Skip to content

16 days 16.5 hours to go – Global BC interview

January 27, 2010

Wow, this has been a surreal day.  My plan for the day was to prepare for the 2010vanfan Photo Scavenger Hunt on Saturday, but you know how plans go… mine went right out the window.  Fairly early this morning I received a note from Robin Stickley asking if I would be willing to do an interview from Global BC TV.  Little did I know it would mean today!  At noon Robin and cameraman Paul arrived to shoot the interview.  It was fun, though more than a bit unexpected and disconcerting. Robin and Paul were both wonderful.  It is a very odd experience to have a tv camera in your house.  It’s also odd to be followed around on the street by a tv camera.  But I think it worked out alright.

I would very much like to thank everyone that reads 2010vanfan.  I would like to thank those that have been following for a while, and a big thanks to those that have followed since the beginning 6 months ago.  You all deserve credit for your spirit, support and excitement.  Without you I wouldn’t be here today.  I would also like to welcome new readers!  Your enthusiasm for the Games is fantastic!  I’m so thrilled to now be in an even wider Vancouver 2010 fan community!  I will do my best to respond to your comments and especially to questions about the Games, but sometimes it may take me a few days to get to them and I’m sorry about that.  Also, I am going to post the negative comments, as everyone should have their say.  However, I would like to reiterate that I am a fan.  I understand that there are downsides to the Games, however I feel that there are plenty of print, radio, tv and online sources covering the negatives of the Games.  2010vanfan is for the positives.  It is for the fans of the athletes, the art and the feeling of joy that comes with an event like this.  I hope you are enjoying it as much as I am!

I’m going to keep it short tonight, and just post a few photos from today.  In the morning I am planning on posting on some of the new things I’ve learned about as well as continue arranging the 2010vanfan Photo Scavenger Hunt.  Oh… and if you happen to have a few minutes free at 7:20am, Thursday, January 28, I am scheduled for an interview with Rick Cluff on CBC.  Eeee!  I hope I can string full sentences together! (So much easier when I’m writing 🙂 ).

Robin took this photo of Paul filming me. My hoodie and face are so brightly white because of the lights he had on me!

Part of the interview process was to be filmed doing what I normally do in a day, so we went to Yaletown to check out the happenings. This was my first chance to see the barrier at the Cambie Street Bridge that cordons off the Olympic Athlete's Village.

Science World, or Russky Dom as it will be called during the Games, shot from the Aquabus wharf in Yaletown.

To everyone again… thank you merci!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:22 am

    What is the Scavenger Hunt you mentioned? The media can be very demanding with short timelines and deadlines. Go with the flow you will be great…again! Cheers, Mary

    • keith77cdn permalink
      January 27, 2010 5:37 am

      she going do it on sat this week and if ya wanna do it email her

  2. January 27, 2010 1:29 am

    What a star !!!!
    When will they air your interview ?
    And could we watch on their website as I am back in France this week ????

  3. Patti Jackson permalink
    January 27, 2010 2:04 am

    OH NOOOOOOOOOO, I missed your debut. Please tell me I will have another chance to see it.

    Remember on the Walkabout I was telling you I should phone Global because I thought they would want to do a feature on you. Well someone beat me to it but I’m glad they did.

    You go girl! You’re a star!!!

  4. keith77cdn permalink
    January 27, 2010 5:36 am

    if ya wanna see andrea on tv go to http://www.globaltvbc.com/ then click video then newshour and then click full newscast of jan 26 its on it hehe and i notice my post was seen on it there too.

  5. Samantha permalink
    January 27, 2010 6:52 am

    Hey Andrea, saw your interview on Global last night – what a surprise! Congratulations, you did great. It was a great piece and you deserve the recognition for all of your hard work.

  6. January 27, 2010 7:11 am

    Hey there Andrea,

    I just checked out the Global interview on their site. It plays from 10:22 minutes from the end to 7: 17 minutes from the end (just in case anyone else wants to check in t out)!!!

    Congrats, I am so excited for you and proud of you! Well deserved praise & recognition!

    Cheers,
    ‘H

  7. Jo-Anne permalink
    January 27, 2010 8:04 am

    The interview was great. I will be watching CBC on Thur. morning. You definitely do deserve all the attention & praise. I don’t see the parents or Kelsey anywhere? They must all be hiding.

  8. January 27, 2010 8:32 am

    Fantastic!

    “…if blogging were an Olympic sport she’d win a gold medal… 2010vanfan.ca has become something of an internet sensation”

    Great piece, you did a fantastic job on camera, that is no easy task. Really nice to see such a positive story about the games. Keep on reporting the good news.

  9. Marissa permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:21 am

    Congrats to you Andrea! Your blog has certainly been helpful to me since I arrived in Vancouver over three weeks ago – it’s great to see all of the pick-up you are getting.

