Skip to content

18 days 7.5 hours to go – 50,000+ 2010vanfan hits but no media pass :(

January 25, 2010

Thank you to all readers of 2010vanfan, especially those that have been following me since July 2009.  This morning a big milestone was hit… more than 50,000 hits since starting the blog only six months ago!  And each week just keeps getting better!  More than 7,200 hits last week.  I really appreciate all of your interest and support and look forward to sharing Vancouver 2010 with you over the next several weeks!

And then my sad news… I think it has something to do with being a little too keen and excited.  I arrived at the BC Media Centre at Robson Square not long after the accreditation centre had opened, and I guess most media don’t do that.  They were open but I’m not sure they were entirely ready for people to start showing up.  They had quite a lot of accreditation cards ready to go, just not mine, so now I have to wait a few days, and hope that it will be ready this week.  The staff said that it will be ready by February 1 for sure.  Sigh.  Alright, I’ll stop being such a keener and be patient (or at least I’ll try, promise!).

I had been hoping to have a shiny new pass to photograph and post, but it’s not to be.  But there are lots of new things to see downtown so I think I’ll go strolling with my camera for a bit.  On my way here I saw the tent going up for the Irish Olympic House, the towers for ziptrekking over Robson Street, a new digital art installation on the south side of the Vancouver Art Gallery and more. Plus I’d like to find out more about the Chinese Olympic House which is being hosted in Lulu Island Winery, but as that’s all I know so far I should do some investigating.

Oh yes, and I nearly forgot… I drew the names of the two pin winners for this week.  The winner of the oversized Inukshuk pin is Evan with his Quatchi hat and the winner of the oversized country flag pin is Sarah P.  Congratulations to both of you.  Please send me an email with your address so I can send your pin 2010vanfan@gmail.com.  I will have another photo contest for pins soon, but this week I’m focussed on getting the 2010vanfan Scavenger Hunt set up and run on Saturday, January 30.  So if you’d like to win prizes and be involved in experiencing the excitement of Vancouver 2010 come on out.  We will be starting at 11am Saturday morning and I’m hoping to be done by 3pm.  There will be prizes and generally just a lot of fun.  Email me if you’d like to join! 2010vanfan@gmail.com.

Thank you merci!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 1:50 pm

    Sorry about your media accreditation… I was worried to pick me mine late, as I am back a few days in Europe… but if they are not ready, I will show up at my return on the 8th !
    All the best and continue to tell us all the stories about Vancouver & the Games… it’ll help me to get in touch so far away from Van !!!

  2. Jo-Anne permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:26 am

    Now that is a blow, no media pass ready. How dare they? It is hard to be patient some times,isn’t it. Wish I could be on the scavenger hunt with you but hope to be at a rally on Sat. to stop the plant for burning creosote ties here in Kamloops. This just can’t happen, especially by the river in Mission Flats. DUH is my question. City council voted it down 100% but some one thought it was okay.
    Then Sunday I’m off to the indoor track at TCC to participate in the Alzheimer’s walk. Our previous neighbor is the honoree this year. If I get some good photo’s from the Torch celebrations tomorrow evening I will send you some. YIPPEE CHEERS

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 26, 2010 11:28 pm

      No worries, I have my accreditation now. Thanks so much for the phone call tonight, you rock!

      I can’t wait to see your photos from the Torch Relay, you’re going to have an amazing time!

      Hope to see you soon!
      Andrea

Trackbacks

  1. 18 days 4 hours to go – Yay! BCIMC accreditation! « 2010VanFan
  2. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

