Lake City!

I had to stop on my way back downtown to take some photos of this fabulous sign. You can see the maple leaf from a very long ways away!

And here it is closer up!

Thank you merci!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    February 1, 2010 1:13 am

    Hi Andrea, I was just walking Maggie on top of the hill in Point Grey when I saw an interesting lightshow across the water downtown. It appeared to be a “TeePee”, which became an inverted “TeePee” reaching into the sky. Any idea what it is?
    Unfortunately, I missed the Scavenger Hunt and the Pacific Pin Show on your blog this weekend, is there a list of upcoming activities available? Thank you. Cheers, Mary

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 1, 2010 9:31 am

      Hi Mary,

      The lights you saw are from an art installation called Vectorial Elevation. It is a temporary installation but it will also be interactive, with visitors to the website being able to design patterns for the lights to trace through the sky. Check out my blog today and I’ll post up more information on it as it is a very visible, creative and interesting feature of Vancouver during the Games!

      As for upcoming activities… do you mean with 2010vanfan or with Vancouver 2010? For Vancouver 2010 there will be dozens of activities starting up in the next 11 days. National Houses will be opening (Swiss House is on Friday, February 5, 5:30 – think cheese and chocolate!), Vectorial Elevation starts on February 4, and lots more. I will try to put together a schedule of events today if I can’t find one to post up.

      Thanks for commenting and for your wonderful questions!
      Happy Vancouver 2010 to you!
      Andrea

      • Mary permalink
        February 1, 2010 1:42 pm

        Thank you Andrea, I want to enjoy as many 2010 Olympic events as possible.

        Thank you for the heads up about Swiss House, I designed the The
        Restaurant of Switzerland for the 1988 Olympics. I will be sure to
        drop by, is it an open invitation?

        Cheers, Mary

      • 2010vanfan permalink
        February 1, 2010 3:33 pm

        Hi Mary,
        Yes, the 5:30pm opening of the Swiss House is open to the public (there is an earlier press event which is closed). You’ll have to let me know how it goes as I’ll be volunteering then.
        Cheers,
        Andrea

  2. leslie permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:58 am

    Trying to figure out which street you took the picture of the Coca Cola (Canadian) Flag. I ama Vancouverite but have trouble figuring it out. Thanks for your sweet updates! Love them.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 1, 2010 9:24 am

      Hi Leslie,

      Sorry – I meant to say, that’s what I get for writing late at night 😀

      I took this on Hastings Street looking towards downtown. Hope that helps!

      Cheers, Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

  3. Andrew Wong permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:43 am

    Leslie and Andrea,

    I saw the same Canadian flag display a few weeks ago. As you said Andrea, it’s on Hastings near Clark Dr. It’s amazing because you can see it from miles away coming down the hill from the east. Initially, I thought it’s some sort of celebration site, but I guess it’s one of those Coca Cola ads.

    Also, I’d like to know if and when you will be hosting another Walkabout Tour Andrea? I would love to join. aw86@hotmail.com. Cheers! ^_^

  4. Mary permalink
    February 1, 2010 1:15 pm

    I would be very interested in a Walkabout Tour Andrea. Please let me know,,,
    Cheers, Mary

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 11 days 17.5 hours to go – Pacific Pin Club « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

