Skip to content

23 days 18.5 hours to go – Kesler at the Olympic Superstore and my Volunteer training!

January 19, 2010

I considered starting this post with the job specific volunteer training I did tonight but… Ryan Kesler will be in signing merchandise at the Olympic Superstore and that is pretty darn cool.  Here are the details:

Meet 2010 Olympian Ryan Kesler By Purchasing Your Kesler Signature Series Items. 3:00pm-5:00pm – Sunday, January 24th at the Olympic Superstore in The Bay, Vancouver Downtown.  One of the following items must be purchased at The Bay Downtown in order to meet Kesler and have it autographed in person:

  • 2010 Signature Series Hockey Poster
  • 2010 Signature Series Puck
  • 2010 Signature Series Hockey Stick
  • Canucks 8×10 Matted Photo

Prices start at $59.

Reserve this opportunity today by visiting the Olympic Superstore at The Bay Downtown and pre-purchase your item to guarantee your participation. Sales begin Thursday, January 21st.  Items for Kesler autographs are limited to the first 300 Signature Series purchases. Quantities by product are limited.

I know I should have probably picked a tough hockey shot, but this photo of Ryan Kesler and his daughter Makayla was too cute to resist!

*     *     *     *     *

OK – my turn!  I went for job specific training tonight for my role in Plaza and Events in the Vancouver Athlete’s Village.  I’ve been looking forward to finding out what exactly I’ll be up to and I have to say it’s pretty freaking fantastic!  Plus, it was nice to see Jordan, Stephanie and Matt all of whom I met by accident several months ago at  Grand Opening of the Olympic Superstore.  And also nice to meet Lindsay and Darryl (I hope I have your names and spelling correct, if not send me a note and I will fix it!) with whom all of the volunteers will interact with on a daily basis.

The Plaza and Events team will be staffing facilities such as the phone room, the DVD lounge, the Fitness Centre and (I think best of all) the ‘Living Room’ in the Salt Building.  I saw the Salt Building from the outside last month when I completed my Venue Specific Training but this time we got to go into it.  It’s not finished yet, and I am not allowed to take or post any photos of the insides of the venues but I was allowed to take some outside.  I really love the Salt Building, it is stunning.

The Salt Building will be known as the Living Room during the Games. The light standards on the left are intended to be reminiscent of a ship's hull and the pathway shows where water once was in False Creek.

The ship lights change colour regularly.  I love how it affects the look of the area.

The Olympic Rings on the Salt Building arrived today, January 19th! It's nearly Games time!

This colour makes the area look icy!

The Salt Building was saved from the original waterfront structures in the area (nifty feature – downstairs there is a glass wall showing through to the original and still in place wharf footings!).  It is really gorgeous inside.  They did an amazing job of cleaning it and making it a fabulous space.  Athletes will be able to play video games, billiards, foozball and listen to a wide array of live music!  It definitely seems like the place to be and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that a lot of my volunteer time there!

I’m on the team that will be available to make sure that an athlete’s visit to one of the Village’s facilities runs well and happily and generally feels as home-y!  All of the world’s top winter athletes will be passing through my part  of the village and that is going to be amazing.  I will be able to write about some of my experiences in the Village and really look forward to sharing it with everyone!

*     *      *      *      *

I am aiming to write early tomorrow morning so I’m going to sign off for now but I will be talking to you soon!

Thank you merci for all of your support!

PS – Don’t forget to send in photo for the Vancouver 2010 Spirit Album and your chance to win a pin!

*     *     *     *     *

Patti just sent me the photo of Ryan Kesler and his daughter Makayla taken at this year’s SuperSkills contest.  Still adorable but definitely an update.  Thanks Patti!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 11:51 pm

    Amazing pictures Bravo !

  2. Patti permalink
    January 20, 2010 12:16 am

    Ah…The Salt Building….one of my favourites and now it has Olympic Rings. Very cool!

    Your job sounds fantastic and I hope we get to work together on a few shifts.

  3. January 20, 2010 8:51 am

    i am so freaking jealous.

  4. January 20, 2010 9:29 am

    Sounds like your volunteer experiences will be really cool. I look forward to hearing about it.
    On another note, one of your readers had left a comment on an earlier post saying they were going to decorate their house for the Olympics. I can’t remember who it was, but if they are reading this and your house is decorated, please, please send me a photo so I can include it in my Olympic Spirit across Canada photo album. I’m thinking it was a Patti or a Pam but can’t remember.
    Thanks! See you soon everyone.

