Skip to content

33 days to go – More places to explore!

January 10, 2010

Gosh!  My Vancouver 2010 Venue map is generating interest, and comments, and additional venues!  This is fantastic!  Thanks to everyone that is sending in information, I really appreciate it.  If I haven’t added a venue yet I will, I just need a bit of time.  I am trying to get as much as I can but will have a lot more time to update the map, explore the city, write and reply come Monday (I don’t think anyone has ever been so excited about returning to Vancouver from Hawaii as I am!).

So what are some of these venues I’m hearing about?  Well, at Concord Place I can add the Maison du Québec and the Ontario Pavilion.  (My French is not very strong so please let me know if I make any errors).  The Maison du Québec will be open during the Olympic and Paralympic Games and will feature food and entertainment from Quebec.  I believe that it will be open to the public and I’m sure they’ll be putting together a great line-up of entertainment!  For the Ontario Pavilion, I know that it is located at Concord Place but I can’t find any more information on it than that.  Let me know if there is somewhere I can look for more.

Concord Place site map.

Canada’s Northern House will be at the corner of West Hastings and Seymour Street in downtown Vancouver and will feature stories, songs, shopping and the chance to win one of three unique prizes.  It will be opening quite a lot earlier than a lot of the venues, 10am on January 15th from what I hear.  I plan to be there so stay tuned for updates!  And thanks to Trina for the link!

Club France, the National House for France will actually consist of two venues (thanks to Vincent for information on this and Maison du Quebec).  Club France Whistler will be at St. Andrew’s House in Whistler and Club France Vancouver will be somewhere in Shaughnessy.  I believe that it may be at Hycroft Manor but this is a guess on my part… though it would be a lovely place for them to host their athletes!  My guess is based on a previous hint, plus Vincent’s photo of the site.  Both Club France venues will be closed to the public and only athletes, sponsors, members of the National Olympic Committee and their invited guests will be able to visit.

I’m sure there will be more to come in the following days (Manitoba House? Great Britain? more on Russia’s Sochi 2014 House??) and I will get to them all as fast as I can!  I really can’t wait to try!  What an adventure this all will be.

*     *     *     *     *

Today was a long day here in Hawaii.  This may be because we woke up at 6am at our Mauna Kea campground.  I was stiff from a very firm sleeping pad and rather chilled as it got down to 6 degrees celsius!  We skeedaddled pretty quickly out of there (coffee and breakfast were down off of the volcano) and, after eating, headed back to Kailua-Kona.  I posted (see 34 days to go here), went swimming, did some chores, had a beer sampler at the Kona Brewing Company Pub, did some more chores, watched some Canucks hockey, then a movie and am writing again now.  Whew… it even sounds like a long day.

Miga watching Canucks hockey in Hawaii!

So everyone is warned, my flight leaves Kona quite late tomorrow night and I get back to Vancouver Monday morning.  I am hoping to write before I get on a plane, but in case that doesn’t happen 32 days to go may be a bit late.  However, as I already have a very long list of things to do Monday so I’m gonna try really hard to not add another post to the day.  Things I’m looking forward to this week?? One month to go! 30 days to go (I believe that a new pin will be released by Coca-Cola at their Pin Trading Centre in the Olympic Superstore to commemorate this, but I don’t have the details yet).  The opening of Canada’s Northern House.  My second Vancouver walkabout.  And lots, lots more!

I love the sunsets here!

Oh! And Patti let me know that Miga was visiting with Elvis on what would have been Elvis’s 75th birthday.  How strange is that?  I had no idea but I think it’s pretty neat.

*     *     *     *     *

Last, but not least… don’t forget to send in your photos for the Olympic Spirit photo album!  You could win a pin!  Click here for details.  I love the photo I got today of Robyn the Torch with Murray and Adele at the Olympic Superstore!

Go Canada Go!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 3:12 am

    Andrea

    Good work on the venue map. It is a valuable piece of information to have.

    Kind regards

    Joyce

  2. Bob permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:35 am

    Robson Square had a snowboard ramp installed recently for Winter Squared a 3 day festival that celebrates the best snowboarding culture has to offer at Vancouver’s Robson Square (aka GE Plaza).

    http://vancitybuzz.blogspot.com/2010/01/winter-squared-robson-square-ge-plaza.html

    Lots of cool things going on in Vancouver!

Trackbacks

  1. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan
  2. 27 days to go – The sun was shining in Vancouver! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

