Skip to content

34 days to go – A shout out to all 2010vanfans!

January 9, 2010

Well folks, you all rock.  The excitement from everyone is really amazing.  I am really looking forward to getting back into town.  I have a long list of things that I’d like to do and I’m really thrilled that people are interested in doing some of it with me.  I will try to give everyone notice of what I’ll be up to each day in case you’re interested in coming along.  As I mentioned previously, I’m planning another walkabout, but I have a long list of other things I’d like to do such as visiting Whistler and Cypress before Games time, checking out where the Richmond O Zone will be as well as a bunch of other similar sorts of visits (I remember something about Olympic cocktails downtown… hmm…).

If you are looking for a list of concerts and live performances to check out during the Games please click here for Miss604’s list.  I’d also like to thank her for adding my Vancouver 2010 Venue Map in, that’s pretty sweet!  Speaking of the Vancouver 2010 Venue Map, I am trying to make updates to it every day.  I am adding information on venues and adding new venues as fast as I can (this will be faster once I’m home from Hawaii).  Do you know of a venue that I haven’t added yet?  Please email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com or comment on this post and I’ll be happy to add appropriate venues in.

*     *     *     *     *

And when it comes to Olympic and Paralympic Spirit, I want to see yours!  Please keep sending in photos of yourself, your family and friends or random folks on the street that are showing off their Vancouver 2010 and Team Canada Spirit with pride!  Click here for details on how to submit your photo and if you send it in before the evening of Sunday, January 10 you’ll be entered to win one of three HBC Mascot pins!  If you miss the Sunday deadline, don’t fret, send in your photos anyway, there will be new pins up for grabs next week!

*     *     *     *     *

Miga and the rest of the Mascots have been busy here in Hawaii.  We went over to Hilo to see my auntie Melinda and her friend Terry while they were in town visiting from their Hawaiian cruise.  We headed up the coast and had lunch at the Back to the 50’s Highway Fountain Cafe.  Miga really liked it here.

Miga with Betty Boop... eerily similar... 🙂

Yes, Miga does seem to like Elvis.

After dropping Melinda and Terry back at the cruise ship we headed up to the campground at Mauna Kea.  While definitely rustic it was quite the adventure.  The stars were simply amazing, though the Mascots seemed more interested in sleeping than stargazing.

Sunset on Mauna Kea

The sun hasn't even gone down yet and they're already trying to go to sleep. Sigh.

Thanks for everyone’s patience waiting for this post.  There definitely was no internet for me to use on the flank of Mauna Kea.  The next post should be more on time.  Until then I hope you have a very Olympic day!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 1:29 pm

    Hi,

    Good job on your google map !

    Some comments.

    Regarding the venue for the French NOC, it is just called “Club France”.
    One will be locate in Whistler (St Andrew House) and the other in Vancouver (Shaughnessy area). Both are not opened to public. Only under accreditation or invitation.

    You are missing the Quebec House at Concord Place. Here some information : http://www.tourisme.gouv.qc.ca/activites/maisonQcVancouver/index.html

    Have a safe flight back Vancouver.

    Kin regards

    Vincent

  2. Patti permalink
    January 9, 2010 2:29 pm

    Hi Andrea,
    I would also love to join you and others on your next walkabout. So, if you’re wanting company, let me know when it’s happening.

    I see you have the same affinity for cute little stuffed animals as I do. I haven’t taken pictures of mine yet but when I do I’ll send copies.

    I’ve been busy making decorating plans for my yard. I’ve bought 1810 red LED lights (maybe I should get 300 more to = 2010!!!) so it should be glowing. Right now I’m trying to make a big Maple Leaf with wire and lights. I don’t plan to put all this up until the end of January but when I do, I’ll submit photos for the contest.

    I see Miga was wishing Elvis a Happy 75th Birthday. In case you didn’t know, it was yesterday, January 8. However, I’m sure you would have heard about it being in Hawaii because I was in Honolulu when Elvis died on August 16, 1977 and there were tributes to him everywhere. The one I remember most was dozens and dozens of flower wreaths floating on the water just outside the balcony of my room at the Ilikai Hotel.

    Enjoy the rest of your time in the sun – it’s raining here right now :o(

  3. Robyn Torch Murray permalink
    January 9, 2010 6:49 pm

    Hi Andrea

    Wow looks like you are having fun.Go Miga Go
    I think I told you my daughter got a job with vanoc well she just found out she is in the media center.She is so excited.
    I bought my Torch….Thanks

    With Glowing Hearts
    Robyn

Trackbacks

  1. 33 days to go – More places to explore! « 2010VanFan
  2. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

