Skip to content

14 days 17.5 hours to go – YVR, skiing, and Olympic spirit…

January 29, 2010

My parents came home through YVR today after a business trip, and while that is a normal occurrence for them, the group of happy faces in Vancouver 2010 workforce blue uniforms welcoming them to Vancouver was not.  The greeting party was so friendly that my mom asked if she could take their photo and give it to me to post because they all impressed her just that much!  So, for all of the wonderful volunteers and workforce members at YVR – Thank you for your enthusiasm and friendliness!  You’re exactly the sorts of people that should be welcoming the world to Vancouver!

Thank you merci!

*     *     *     *     *

While not hosting any official venues, Grouse Mountain is hosting NBC’s Today Show and the Oakley Rolling O lab.  They are also offering a complimentary “After Hours” pass to all Vancouver 2010 athletes and volunteers!  The Athlete & Volunteer pass will get you free skiing, snowboarding and celebrating between 8pm and 6am.  Oh yeah… did I mention that Grouse Mountain will be open 24-hours a day for 17 days – the full length of the Olympic Games?  So cool!  This is a really great offer by Grouse (I’ve never skied at 2am, hmm… could be fun 😉 ) and really should be taken advantage of.  If you’re interested all you have to do is visit Grouse Mountain Guest Services with your credentials to receive your pass or call 604.980.9311 for more information.

Vancouver at night from Grouse Mountain.

*     *     *     *     *

And if that wasn’t enough Olympic Spirit, I just wanted to take another few moments and thank everyone for their kind comments.  I am trying very hard to reply to everyone that comments but find myself getting behind.  If I haven’t responded yet I apologize and am working on it!  You are all awesome and I hope I have a chance to meet many of you over the next few weeks.

*     *     *     *     *

Right, it is late again, and I need to be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed in the morning as I am meeting with CityTV for an interview plus I have my first volunteer shift in the Olympic Village tomorrow night!!  It will be the first time I will wear my Vancouver 2010 uniform out in public and I could not be happier!  As such, I need my sleep!  We’re only two weeks away…

Thank you merci!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    January 29, 2010 3:49 am

    A great update as always Andrea. Grouse Mountain sounds fun – are they suffering the same snow troubles as Cypress though?

  2. January 29, 2010 5:57 am

    Very informative as always, Andrea. And now you’re off to another interview!
    Thank goodness we can rely on you to keep your feet on the ground! lol I am
    surprised one of these television stations hasn’t asked you to be a guest inter-
    viewer during the Games. It is a true pleasure reading this blog everyday.
    Take care.

  3. ashley permalink
    January 29, 2010 1:10 pm

    ok its up

  4. January 29, 2010 5:45 pm

    As of this afternoon, Grouse has made what might be a better offer to many Vancouverites. They’re moving up the sale of their Y2Play passes to 01 February. Folks with a pass for this season who renew get their new passes activated a month early–01 Feb, including the 24/7 Olympic access period. Folks who buy new passes can activate for 01 Feb (a month early) for only $40 extra.

    $170 for the Olympic pass or $470 for a pass for the rest of this season and all of next. 🙂

Leave a Reply

