Skip to content

18 days 4 hours to go – Yay! BCIMC accreditation!

January 25, 2010

I didn’t even have to be terribly patient.  I received a phone call just before lunch letting me know that my pass for the British Columbia International Media Centre (BCIMC) was located and ready for pickup.  I’m so happy.  And I managed to get my internet working here so that’s a bonus too.  Officially the BCIMC doesn’t open until next week but it’s pretty exciting to be in here working now.  It should be interesting to see what changes will happen in this space.  It sounds like they have a lot of plans.  Today I was only able to pick up my media pass, but apparently there will be a package for us next week.  I’m curious as to what they’ll have in it, but that will have to wait, and that’s okay.  Until then I’m going to be pretty darn happy with what I’ve got and am certainly glad that “I’m here!”.

Shiny new pass. You gotta be here! I am 😀

*     *     *     *     *

I’ve only made it as far as the Vancouver Art Gallery but I did take a photo of the new digital art installation on the front steps.  It is called Cue and is part of the Cultural Olympiad.  It’s pretty neat.  It combines video and sound.  The first time I walked past “Echo” was playing (I’m afraid that I didn’t note the artist’s name).  The video showed a woman on a grassy green hill looking into a rocky valley, she’s plays a cello, then pauses to hear the echo of it come back at her.  The sound was amazing.  It drew me to it to look and listen.  Certainly worth a few minutes as you’re going past.

Cue: Artist's Videos at the Vancouver Art Gallery

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 2:03 pm

    Congratulation !!!

  2. January 25, 2010 2:46 pm

    Congratulations Andrea! What a wonderful avenue to have open to you during these Olympics. Can’t wait to see the inside scoop you’ll be able to give us normal non media people! 😉

  3. January 25, 2010 7:29 pm

    Congratulations Andrea! Wishing you great times as an unaccredited journalist! Unfortunately, our daughter will be unable to join the scavenger hunt, but you’ll see us on Saturday!

  4. Bob permalink
    January 25, 2010 8:25 pm

    Congratulations! That’s great! Looking forward to all your stories!

  5. Dan permalink
    January 25, 2010 11:17 pm

    Holy cow? Press pass?!? Good going!

  6. Sarah permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:23 pm

    Woo accreditation! I didn’t realize you didn’t have the pass yet when I commented on last post. That’s a very special bit of laminate you have there!

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

