Skip to content

31 days to go – One month to go!!

January 12, 2010

Wow.  January 12th!  We are only one month away from the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games and two months away from the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games.  I had a pretty mellow day today as, even though I slept on my flight home, I was pretty tired for the whole day.  But there are definitely some things to know about.

*     *     *     *     *

Tomorrow morning Phase 3 of the transportation plan will be announced.  There are already some road closures in effect and quite a few more on their way.  Walking through downtown today I saw a lot of the signs that will prevent stopping or access during Games time.  I will update you once the announcement is made.

On Wednesday, January 13th there will be a “Game Plan open house” at 800 Robson Street.  I am assuming that this will have to do with transportation but may cover other topics as well.  I’m hoping to stop by so we’ll see on Wednesday I suppose.

*     *     *     *     *

Vancouver 2010 Spirit Album – I keep receiving more photos for the Spirit Album and am totally thrilled with everyone’s submissions and support!  Keep up the good work!  As I mentioned yesterday, we had some new pin winners but I wasn’t sure what I had for pins for this week’s contest so here we go…

There will be three pins in this week’s contest, 1) an Opening Ceremonies Flag Pin, 2) an Opening Ceremonies Mascot Pin and 3) a Mascot pin that was only available in the three Mascot plush set.  For details on how to enter to win one of these pins please click here.

The Opening Day Mascot Pin and the Opening Day Flag Pin

The Mascot pin from the 7.5" Mascot pack (photo courtesy of Radar the Pin Guy)

*     *     *     *     *

Vancouver 2010 Walkabout! – Alright, it’s that time again.  Time for me to stroll through town and see what’s changing.  Bob commented the other day that I wouldn’t recognise the LiveCity Yaletown site after being gone only a week, and he’s right!  I walked past tonight and instead of a fenced area with just the Coca-Cola tent, there are at least five tents in the main area now!  So, there will be a lot to see.  I am planning on strolling for several hours on Wednesday, January 13th, and you’re welcome to come along for part or all of the walk.  I will give you a general outline here, but if you’re interested, please email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com and I will be able to give you more specific times and places.

I think we will start at noon at the Coca-Cola Happiness Cafe in the Olympic Superstore.  We can grab a coffee or Coca-Cola (and hopefully win a pin, see below) before heading out.  There will be several places to go see along the walk, such as the GE Plaza, the Open House on Robson Street, LiveCity and CODE sites, National and provincial houses and pavilions.  I propose that at about 4:30pm we stop for a beverage at the Irish Olympic House at Doolin’s and then finish at the 30 days to go pin release at the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre back at the Olympic Superstore at 6pm.  That would give us a full circuit, plenty to see, and hopefully a lot of fun along the way.  I hope some of you will be able to make it out!

*     *     *     *     *

Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre – I stopped by today and it turns out it was a good thing I did, they’re busy there!  Everyday they are doing to pin draws for 5 pins from this and previous Olympic Games.  Each person can only enter once per draw and you must be there at the draw time to win.  The draw times are as follows (subject to change, you’ll have to check at the Pin Trading Centre to ensure you’re up-to-date).

Monday and Tuesday: 12pm & 4pm, Wednesday – Friday: 12pm & 6pm, Saturday and Sunday: 12pm & 4pm.

And on Wednesday, January 13th they will be releasing the Coca-Cola 30 days to go pin.  The event starts at 6pm with pin draws at 6pm, 6:30pm, 7:30pm and 8:30pm.  Prizes will include: 30 days to go pins, Torch Relay Provincial pins, a full set of Torch Relay Provincial pins and Torch Relay recycled Coca-Cola scarves.  The pin trading tables will be open so bring your pins along for a great evening at the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre!

*     *     *     *     *

Right, it’s gotten very late (darn that flight anyway) so I’m going to end with a few photos of my day.  I hope you all had a wonderful and Olympic day!

Miga saying goodbye to Hawaii at the Kona airport. The terminal is nearly entirely outdoors.

I was super-excited to see this cool installation by Samsung at YVR. It is so cute.

I said I had a mellow day, but I did manage to score some Canucks tickets for tonight's game for a great price, so Katie, Miga and I went to cheer them on!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010vanfan permalink
    January 12, 2010 10:02 am

    Sorry everyone… I didn’t manage to say that I’ll be doing the walkabout on date in my outline of the day. But I’ll be going on Wednesday, January 13th. Sorry for any confusion. I’ll update the post as well!
    Andrea

    • Tom permalink
      January 13, 2010 1:24 am

      Great updates as always. 30 days to go – very exciting. Wish I could join you for your walkabout – but in London it’s snowing so at least I feel a little bit Winter Olympicy today!

Trackbacks

  1. 30 days to go – Transportation plan = party on the sidewalks! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