    Cheers,
    Marissa

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 4:48 pm

      Hi Marissa,
      Glad to be of help!
      Cheers – Andrea

  10. Steve permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:26 am

    Hey I noticed 2010 VanFan on Global last night you seem to be really into the Olympic spirit, wanted to ask the question with out offending anyone as I’m NOT feeling the OLYMPICS possibly due to my ignorance? all I’m seeing is the BAD and not the GOOD (please if you can explain the good) …………………………. did you know “”The torch relay is a total fabrication,” says Ira B. Nadel of the University of British Columbia, who has studied the techniques Riefenstahl used to aestheticize the Nazi cause. “The Germans invented it for the 1936 Olympics. There was nothing like it in the ancient Olympics.” thanks

  11. marcy oakley permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:58 am

    Thanks for all your positive info. It is so exciting, I keep thinking that there are only 2 weeks to fit everything in. Your information is a great help to scheduling the dates. Love your photos. I look forward to your posts and open them as soon as I can.
    Keep up the good work. I hope you have as much fun during the Games as you have had before them.
    Vancouver Loves You! Your #1 on my Faves!
    Cheers !
    ” Goat Canada Goat!”
    ~Marcy

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 4:46 pm

      Thanks so much Marcy! Your enthusiasm is wonderful!
      Happy Olympics to you!
      Andrea

  12. Lillian Au permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:59 am

    Hi Andrea,
    I enjoyed your Global TV appearance. I thought you might be interested in knowing that Canada Post will unfurl its giant Canada flag tomorrow (Jan. 28) at shortly past noon time at its downtown building at 349 Georgia Street. The flag will be released on the Hamilton street side of the building. The media has been invited. The flag measures 46 x 61 m (not quite the largest Canada flag but very close).
    Lillian

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 4:45 pm

      Thanks so much Lillian! I am afraid I missed it today but I’m going to go check it out tomorrow.
      Happy Olympics! – Andrea

  13. January 27, 2010 12:33 pm

    Andrea, CityCaucus.com just posted a link to the YouTube of your Global TV video last night. If you want to watch it again, check it out! I’m glad Mike ended up hooking Robin up with you…the piece looked great.

    http://www.citycaucus.com/2010/01/olympics-blogger-profiled-on-globaltv

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 4:30 pm

      Thanks so much to both Mike and you. It’s wonderful that you posted it and I love being able to send more people to your site.
      Cheers,
      Andrea

  14. Kerstin permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:37 pm

    You’re fantastic Andrea. Love your site and wish I could be there. You make everything so real and immediate. Congrats on the interviews. I’m sure you did a great job, as always.

  15. elspeth permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:09 pm

    I missed it! I know I don’t have a TV, but I missed it! Darn. I am positive you were a total star, always were, always will be.
    You are making history, I am making histograms.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:46 pm

      Hi E,
      Sorry you missed it. I did try to call but also remembered you don’t have a tv. You can still check it out still at CityCaucus online. Miss you!

      Andrea

  16. Bob permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:23 pm

    With all the depressing events happening around the world, like in Haiti, we all need an uplifting event like the 2010 Olympics at this time to keep our sanity! Andrea, your enthusiasm is catching! You are a wonderful asset to Vancouver’s big show. I know you will be one of Vancouver’s best ambassadors during the Games. Never stop smiling, crying or jumping for joy! Continue to spread the joy!!!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:43 pm

      Thanks so much Bob, you’re always so generous to me. Hope to see you again soon! – Andrea

  17. Nick permalink
    January 28, 2010 1:17 am

    Nice work Andrea! Saw it on YouTube. You star! Keep up the good work!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:42 pm

      Thanks Nick! It’s a bit crazy but wonderful at the same time. – Andrea

  18. Lillian permalink
    January 28, 2010 5:11 pm

    Hi Andrea,
    We rolled out the Canada flag at noon today and it was amazing! It’s not up now. We had to take it down again so we can properly secure it on Saturday for the duration of the Games. I wanted to save you a trip tomorrow. If you want a photo of the flag being unfurled with our folks waving up on the roof, let me know and I can send you a photo of today’s event.

  19. Christine permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:53 pm

    Hi there, I just want to say that you are doing an amazing job and I love your stories. I was watching Global news and when i saw your story I went straight to my computer and signed up for your blog. I think you’re great. Thank you for your hard work and wonderful stories.

  20. Sarah permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:34 pm

    Too cool Andrea! Was the interview youtubed? Ignore this if it comes up in more recent posts, I’ll find it.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 16 days 16.5 hours to go – Global BC interview « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 9 days 16.5 hours to go – Pins, the village and a bit more 2010vanfan « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

