Skip to content

25 days 19 hours to go – Changes at 2010vanfan and pin winners!

January 17, 2010

Today was my first attempt at multiple postings.  I’ve added the number of hours remaining in each day to the title of the post so that you have an idea as to when I’ve written it.  I will continue to write at least one post a day but I am hoping to split it up a bit more and post things up as I learn about them (my main goal is to not be writing past midnight 😀 ).  If you’re on my email list or facebook group you’ll only get one email a day that will contain all of the links so that I don’t jam up your inbox.  So over the next few days I would appreciate any feedback that you have.  Let me know if it is working for you or if you have some other ideas.  Thanks for your help!

*     *     *     *     *

I had quite a few people enter their names in to win pins this week, and I’m happy to announce the three new winners!  For the Opening Ceremonies Flag Pin – Wonderspark, for the Opening Day Mascot Pin – Randy L. from Kamloops, and for the Mascot pin from the Plush Mascot 3-pack – Rob S.  Thanks to everyone that entered! If you’re a winner please email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com and let me know if you’d like to pick up your pin from me or if I should mail it to you.  Congratulations and thanks for entering photos!

New winners means it’s time for a new contest.  Same rules as before (see below) but this weeks prizes are pretty cool!  There are only two of them but there will be one oversized Olympic Emblem pin and one oversized country flags pin.

On the left is the oversized country flag pin and on the right the oversized Olympic Emblem pin. These pins are really quite big... nearly 10cm across!

Here are the ways you can enter to win:

1 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear by emailing it to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com.

2 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on my Facebook group 2010vanfan.

3 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on Twitter and make sure to include @2010vanfan in your message so that I can see it too!

Get your photo in before the evening of Sunday, January 24 for this week’s contest!  And please pass it on to your friends and family!  The more people feeling the Olympic spirit the better!

Check out the Vancouver 2010 Spirit Album so far!

*     *     *     *     *

We went walking past the LiveCity Yaletown site this afternoon, and while I still am not sure who is occupying which tent besides the Coca-Cola and City of Vancouver tents, there is certainly still a lot of activity going on.  The Back-of-House areas are getting their tents and facilities installed and I’m assuming the sponsor tents in the public area are being done up as well (can’t wait for them to put some signage up!).  Speaking of signage, I spotted some signs  for pedestrians along SeaWall for the first time today.  Yes, I even get excited by signage. 😀

Pedestrian signs along SeaWall beside the LiveCity Yaletown site.

*     *     *     *     *

Everyone is finding interesting and new ways to help Haiti in their time of need since the terrible earthquake there last week.  If you don’t have your Red Mittens yet it would be great if you’d consider checking out Julie’s site called ‘These Boots‘.  She is ‘auctioning’ off a pair of Red Mittens.  If you have donated to a registered charity or are going to, you can send her an email or message with the amount that you donated to the charity and have a chance to get these Mittens.  The person that donates the highest amount will get them.  She is asking that you send a screen shot or copy of your donation receipt as proof and reminding you that the Federal Government of Canada will match whatever you give (if you’re Canadian).  She will send the Mittens anywhere in the world, so you don’t have to be from Canada to be involved.  Thanks Julie for this wonderful fundraising effort!

*     *     *     *     *

Just a quick update on Thursday’s walkabout – The new Olympic Line opens that morning at 9:30am, and that’s where I plan on starting.  We’ll ride the line and then hop onto the Canada Line and SkyTrain for some touring around the area.  Around 2pm I’m hoping to go to stop by Queen Elizabeth Park which is home to the Vancouver Olympic and Paralympic Centre where curling will take place.  We will not be able to enter the Olympic venue but I think I’ve managed to coerce Rob, one of the gardeners at the park (and a certified pinhead), to give us a bit of a tour.  I’ve never been to the park and am looking forward to it!  That will pretty much be the end of the day (around 2:30 or 3pm) unless anyone feels like heading to the Irish Olympic House for a bit of afternoon sustenance.  😉

Let me know if you’re interested in coming along so I can make sure you have the most up-to-date plan.  If you can’t make it for the whole thing but would like to come for part of it that’s okay too.  I’m sure we can sort something out.

*     *     *     *     *

Right, and now I’m off to bed… before midnight!  Yay!

Thank you merci for reading!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine Hawrysh permalink
    January 17, 2010 11:17 pm

    Not so good at computer, blog, photo stuff but will try to figure it out to enter to contest. I still do not have my uniform yet….. not even an invite as yet. I’ve heard they have run out of Small and XSmall sizes and I’m thinking that Medium will be soon be out the door. I’m working in the Vancouver Olympic Village and am beyond excited. I have absolutely loved your posts. Thank you
    Katherine

  2. Bob permalink
    January 17, 2010 11:28 pm

    I love the “Gotta Be Here” ad … makes me feel all warm and fuzzy!

  3. keith77cdn permalink
    January 18, 2010 5:08 am

    sound like a plan i would come to you for tour agian and would love to try olympic line maybe it be in future vancouver street cars agian. I would have be gone to work by 6pm so irish house for meal before work sound tasty and maybe i do appy platter with ya.

  4. January 18, 2010 9:33 am

    Hey Andrea,

    thanks so much for letting people know about the Red Mittens for Haiti contest over at my Canada travel blog! The bidding’s up to $55 now–do I hear $60?? Remember–I’ll send them anywhere in the world!

    And I am definitely going to enter your contest for a chance at that flag pin!

    Is the Olympic Line the Bombardier train that’s running from Granville Island to Olympic Village? I walked by it last night and they were doing some testing. I would love to see streetcars return to Vancouver!

    Your blog’s a lot of fun…thanks for putting so much energy out there…

    Julie

  5. January 18, 2010 1:39 pm

    As usual everything was so interesting in your blog; a little something for everyone.
    Would have loved to have joined you at the Irish House but thats tough to do from Ontario. Have you ever thought of doing reporting as a sideline? Keep up the good work and above all, enjoy yourself.

Trackbacks

  1. 23 days 18.5 hours to go – Kesler at the Olympic Superstore and my Volunteer training! « 2010VanFan
  2. 20 days 19 hours to go – LunarFest, Korea House & more… « 2010VanFan
  3. 19 days 6.5 hours to go – Pin Trading, Kesler & Coca-Cola « 2010VanFan
  4. 12 days 5 hours to go – The scavenger hunt stories… « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