    • Patti permalink
      January 20, 2010 10:30 am

      Hi Christina,
      That would be me and I’m starting today (January 20) to decorate my yard in all red and white for Team Canada. It will take a few days to get it all done and then I’ll send photos. My goal is to have it completed by January 26 because my Olympic Volunteer job starts on January 27.

      I drove by the most amazingly decorated house this past Monday but I didn’t have my camera. However, I plan to go back to take photos. It’s done in an Olympic theme and it’s spectacular. They have the Olympic Rings, an Inukshuk and a Cauldron plus the whole yard is filled with lights. When you get to Vancouver, you must try to go see it. The house is on the East side of Victoria Drive and just a few blocks up from Marine Drive. There’s also a house on the West side a few blocks further North and they have the Olympic Rings. I will try to send you pictures of both as well.

      OK, outside to start that decorating!

  5. Lauren permalink
    January 21, 2010 12:20 am

    Hi Christina!
    Your job in the village sounds fantastic, basically what I was hoping to do when I signed up 🙂 I’ll be in the Village as well, but I’m with Event Services so it sounds like I’ll mostly be doing security checks and crowd control. Still excited but kind of choked, I’m coming down from Fort St. John with my 8-month old son for the whole month, but they don’t have me scheduled for any shifts from Feb 13-26th, which is the majority of the games! If your team needs an extra hand keep me in mind – I used to work for EA when I lived in Vancouver, so I know my way around video games 🙂

    Excited to pick up my uniform & take the tour for myself next week, maybe I’ll see you around!

    Cheers,
    Lauren

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 22, 2010 8:27 am

      Hi Lauren,

      I think that you’re still going to have a wonderful time with Event Services, everything in the Village is going to be pretty amazing. You’ll be checking the passes of international, world-famous athletes, and get to talk to them every day. Pretty great. And most of the teams will be there before the Games. Most of my shifts are pre-Games as well!

      Cheers,
      Andrea

      PS – Christina writes Journey to 2010 – Diary of a Fan 🙂

  6. Lauren permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:05 am

    Oops! I guess that’s what I get for posting a comment at 1am 🙂

    I’m sure I’ll have a great time, just wish I had more shifts during the games since I’m not attending any events… I guess it will give me a chance to check out some of the stuff going on around town – or I’ll glue myself to the couch and watch all the action on TV!

    By the way, I found your blog when searching for pictures of the volunteer uniform – I couldn’t find a decent shot of the city pants anywhere else! Still haven’t been able to find a close up of the Event Services version, wanted to see what it looks like with the yellow sleeve…

    • Patti permalink
      January 22, 2010 3:14 pm

      Hi Lauren,
      I’m a Team Leader in Event Services in the Vancouver Village. Most of my shifts are also before the Games (but I wanted it that way) so hopefully we’ll work together. I’m working the 2-11PM shifts except on 2 days when I have the 6AM-3PM shift. I think you are going to really enjoy your job and it will be much more than security checks and crowd control – that’s more what our area does at the Sports Venues. I’m still not even sure of all we will be doing but I think it’s going to be fantastic.

      As for the yellow sleeve, it’s a removable piece you will get at the start of each shift and return at the end.

      I think in the end you’ll be glad you had time off during the games because there’s going to be so many things to do and places to go. I’m lucky to have tickets to many events but I also hope to have time to take in everything else as well.

      When is your tour next week? Maybe I’ll see you because I start on January 27 (6AM-3PM) and I’m there for the 2-11PM shifts on the January 28, 29, 31 and February 1.

      Hope we get to meet and, if not, have a wonderful time while you’re here.

  7. January 22, 2010 5:29 pm

    Fantastic Roundhouse photos. I like that. I don’t know what false creek will look like in comparison. But probably not as good.

  8. Rebecca permalink
    January 24, 2010 4:53 pm

    Love your blog! Thanks for doing this. The chronic complainers hopefully will stay home and lock the door. They’re not good for this City and don’t help our economy. Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. 20 days 2.5 hours to go – Updates to Venue map and False Creek « 2010VanFan
  2. 13 days 17 hours to go – My first volunteer shift « 2010VanFan
  3. 6 days 10 hours to go – A bit of a cold « 2010VanFan
  4. Day 5 – Wheelchair curling and sledge hockey! « 2010VanFan
  5. 55 days after Vancouver 2010 - Opening of Athlete's Village | NerdBird
  6. 55 days after Vancouver 2010 – Public Opening of the Athlete’s Village « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

