Skip to content

18 days 18 hours to go – Torch relay, Kesler, pins and more!

January 24, 2010

It was a very busy day for me here in Vancouver.  There are bunches of things to talk about, some big and some little.

I got to watch my friend Victoria carry the Olympic Torch in Rossland, BC today.  I even dressed up for the day with all of my Torch Relay clothes!  I wish I could have been there but I am very happy that CTV has a live video feed from the Torch Relay.  I managed to get a couple of screen captures so that I could post one here and send them to Victoria if she’d like them.  It looks like it was a wonderful experience.  I’m totally jealous but ever so happy for her!  I can’t believe how close the Torch is now!

Victoria is on the left, just having passed the Flame to the next Torchbearer.

*     *     *     *     *

My pin trading got all mixed up with Ryan Kesler’s visit to the Olympic Superstore today and that is a really great thing.  The autograph signing was right near the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre so it was quite a busy place.  I hadn’t really planned on much besides maybe a photo or two of Kesler for my blog but somehow it got to be more.  One of the pin guys asked me to be his photographer and when I headed over to check out a good spot to take photographs I realised that really, I am media, and that meant I could ask for a media pass and get a better place to take photos from.  I signed in on the media sign-in form, was given a media pass and access to the media pit.  (No, I don’t think I can say media any more times in a sentence, but I promise not to test this theory either 😉 ).  I am still getting used to what being part of the media means and learning about how to take advantage of the possibilities that are offered.  I think I’m getting there.

Ryan Kesler - #17 on the Canucks and a member of the US Olympic Hockey Team!

Rob, my gardener and pin-head friend, with Kesler.

I had my media pass signed... a bit nerdy I know but it means a lot to me! Thanks Ryan!

My signed media pass! Woohoo!

Pin trading in the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre also went well today.  I made a few trades and set up a few for the future.  I am happy to say that I am not collecting everything.  I know that it may seem like that some days but really my want list is much, much shorter than many people’s.  This is good because there are about to be a tonne of new pins arriving with people from around the world over then next few weeks and I can’t imagine trying to get them all.  Or even all of a category of pins such as “corporate” or “media”.  Whew!  I get tired just thinking about it.  Anyhow, I will try to post some photos of some of my latest pins soon.

*     *     *     *     *

I read a lot of blogs, news sites and the like everyday to make sure I’m staying on top of things (which reminds me… check out my new “Links” page, beside “About Me” at the top of the page).  Today I found a map on Vancoulympics, a blog in French by Vincent, that shows where you can stop and watch Alpine Skiing events if you have a Whistler Blackcomb lift ticket.  Around 90% of the terrain at Whistler Blackcomb is open during the Games!  I have been trying to figure out if I have time to visit the mountains before Games-time but maybe I’ll try to squeeze in a day during!  I’m a poor skier but it would be really neat to ski a bit, watch some Olympic athletes zoom by, then ski some more.  I’ll have to look into somewhere to stay and maybe some rentals… 😀

*      *      *      *      *

It’s gone and gotten late on me again, so I am going to do the draw for this week’s pin winners in the morning.  I’ll even try to wake up early!  I’ll have to as I am heading to the British Columbia Media Centre at 9am to pick up my accreditation.  As you may guess, this is really super exciting!  I will be telling you all about it in less than 12 hours!

Thank you merci!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. keith77cdn permalink
    January 25, 2010 4:59 am

    hey andrea add me to amazing list on sat i be there. I be wearing my canada shirt and my olympic bag and mittens

  2. January 25, 2010 8:35 am

    Rock on Canada

  3. Sarah permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:18 pm

    Very cool about getting up there with Ryan! Is this the first time you used your ‘unnacredited media’ credentials? Great stuff, you are doing so many things (gosh, I’m talking about it like it’s the present still) . It’s such fun to follow!

Trackbacks

  1. 18 days 7.5 hours to go – 50,000+ 2010vanfan hits but no media pass :( « 2010VanFan
  2. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

