Skip to content

16 days 5.5 hours to go – I’m going flying!

January 27, 2010

Yes, I’m going flying.   Oh my gosh!  Rachael from Tinkerblue (whom I met last week for Olympic cocktails) texted this morning to see if I would be interested in flying over Vancouver with her husband today.  Unsurprisingly, my answer is YES!!  So I’m going to post quickly now and more later. 😀

*     *     *     *     *

Yesterday morning the floating lodge arrived in False Creek.  I wrote about it a few months ago but I’m still not sure who the tenants will be but I’ll see if I can’t find someone to ask in the next few days.

The floating lodge being brought into False Creek. It is docked at the False Creek Yacht Club under the north side of the Granville Street Bridge.

And past that, it is a beautiful day in Vancouver.  My walk this morning with our dog was just lovely.  It’s cool (though not as cold as I’d like) and it was sunny and misty at the same time.  Right – off to fly!

Stanley Park and the English Bay Inukshuk.

False Creek and the Burrard Street Bridge.

Some new decorations are going up on Bridges Restaurant (aka Swiss House!).

Thank you merci!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanne permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:05 pm

    Is that not the McBarge?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 4:29 pm

      Nope, not the McBarge 🙂 I still haven’t heard if they’re doing anything with it but it would be pretty fun. Thanks for reading! – Andrea

  2. January 27, 2010 1:39 pm

    Wow, I missed a few day and just caught up on everything. Great to see a fellow blogger becoming a TV superstar! As for curling, it is a very cool sport! I’ve been playing for two years and it is so much fun. I highly recommend it. Great to see so many interested in it.
    Wish I could be there for the scavenger hunt! Maybe Hardeep and I can do our own in Toronto, lol.

  3. January 27, 2010 5:45 pm

    Thanks for the English Bay Inushuck view ! I almost have the same view taken the opposite side from my Vancouver’s home… Great to see almost live from my Paris’ home !!!
    Can’t wait to be back next week…

  4. Cathy permalink
    January 27, 2010 8:34 pm

    Just flew into Kamloops (home)
    The torch is here tonight !!!!!
    Fire works right now!!!!
    I can see them from the airport!!!
    I am heading up to the university to check it out!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:44 pm

      Hi Cathy,

      Sorry you missed the festivities but thanks so much for your support! Did you manage to get tickets to some events?

      Happy Olympics to you!
      Andrea

  5. Cathy permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:26 pm

    Andrea, I have just started following your blog! 🙂 you have done an amazing job!!!!!! 🙂 keep up the great work!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 And THANK YOU!!!! 🙂 😉

  6. Cathy permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:31 pm

    Darn it I didn’t make it up to the University in time to see the torch relay celebration here in Kamloops 😦 . Andrea I hope you had a fantastic time flying with your new friends today! And I know we will get to see some geat pictures! 🙂

  7. January 27, 2010 10:39 pm

    Loving your blog, great photos and very informative!
    I’m part of a group of student bloggers called Students Live (www.studentslive.ca) and will be attending and reporting on The Olympic and Paralympic games. I was wondering if I could get an interview and some pointers from you.
    Can you e-mail me about it? 🙂 Thanks.

  8. Sarah permalink
    November 20, 2010 1:34 pm

    Those photos are beautiful!
    And that lodge made me laugh but I would have loved to go on it! It looks so cool!

Leave a Reply

