Skip to content

15 days 19 hours to go – Vancouver from the air

January 27, 2010

Thank you Dave.  What an amazing experience.  I think it may take me a while to be able to come up with words adequate to describe my feelings right now, other than to say I am very grateful to have so many truly wonderful people in my life.  The most important thing that I have encountered while writing about Vancouver 2010 is the people – people that easily come together and form a community of enthusiasm, excitement and support.  For me this is the greatest thing that Vancouver 2010 has brought into my life, and if you’re reading this then you’re a part of that and I’d like to thank you for being involved and sharing this with me.

Sorry, yes, I get sappy sometimes but it was one of those days.  I had a million little things I was going to get done, but two text messages and a phone call later and I was on my way to Pitt Meadows for the chance of a lifetime.  Dave is married to Rachael, who writes the blog Tinkerblue, and whom I met recently to chat about the Olympics and for both of us to have someone to share the Four Season Hotel’s Olympic cocktails with.  Rachael is in Whistler working as a member of VANOC right now.  Dave is a recreational pilot with 15 years of flying experience and today he wanted to fly around Vancouver and Cypress before the flight restrictions are in place on Friday, January 29th.  He offered to let me come along.  Wow!

We flew from Pitt Meadows to Vancouver and set up ‘orbit’ around downtown Vancouver so that we could look at the Olympic venues.  From there we flew up past Grouse Mountain to Cypress where we circled several times to look at the freestyle ski and snowboard venues.  Finally we headed back past Grouse and Seymour to Pitt Meadows.  Dave offered to let me fly a little bit but I think I was too awed and a bit overwhelmed by what flying is like in the city (I have flown a Cessna, but there was no other planes around for more than 100 kilometers, and that was 7 years ago!).  So I left the flying to Dave (maybe I’ll be braver next time) and just savoured the experience for what it was, truly wonderful.  I will post up an album in the next day or two but I took a lot of photos so I’ll share a few here for now.  Then I have to get off to bed to be on-time for my interview at the CBC building in Vancouver for CBC One radio at 7:20am.  Something tells me tomorrow is going to be quite special too.

Dave and I in the plane (photo by Dan P).

A view of north False Creek with BC Place, Canada Hockey Place and Concord Place.

From the Main Media Centre to the Olympic Village.

Howe Sound and the Sea-to-Sky highway.

The Cypress grandstands are built and ready to go!

Fading light in the Lower Mainland. On our way home.

Back on the ground, and yes, we're wearing the same Team Canada hoodie. Thanks Dave!

Thank you merci for reading and sharing.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    January 28, 2010 1:45 am

    Great Stuff Andrea. Wow.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:41 pm

      Thanks!
      Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

  2. John permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:02 am

    Hey Andrea, thank you very much for doing all of this. You’re a real cutie and Vancouver (and Canada) is lucky to have you.

    You’re clearly got the Olympic Spirit, and you’re engendering it in others; that’s what the Games are all about!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:41 pm

      :o) Thanks John! Glad you’re enjoying it!
      Happy Olympics to you – Andrea

  3. Katie permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:59 am

    Wow, that looks amazing! The city sure has changed.

  4. January 28, 2010 9:25 am

    Glad you enjoyed it.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:40 pm

      You and Dave ROCK! 😀

  5. Len Corben permalink
    January 28, 2010 11:11 am

    Just got wind of your great blog through the link from CityCaucus.com which itself was passed on to me a few days ago by a friend.

    Your pictures are superb. Makes me want to get downtown right this minute.

    I write a sports history column called Instant Replay in the North Shore Outlook, a weekly (Thursday) newspaper in North and West Vancouver. You can get today’s column on Karen Magnussen when she was Canada’s flagbearer in 1972 by googling “Instant Replay: No jinx for this flagbearer.” There’s a place there to click for other Olympic related stories like “Instant Replay: Downhill Racer” the story of a local skier in the movie with Robert Redford, “Instant Replay: Falling for Natalie Wood” about former local Olympic skier Roddy Hebron; and “Instant Replay: The torchbearers revisited” about two 1988 Olympics torchbearers, one of whom is doing it again this time. There will be more stories each Thursday through February.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:36 pm

      Thanks Len – I’ll look up your stories. Thanks for sharing! Hope you have a wonderful Olympics! – Andrea

  6. Jo-Anne permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:44 pm

    Oh my God, I miss one afternoon and morning of reading your blog only to find out you’ve been up in a plane over the beautiful city of Vancouver. Holy, I’m going to have to move my computer upstairs where it is sitting beside me 24/7. You lucky, lucky girl. How bloody (sorry for the expression but I’m in awe) exciting is that. WOW.
    J.H.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 3:35 pm

      Hi Jo-Anne,

      Yes, I’m ridiculously lucky! Looks like you had fun at the Torch Relay!

      Hope to see you soon! – Andrea

  7. Tom permalink
    January 28, 2010 11:37 pm

    Andrea – you just inspired me. I’ve booked my float plane tour ticket!

  8. January 28, 2010 11:57 pm

    What a way to see the city!

    Really like the image of “BC Place, GM Place & Concord Place”, get a impression of the overall size of everything. The white ‘gate’ tents really stand out. And WOW is Molson Hockey House ever LARGE!

    Great to see there looks to be plenty of snow on the field of play itself at Cypress. We’ll be fine!

  9. Sarah permalink
    November 20, 2010 1:39 pm

    Truly spectacular. What an experience, and I’m so glad you got to do it around olympic time and see all the venues from a birds eye view!
    Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. 6 days 17 hours to go – The House of Switzerland Vancouver is open! « 2010VanFan
  2. 1 day 1 hour to go – Torch Relay ride-along « 2010VanFan
  3. Olympics Day 5 – « 2010VanFan
  4. Olympics Day 12 – Two hockey Games and some craft hour « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

