Skip to content

18 days 20.5 hours – Guest Post from Christina W.

January 24, 2010

I have met Christina through our blogs.  She writes Journey to Vancouver 2010 – Diary of a Fan from Toronto.  She asked me to write a guest post for her blog (I promise I will get it done!) and wrote one for me!  Check out her blog here!  And thanks Christina, this is very cool!  I’m looking forward to meeting you even more.

Guest Blog Post for Andrea 2010VanFan

Hello I am Christina Wallaert, author of the blog Journey to Vancouver 2010 – Diary of a Fan.  I am a big fan of the Olympics and will be making the trip from Toronto to Vancouver in February to witness the Olympic Games firsthand.  I have watched the Olympics on TV for as long as I can remember. Every time I’ve wondered what it would be like to be there. What would it feel like to sit in the stands and watch your country compete against others who are considered the best in the world? Is it different than watching your home town team play? This year I am going to find out.  I am coming to Vancouver on February 19th to see the 2nd half of the Vancouver Olympics.

This adventure started back in the fall of 2008 with Phase 1 tickets. I put together my request, got awarded a few events and then rounded that off with additional events in Phase 2.  There have been some stressful times but overall, making the travel plans has been a lot of fun. When all those details were taken care of, the real fun began. I started my blog to have a place to put my thoughts, feelings and enthusiasm about making this trip. It has been one of the best things I have done. The people that have found me and the adventures that I have had because of my blog have been amazing. I’m so glad I didn’t listen to people who didn’t think I should go to Vancouver. I have met amazing people, had incredible experiences and am living out a dream of going to see an Olympic Games.

Obviously this one is more special to me than the others, one because I am going to be there and second because they are in Canada. It will be unlike anything I have ever seen or felt before.  I have my Canada clothing, flags, and pins all ready to go.  I am now focused on locating all the free events I can find in Vancouver. It is going to be pretty amazing on the streets of Vancouver. The sporting events will be great, but so will mingling with people from all over the world at some of the free events.

When this all started I never dreamed that preparation for Vancouver 2010 would be such a blast. I have met great people like Andrea, a wonderful blogger, providing people like me who are far away from Vancouver, daily updates on how the city is preparing and coming together for the Olympics. People from all over the world are reading my blog and leaving comments. It is a huge compliment.  In all of this I have discovered an amount of Canadian pride I never knew I had.  It will only get bigger as we get closer to the Olympics. I am so happy and grateful to be able to share this experience with family, friends, co-workers and all my new friends from the online world. They are what make this special and memorable. I don’t even think we fully know how special this event will be. To the people I have already met I look forward to meeting you in Vancouver.  I also look forward to meeting lots of new friends!

See you in Vancouver!

Leave a Reply

