Skip to content

15 days 0.5 hours – CBC interview

January 28, 2010

I got up dark and early this morning (it was much too early for it to be bright!).  I was interviewed at the CBC Studios in downtown Vancouver and have to say it’s quite the experience.  I’ve never done anything of the sort and even just going into the building is rather intimidating.  First it is past the security gates with my stick-on visitor pass then towards “Studio 10”.  From there I was directed back to a coffee area until they were ready for me.  The director checked with me on how to introduce me and then waiting for the time.  It was sort of odd, particularly when Wally Oppal, BC’s Attorney General, showed up for his interview.  He brought Timbits and muffins but really, it was Wally Oppal!  I was more than a bit intimidated by this point.  Wally went for his interview and I was scheduled to be on after him.

The director Shiral came to get me after a few minutes and brought me back to the studio.  When the previous interview was done she directed me to a seat and I assumed that I was to put on the headphones and position myself closely to the microphone as all the rest seemed to do.  And then I was being interviewed by Rick Cluff – just like that!  He just introduced me and started asking questions.  It went very quickly and it felt like I wasn’t nearly as articulate as I would have liked to have been.  I was reassured after that it went well though I didn’t really believe it until I heard it later.  I am trying to find or make a clip of just the interview, however if you would like to listen now you can go to CBC One Early Edition and click on ‘Thu’ under “Listen Again”.  The interview is about 2/3rd’s of the way through.

Me at the CBC Studios early this morning.

This is a really big photo of, Rick Cluff, the guy that interviewed me this morning.

Thank you merci!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 5:57 pm

    Great interview. So natural, Congratulations.
    Nice to listen it from France… You have Fan allround the world now, i shared your blog with family & friends !!!

  2. January 28, 2010 6:07 pm

    Yea Andrea! I know exactly how you feel. Iwas interviewed at one of my Torch Relays and I couldn’t even remember what I had said afterwards. I saw the video recently and I thought I was speaking so slowly. I’ve been told that I wasn’t.
    It is great to see all of these wonderful things happening to you. Congrats. Guess I’m never getting my guest blog post eh?

  3. January 28, 2010 6:21 pm

    Its good to know that you couldn’t see the thousands of homeless people in the alley ways and back lanes from your ‘wonderful time in the air’. You probably couldn’t see the seniors lining up this morning in the food bank lines because of the growing pension deficit due to skyrocketing inflation and the governments rent increases on these vulnerable people. I really hope YOUR MOM and DAD are OK though.

    The small print about RCMP corruption only mentioned two cases of fraud and one case of witness intimidation, you were probably too busy cheerleading eh?

    Did you notice that democracy in Canada has been suspended and we are now living under a state of technical martial law since the prorogueing of Parliament. Oops forgot, you have your head in the clouds.

    Oh btw, have you been telling your ‘friends about Vancouvers massive rat and cockroach infestation that is gotten out of hand since the civic workers last multi month garbage strike. Did you tell them about the reports of fine restaurants that are now over run with vermin.

    The bedbug infestation issue seems to have skipped your flighty head. Vanacouver has more major hotels and more residential towers infested with BEDBUGS than any city in the WORLD. This fact has been reported for over a year now. Google it and see. The chance of your friends taking bedbugs home to infest thier own homes and apartments is very high to most likely say the experts on the subject.

    Gee, that reminds me, we have multi year wait lists in the hospitals for simple surgeries. People needing surgery are dieing because they cannot get treatment. Do you think that the 6 billion that has been wasted on the Olymoics could have gone to develop infrastructure for people instead of the parasites coming to the games for the crack whores and free nosh?

    No text books in the schools? Doesn’t matter says the flighty cheerleader. No long term care for the elderly, screw them she says , bring on the party. Its the ‘best place on earth’ as long as you don’t live here.

    • Patti permalink
      January 29, 2010 2:01 am

      To realpaul,
      I think you have every right to your opinion but YOU HAVE NO RIGHT to make personal attacks on Andrea. As for putting words in her mouth in regards to long term care for the elderly, how dare you!!! You have no idea what Andrea thinks about any topic other than her love and enthusiasm for the Olympics. You lose any credibility you might have had with your petty criticisms of someone you don’t even know.

    • Mook permalink
      January 29, 2010 4:57 pm

      I second what Patti said, and add a big

      MOVE ALONG TROLL!!

  4. robyn permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:12 pm

    Hi Andrea
    1 week tomorrow and I run with the torch,please send me info on where to meet on Saturday.

  5. Bob permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:43 pm

    You are becoming quite a celebrity!!!

    After my shift at the Pin Trading Centre this evening I stayed to take photos of our “gold medal” men’s and women’s curling teams. The turn out was a bit disappointing … but with no long line-ups everyone there got their autographs fairly quickly and there was time for everyone to get their photos take with both teams.

    The number of sponsor and media people passing through the Superstore continues to increase everyday. 3 of us had a mini interview (no TV cameras, just via a camera phone) by a producer of the NBC’s Today show. Unfortunately, few of this people are coming armed with 2010 pins … but do promise to return with said pins!

  6. January 28, 2010 10:17 pm

    Something very similar happened to me back in Dec. 2005 when I started what would become http://BCDigitalDivide.org First I was interviewed on Global and then CBC Radio 1 insisted upon an interview.

    Good on you for all this, Andrea! You’re doing your city, your province, and your country very proud!!!

  7. Jo-Anne permalink
    January 29, 2010 2:36 pm

    You speak so boldly and are entitle to your opinion but maybe we should change realpaul to poorpaul. Trust me when I say this girl does think of everyone all of the time. This is her journey and you have no right to attack her personally.

  8. Mook permalink
    January 29, 2010 4:53 pm

    Hi everyone, here is a link to an excerpt of just Andrea’s interview.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?l22zjzjyamw

    I hope it works

Leave a Reply

