Skip to content

28 days to go – A steep learning curve…

January 15, 2010

Once again I found myself without paper to write on.  I am not so good at this reporting thing.  But, I have managed to go out and get myself a few notebooks now so hopefully they will find their way into my bags.  I no longer have an excuse for not having paper with me.  Today’s lack of paper has resulted in a mish-mash of scrounged paper scraps and notes typed out hastily on a newly-downloaded note program on my mobile phone… let’s see what I can retrieve of my day…

*     *     *     *     *

For those of us that have been around Vancouver a while you’ll be happy to know that the Woodward’s W is back up and will be lit for the first time in many years.  The lighting will happen just after 6pm on Friday, January 15.  I’m going to try to be there.

One of the new Woodward's Buildings with the new W.

The W that is currently up is a replica of the old Woodward’s W.  As I remember it the original W has suffered from many years of neglect and is very delicate.  This new one also has the advantage of being outfitted with LED lighting.  While it’s not quite the same I think it will bring back a nice nostalgia all the same.

*     *     *     *     *

Sledge Hockey in Surrey this weekend.  Here’s what the City of Surrey website has to say:

“BC Hockey announced that the Korean National Sledge Hockey Team will be taking on BC’s Provincial Sledge Hockey Team – the BC Eagles – in two (2) exhibition games.  Both games will be played at the Surrey Sport and Leisure Complex.

  • Game 1 – Wednesday January 13/10, 7:00 pm puck drop (Rink 3)
  • Game 2 – Saturday January 16/10, 12:30 PM puck drop (Rink 1)

The BC Eagles are comprised of players from the Lower Mainland, North BC and the Okanagan.  Korea recently qualified for the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games after placing second in the Malmo 2009 IPC Paralympic Winter Games (PWG) Ice Sledge Hockey Qualification Tournament.

Ice Sledge Hockey is the Paralympic version of Ice Hockey.  It is fast-paced, highly physical and played by male athletes with a physical disability in the lower part of the body.  Instead of skates, players use two-blade sledges that allow the puck to pass beneath.  Players use two sticks, which have a spike-end for pushing and a blade-end for shooting.

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at www.bchockey.net or email info@bchockey.net”

I will certainly let you know more if I find out how to get tickets.  I bet this would be amazing to watch!

*     *     *     *     *

If you find yourself in downtown Vancouver at 10am on Friday, January 15 be sure to stop by Canada’s Northern House for the official public opening.  From the media reports it sounds really spectacular.  I will definitely be attending this.  Hope to see you there.

*     *     *     *      *

Right, well, it is now way, way, way past my bedtime and I am having trouble coming up with sentences.  I have not made it through all of my notes and scraps of paper but I will try to get to them tomorrow.  I guess today’s short post makes up for yesterday’s extra long one!  Don’t forget to send in your photo of Vancouver 2010 spirit!  Only two days left to enter this week’s pin draw.  Look for details here.

Goodnight, bonsoir.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 11:18 am

    Andrea, I’ve been “accused” by my dear friends of being a little Olympics crazy (ie. constant updates on my Facebook account & my blog) but I must say that my “coverage” pales in comparison to what you’re doing.

    Keep up the GREAT work!!!

  2. Bob permalink
    January 16, 2010 12:32 am

    People just do not seem to be getting the message … very, very few have been leaving their cars home during the “test” Fridays! This is not good! Come on people!

Leave a Reply

