Skip to content

13 days 17 hours to go – My first volunteer shift

January 30, 2010

This afternoon was definitely a bit hectic, trying to get a post done while wrestling with my mobile phone provider to try to install an upgrade and be allowed to have internet back was not all that especially fun.  However, putting on my Vancouver 2010 uniform for my first shift was pretty darned wonderful and made a lot of crankiness vanish instantly!

I want to tell you all sorts of things about the Olympic Village and in particular the Salt Building, which is known as the “Living Room” during the Games but as the athlete’s haven’t even had a chance to see it yet I don’t want to ruin the surprise for anyone.  What I can say though is “Wow”!  It is an amazing building and gorgeous from the outside but also gorgeous on the inside.  There is a tonne of things for the athletes to do while there and I think it is going to be a very busy place.  Tonight there were only about 30 guests in the Village so it was quite quiet, but by the time of my next shift on Tuesday there will be a lot more people around and it will be super exciting!

Anyhow, no photos of the inside of the Salt Building but here is a picture of Patti and I at dinner.  We had similar shifts today and got to spend some time together over food which is a very nice thing.

After my shift I stopped to visit some friends from the States for a few minutes.  Really, I am spoiled rotten.  Justin brought me a Team USA ballcap, lanyard and USOC pin and Mike got the bill.  So sweet of both of them.

My new ballcap (only to be worn at Team USA events when Canada is not playing). Thanks Justin!

Very cool!

Anyhow, it is very late again, and I must be up early to finish preparing for the 2010vanfan Photo Scavenger Hunt.  Thank you merci for reading!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    January 30, 2010 3:18 am

    What is the Scavanger Hunt?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 30, 2010 6:39 am

      Hi Mary,
      I’ve just put together a bit of a fun game for today. I am going to give out a list of ‘clues’ that people will have to solve and then find and photograph. They will be spread out some so transit travel will be needed! I have prizes for the first team back with all of the correct answers, plus some ‘door prizes’!

      We will be starting at 11am, Saturday, January 30, from the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre in the Olympic Superstore. Cheers – Andrea

  2. robyn permalink
    January 30, 2010 7:23 am

    Hi Andrea

    I am sad too say I wont make the scavenger hunt,not feeling well and cant afford to be sick.I run next week with the torch cant be sick.
    Have fun and I am so sad i cant be involved.
    😦
    Cheers Robyn

  3. January 30, 2010 8:11 am

    I am hoping to try the scavenger hunt virtually if time permits – though lately it seems time is just escaping me :o) I also had wanted to submit pics of my family in their Vancouver 2010 outfits… ans never got around to visiting everyone!

    Good luck to everyone participating. Have fun & I will be there in Spirit 🙂

    Hardeep

  4. Tom permalink
    January 30, 2010 10:24 am

    Jealous of your volunteering activities. How many shifts do you have? I was a volunteer at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester – enjoy EVERY second of it!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 13 days 17 hours to go – My first volunteer shift « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 9 days 16.5 hours to go – Pins, the village and a bit more 2010vanfan « 2010VanFan
  3. 8 days 16.5 hours to go – Pride House, Home on Howe and more! « 2010VanFan
  4. 16.5 hours to the Paralympics – A day in the life of the Salt Building « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

