Skip to content

36 days to go – Nearing the one month mark…

January 7, 2010
tags: ,

We are getting so close… and I’m so far away from Vancouver 2010, at least physically.  Mentally however I’m never far away… though seriously, I thought vacations were meant to be relaxing?!  I am enjoying Hawaii immensely, but we don’t slow down much!  There is so much to do.  So I’m going to write a short post tonight, get lots of sleep and maybe bring Miga swimming with me tomorrow.

The whole Vancouver 2010 Mascot family overlooking Southpoint on the big island of Hawai'i!

Katie and I overlooking the Kilauea Caldera on the big island of Hawai'i.

Red Mittens at the top of the Pu'u Huluhulu crater looking towards Kilauea and Mauna Loa. What a wonderful place to go!

*     *     *     *     *

Don’t forget – I have a pin contest on!  There are three ways to win this time!  I am starting a photo album of Vancouver 2010 spirit and would like you all to contribute!

1 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear by emailing it to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com.

2 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on my Facebook group 2010vanfan.

3 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on Twitter and make sure to include @2010vanfan in your message so that I can see it too!

All entries will be added to my Vancouver 2010 Spirit Photo Album (which I will get started soon) and will be entered to win one of three HBC Mascot pins if you submit your photo before the evening of Sunday, January 10.  I will definitely be continuing with this contest but with different pins if it seems that there is some interest (and I know you’ll all be in!).  I have some pretty cool pins kicking around for the next batch, so go out and find lots of Vancouver 2010 Spirit!!

*     *     *     *     *

Although I’m in Hawaii right now I’m already making plans for back in Vancouver.  I am working on updating my Vancouver 2010 Venue map and planning on another walking tour to check out how things are coming along.  Is there something you’d like to know more about?  Let me know!  I am always interested to find out what questions people have about the Games and I will do my best to answer.

Right, I’m off to sleep.  Aloha!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo-Anne permalink
    January 7, 2010 12:48 pm

    ALOHA
    Walking tours are always the best but be prepared for chain-link fencing around False Creek. They have blocked access at the Athlete’s Village, I imagine at both ends. Needless to say there were a few irate people on their way to work and out jogging the other morning! I am waiting to see the map the city is putting out on road & sidewalk closures that are beginning already. Will need to know this if we get to Vancouver during the games (I hope). I am just so glad we have finally learnt our way around downtown so it will be easy manuevering.

  2. Amy permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:02 pm

    I LOVE your photo of the mascot family – it totally cracked me up!

  3. Bob permalink
    January 7, 2010 10:07 pm

    Update on the RBC Building at the corner of Georgia & Burrard. Today they were installing huge banners from the top floor to the second floor (as you know the bottom floor already has the banners). It is going to look amazing when it is finished! This will be a must see on your walking tour when you return!
    Also, today CTV released pin #6, the hockey player. Hundreds turned out at the 4 giveaway sites! The 7th pin, figure skating will be released later this month. Then there will be a make-up pin day, and the 8th and last pin in February, the Opening Ceremonies!
    It was fairly quiet at the Pin Trading Centre this morning & afternoon, but people continued to walk past with arm fulls of mittens!!! Never ceases to amaze me this mitten CRAZE!!!!
    Continued enjoyment in Hawaii!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 36 days to go – Nearing the one month mark… « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 35 days to go – Vancouver is getting ready! « 2010VanFan
  3. 34 days to go – A shout out to all 2010vanfans! « 2010VanFan
  4. 33 days to go – More places to explore! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

