Skip to content

32 days to go – Ziptrekking downtown Vancouver!

January 10, 2010

I had posted rumours of a possible ziptrek line in downtown Vancouver for the Games quite a while ago, as had many others.  This has been in the works for goodness knows how long, and when I went looking for more up-to-date information I still hadn’t found anything more than those initial rumours.  However, while perusing a job-seeker site for the Olympics the yesterday I came across this:

2010 Jobs: Guides and Guest Service Agents

Ziptrek Ecotours is seeking enthusiastic individuals to join our Vancouver Olympic project team. Our project will be operating in the heart of downtown Vancouver. Ziptrek Ecotours will be setting up two parallel zip-lines which will be 30 meters over Robson street, downtown Vancouver.

We will be offering a FREE zip-line experience to locals, visitors, media and athletes. Expect long days, high volume, a working environment that demands flexibility and an exciting new adventure while the world watches!”

Yay! Yay! Yay!!  There IS going to be FREE ziptrekking at Robson Square!  How cool is that?  If you’re interested in working for them, please click the link above and submit your resume before January 22nd.  If you’re interested in ziptrekking… get in line!

*     *     *     *     *

Vancouver 2010 Spirit Photo pin winners!! – Thanks to everyone that entered this week!  The three lucky winners are Vanessa Yu, Rowena Andrade and Dwayne Taylor!  You’ll each receive an HBC Mascot pin, all you have to do now is email me your address at 2010vanfan@gmail.com or, if you’re in Vancouver, let me know when you’ll be downtown and I will give it to you in person.

Please keep sending in your photos!  I’m not sure exactly what this week’s pin prize will be, as I need to check my stash at home, but I will post it up tomorrow.  Same plan as before:

1 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear by emailing it to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com.

2 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on my Facebook group 2010vanfan.

3 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on Twitter and make sure to include @2010vanfan in your message so that I can see it too!

Get your photo in before the evening of Sunday, January 17 for this week’s contest!

*     *     *     *     *

I get on a plane in less than three hours (theoretically of course… 🙂 ).  So I’ll be winging my way back to the home of the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games in no time at all.  I’m pretty darned excited to be there!  Hawaii has been a wonderful adventure and I’m so happy that I came.

Today was a bit more mellow… well, except that for our swim this morning I managed to swim with my parents to the 1/2 mile buoy for the Kona Ironman (and back!).  It was a wonderful sense of accomplishment and was enhanced by the beautiful water, the fish, a turtle and an octopus (he’s hard to see in the photo though so I’ve left it out).

The Kona Ironman 1/2 mile buoy with Doug, my step-dad, and my mom (holding the camera)! Shaka!

My mom first spotted this turtle on the ocean floor, then he headed up for air. It was a very cool experience!

My mom and I back at the Pier after my first Kona Ironman 1/2 mile buoy swim. She does further than this regularly! And yes, she is my mom, not my twin sister 🙂

Miga mostly relaxed today.  Though she visited with Elviki (a very cool Elvis tiki head) at sunset tonight and with some geckos during the evening.

Miga and Elviki at Lulu's in Kailua-Kona. She really does like Elvis!

Miga and a gecko. (It's hard to get the real ones to pose 🙂 ).

Now I’m off to the airport.  See you soon Vancouver!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Rowena permalink
    January 11, 2010 5:58 am

    Andrea,

    I love your Hawaii pics. Hawaii is on my travel list for sure!

    I’m surprised to have won another pin! Great start to the work week.

    Rowena

  2. January 11, 2010 3:18 pm

    Your so funny. Love all the photos with Miga and various Hawaii places of interest.
    Looking forward to your update of what is happening in Vancouver. I’m trying to figure out if I should head out there to hang out in Vancouver for the opening weekend.
    If one of my Vancouver friends can put me up for the weekend I might just do it!

Trackbacks

  1. 31 days to go – One month to go!! « 2010VanFan
  2. 26 days to go – Meeting new friends « 2010VanFan
  3. 18 days 7.5 hours to go – 50,000+ 2010vanfan hits but no media pass :( « 2010VanFan
  4. 5 days 10 hours to go – Walkabout and “I should know better” « 2010VanFan
  5. Olympics Day 8 – Lanny McDonald and lots of other fun! « 2010VanFan
  6. 9 days 18 hours to the Paralympics – The Torch Relay has started! « 2010VanFan
  7. Days 6 and 7 – Biathlon, curling and generally a quick note… « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

