Skip to content

17 days 5 hours to go – Meet our Olympic Curlers. Learn about pins.

January 26, 2010

I’ve just heard that both of Canada’s Olympic Curling teams will be visiting the Olympic Superstore this Thursday, January 28th.  Here is the information:

Meet the 2010 Canadian Olympic Curling Teams by Purchasing Your Signature Series Items

Kevin Martin and teammates John Morris, Marc Kennedy and Ben Hebert.

Cheryl Bernard and teammates Susan O'Connor, Carolyn Darbyshire and Cori Bartel.

The Bay, Vancouver Downtown Olympic Superstore, Thursday, January 28th

  • Team Bernard 4:30 – 6:30pm
  • Team Martin 6:30 – 8:30pm

One of the following items must be purchased at the Bay Downtown in order to meet Kevin Martin or Cheryl Bernard’s Team and have it autographed in person:

Prices start at $49. Signature Series Items include:

  • 2010 Curling Poster
  • Team Canada 8×10 Matted Photo (Team Martin or Team Bernard)
  • Team Canada 16×20 Photo (Martin/Bernard Combined)

Reserve your opportunity to meet Team Martin or Team Bernard by visiting the Olympic Superstore at the Bay Downtown and pre-purchase your item to guarantee your spot. On-Sale Today! at the Bay Olympic Superstore.

Items for personal autographs are limited to the first 200 Signature Series purchases per team session. Quantities by product are limited.

I’m not exactly sure when curling turned into a hot sport to watch but it really is picking up steam.  I think I’ll be stopping by the Olympic Superstore to check out the action.

*     *     *     *     *

The Pacific Pin Club is having hosting a two-day pin trading ‘extravaganza’ this weekend and you are invited.  It is a free event and a great way for anyone interested in pins to either start in the hobby or for the more experienced to find the pins missing from their collections.  The pin trading weekend is being held at the Capital Hill Community Centre in north Burnaby.  The hours are:

  • Saturday, January 30, 2010 – 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM
  • Sunday, January 31, 2010 – 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM

I will be trying to make it down on Sunday, as I have the 2010vanfan Photo Scavenger Hunt on Saturday.  I know that some of the pin head would like to be involved with the Scavenger Hunt and I’m sorry I’ve scheduled it for the same day as the pin show but I’m running out of time!  There are just over two weeks left, so only two weekends!  Anyhow, I’m sure that we’ll all have fun with the weekend and with Vancouver 2010.  Don’t forget to email me if you’re interested in coming on the Scavenger Hunt.  Don’t forget… there are prizes!  My email is 2010vanfan@gmail.com.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 3:29 pm

    Is it possible to participate virtually in the Scavenger hunt???? LOL!! I know it’s not likely, but I thought I would throw the question out there!!! I LOVE scavenger hunts and am looking forward to reading all about :o)

    Your loyal fan,

    Hardeep Gosal

  2. Vicki Yehl permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:21 pm

    Andrea! We just saw your plug on Global News! We are waiting to see the whole story! Way to go girl! Congrats!

  3. January 26, 2010 6:30 pm

    In the same newscast that you were interviewed we were also reminded of the dozens of citizens who have been raped , murdered and brutalized by the RCMP and other local police forces. Last year more Canadians were killed by the police force here than soldiers in Afghanistan. BC and Vancouver are the most dangerous places in Canada and you are more likely to die at the hands of the police forces than in any other jurisdiction in the world. We daily hear of political corruption, massive numbers of homeless people being abused. We have just been designated the most unaffordable place in the world. Poverty and growing unemployment have forced families out into the street. Senior citizens now dominate the long line ups at the area food banks. Welfare recipients are doubling every year. Price/debt ratio for housing is now at 16.6 times gross income, the highest in the world, further increasing poverty. personal debt levels are the highest in canada, driving many immigrants into the criminal sysytem of drugs and prostitution to support themselves because local businesses won’t hire them. I could go on with a very long list why no one should come here and support the atrocities being perpetrated on the citizens of BC and Vancouver. What you have been saying is primarily propagandist and very misleading.

