Skip to content

21 days 17 hours to go – The Torch is in BC!

January 21, 2010

I’m going to start with correcting the date of the 2010vanfan photo scavenger hunt.  I had intended it to be over a week away so that I would have time to organise it, but I accidently put this coming Saturday’s date.  So the 2010vanfan photo scavenger hunt will be on Saturday, January 30th starting at 11am and hopefully finishing no later than 4pm.  If you’re interested in participating please email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com so I can start getting an idea of numbers.  I will get some more details out in the next few days.

*     *     *     *      *

Once again it’s late, so I’m going to write quick and fill you in on Walkabout #3 in the morning.

Today – the Olympic Torch arrived in British Columbia!  It’s so exciting.  AND… there are only 21 days, or three weeks until the Olympic Opening Ceremonies.    So cool!  I know a bunch of people that will be carrying and I’m totally jealous.

OK – Hmm… photos and then bed.

This is a neat new installation on Granville Street between Robson and Georgia.  There is a lot of new are pieces bring your camera!  Of course, my favourite was:

These cool ring type things certainly do draw a crowd.  People started photographing me!  Eek!

These "Rings" were really fun... Check out the Vancouver 2010 Spirit Album for more photos. Thanks to Dan for his great photography.

Thank you merci!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    January 22, 2010 1:17 am

    On my way to the CTV pin giveaway I notice a partially completed log structure on the front lawm of the VAG. It is getting so exciting … new structures & banners going up every day!

  2. elspeth permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:18 am

    Great photos! You are a natural!!

  3. January 22, 2010 10:55 am

    Very cool, Andrea! I also saw the same yesterday: http://pelalusa.blogspot.com/2010/01/lunarfest.html

  4. January 22, 2010 12:27 pm

    Great pics… you’ve got the oly spirit in you !!!

  5. January 22, 2010 3:51 pm

    Wicked Pics Andrea 🙂

    So great to see that you are having a blast while keeping all your loyal fans in the loop of what’s going on in Vancouver!!

    Only 3 weeks to go … oh my!!

    See you soon,
    Hardeep

  6. dan pederson permalink
    January 22, 2010 4:24 pm

    Pacific Pin Club 2010 Pre – Games Pin Show
    Capital Hill Community Hall, 361 South Howard Avenue, North Burnaby
    Saturday, January 20 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
    Sunday, Januaru 31 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM

    No entry fee! Just bring those 2010 Olympic pins (and others, too) and start trading. For more information go to http://www.pacificpinclub.org

  7. Dan permalink
    January 23, 2010 4:23 pm

    You were a good model!

    The blog is looking really good!

  8. Eric Peppiatt permalink
    January 25, 2010 11:09 am

    Hi Andrea,

    I am really enjoying your “little” blog and it has served as an insperation and a reminder to me why I chose to volunteer for the games. I’ll be at CHP as a load zone attendant and I can’t wait. I live in Chilliwack so I don’t get the chance to see Vancouver “transform” so thanks again for being such a keen observer!
    Lastly, with my volunteer schedule I am making plans for my family to out for the 2nd weekend(Ihave 1 day off!) Any Suggestions for a family of four?

    Take Care
    -Eric

  9. Sarah permalink
    November 18, 2010 12:52 pm

    Ha! Those cutout spulpture thingies are awesome!

  10. Sarah permalink
    November 18, 2010 12:53 pm

    I meant sculpture, but you knew that. *facepalm*

Trackbacks

  1. 20 days 19 hours to go – LunarFest, Korea House & more… « 2010VanFan
  2. 18 days 7.5 hours to go – 50,000+ 2010vanfan hits but no media pass :( « 2010VanFan
  3. 14 days 1.5 hours to go – Food at the Four Host First Nations Pavilion « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