    My hope for you, get your head out of the sand and blog about reality for the majority of people in Vancouver.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 27, 2010 1:30 am

      Hello realpaul,

      I am very sorry for the awful and terrible things that happen in our world. I am not ignorant of them, however, with my blog I choose to celebrate the best things in our world: sport, art, community, and joy.

      Thank you for commenting,
      Andrea

  4. Wayne permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:44 pm

    Andrea
    Don’t forget those that could have a better life ( read homeless) with $30 million ( olympic torch relay). Or the tax payers of Vancouver who will be left with a significant debt 😦 or just inability to go about your normal routine.

    At one time I supported the Olympics but that was before the perverse use of drugs ( why do we need a “chemical lab if there were no drugs in our athletes).
    Sorry but just a big party for those in power or on “drugs” and not for those of us in the trenches – in which case I could have afforded to buy a ticket to an event.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 27, 2010 1:32 am

      Hi Wayne,

      I understand your concerns, however I have chosen to write specifically about the positive side of Vancouver 2010, not with the intent of excluding the negatives but because I felt the positives were not receiving enough attention.

      Thank you for your comment,
      Andrea

  5. clarence kroeker permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:51 pm

    What a wonderful thing you’re doing. Let’s hope it rubs off on the negative media reports They should be ashamed!
    Thank you for spearheading this drive to the acceptance and excitement of what we are about to experience.
    Clarence & Barbara

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 26, 2010 10:50 pm

      Hi Clarence and Barbara – I hope so too! There is so much to be excited about and share! Glad you’re enjoying everything so far. Go Canada! Andrea

  6. Dale Matthews permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:08 pm

    I just saw you on the news. I recently took some pictures in Vancouver if you’re interested in using any. I have more but I put my favourites on my Flickr page…

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/systemofadale/

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 26, 2010 10:43 pm

      Your photos are beautiful. Thanks for the flickr link Dale!

      Andrea

  7. John Silvashi permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:16 pm

    Hi, last Saturday I decided to go to West End to take a look of the preparations to the Olympics. I found most things beautiful except one area. Granville street is in horrible condition. That street hasn’t been washed down for months. I saw dry vommit, thousands of cigarette butts, and other garbage laying around. I don’t understand how the shop owners tolarate it. I hope the city will do something about this BEFORE the olympics. You would never see this in Zurich or in Vienna. Maybe you can bring this to some city politicians attention.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 27, 2010 1:23 am

      Hi John, I am sure things will be cleaned up and hope you never see the street like that again. I’m afraid that I’m not nearly connected enough to know who to talk to but I’m sure it will work out.
      Thanks for commenting!
      Andrea

  8. Linda Dodd permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:28 pm

    Saw you on the telly Andrea. Way to go !!!!! Actually it was June – who was also at our place for Thanksgiving – who phoned and told me to switch on immediately. Really glad to hear your blog has been so successful. Keep up the good work.

    Hope to see you again soon sometime. Linda

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 26, 2010 10:37 pm

      Thanks Linda! I’m so glad to hear from you. Hope you and Paul are both well!
      Yes, it would be lovely to see you soon, though maybe after the Olympics 🙂 Andrea

  9. January 26, 2010 7:43 pm

    Andrea,

    Great job on Global TV tonight. I heard from Mike that he had recommended Global take a look at your story, and it looks like they were interested. Keep up the good work on your blog!

    cheers,

    Daniel

  10. keith77cdn permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:31 pm

    sorry andrea i cant be there this sat since im at yvr be on my 2nd day of volunteer. I be volunteering from this friday till opening day. I be glad now since i can look around the houses.

  11. Andrew Wong permalink
    January 27, 2010 12:07 am

    Hi Andrea. i’ve been following ur blog for the last 2 weeks and when i was watching news on Global tonite, i saw u and said to myself, “isn’t that girl on tv the same girl who luvs everything about the Games?”. u’re doing a great job! i’m a volunteer in the Transportation FA. hope to get the chance to meet u at the Athletes Village (VVL). ^_^

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 27, 2010 1:22 am

      Thanks for commenting Andrew. I hope you have a wonderful time and I look forward to the chance to meet you!
      Cheers,
      Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 17 days 5 hours to go – Meet our Olympic Curlers. Learn about pins. « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 12 days 5 hours to go – The scavenger hunt stories… « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

