Skip to content

38 days to go – 2010vanfan “unaccreditated media”!!

January 5, 2010

Oh gosh!  I got it!  Several months ago I applied to be considered “unaccredited media” for the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, I even submitted an extra note prompted by Jeff Lee at the Vancouver Sun just in case.  Today I was notified that I was approved!  I will admit that the potential of receiving this accreditation has been a driving force in my decision to dedicate my time to writing and to not splitting it between a lot of different avenues, as I had been planning originally.  I believe that being part of the media will provide me with opportunities that I could not have imagined.  I will be unaccredited media for Vancouver 2010!! Wow!

Now, I know that there are at least a few saying “unaccredited media”… what’s that?  There are at least three levels of media for the Games, as I understand it: accredited (you work for a sponsoring news agency such as CTV), unaccredited (you work for a non-sponsoring news agency, online source or other, such as a blog) or those that cannot, for whatever reason, get any form of accreditation (generously serviced by folks like the organizers behind the True North Media House).  Oddly, unaccredited media require accreditation, plus the venue for unaccredited media is different from the accredited media, and the access to venues is different too.  The primary venue for me will be the British Columbia Media Centre (BCMC) at Robson Square, which should be quite the education.  I really had been convinced that it was unlikely that I would be granted access as I am a blogger, and there were very few spots available for internet-based media; I had been considering how else I may approach the Games.  And honestly, even now that I have been granted unaccredited media status I am not entirely sure what that will mean, but I certainly look forward to finding out!

I am very excited, and very proud and really hope that this means that I can share even more with you.  I am sure that it does, I just have to learn how.  What I do know is that I get to pick up my accreditation on January 25th and I can’t wait!  What a wonderful opportunity to be even more involved with Vancouver 2010!

*     *     *     *     *

Today was a very busy day of excitement quite honestly… Besides finding out about my accreditation to the BCMC as part of the unaccredited media, I was also offered a ticket to the dress rehearsal of the Opening Ceremonies.  Now, this is a bit tricky for me… I love surprises.  I really, really love surprises.  So, given that I have tickets for my Mom and I to attend the Opening Ceremonies I am more than a bit hesitant to go.  However, I would be sitting in different seats, at a dress rehearsal, and it is a once in a lifetime opportunity.  So, I’m going to go.  I can’t justify not going and I’ll just have to keep my mouth shut during the actual ceremonies so I don’t ruin the surprise for those around me.  Just a warning for those around me though… I am a talker… you may want to consider some sort of muzzle for my mouth!  But I do promise I will try to be good!

*     *     *     *     *

More excitement?  Of course!  My Vancouver 2010 Venue Map was tweeted about today by @bc_living and it seems to have really taken off with a lot of retweets (sorry to my non-twitter users, just believe me when I say this is a good thing 🙂 ).  I have been meaning to make some updates to the map, like adding the German Fan Fest and Irish Olympic House, and now will be doing it in very short order.  Thanks to everyone that is interested for all of your support with this project.  I really do hope it’s helpful!

*     *     *     *     *

Some interesting things to check out, I look at them regularly:

Top 5 Reasons to Hate the Olympics – this is so funny it hurts!

Journey to Vancouver 2010 – Diary of a Fan – check out Christina’s latest adventure – traveling with the Olympic Torch!  I am so envious and really hope that GM will invite me along for a bit as well (as Christina so aptly put it… HINT HINT!)

Tinkerblue – also keen on the Olympics, and also gives away Olympic pins!  She’s got an interesting and unique view on Vancouver 2010.

ibackpackcanada – Corbin covers topics from all over Canada… though it sounds like Vancouver 2010 is drawing his attention!

WeAreAllMukmuks – fun posts by a couple of Mukmuks!

Art & Serge’s 2010 Roadtrip – These guys work for GM and are responsible for keeping the Torch Relay fleet in motion, but really… they have all the fun!

Cold-FX – check out their website, Twitter (@coldfx2010) or facebook page for chances to win sweet prizes, or better yet, just to meet Hardeep, who seems to keep all things social/computer-based going!

I’m sure there are several blogs and similar sites that I missed and I apologize if I’ve missed you… it’s getting late and my brain is not so functional!  Please post a comment with the link if you’ve found something you think should be included here.  There are a lot of exciting things going on and I want us all to share!  (HINT – don’t forget to send in your Olympic Spirit photo – there are pins up for grabs!!)

*     *     *     *     *

Wow, yes, there is more, ’cause I’m in Hawai’i and I am finding/creating my own Vancouver 2010 experience here everyday with a little help from my friends and family!  I’ve been bringing Miga wherever I go, plus also having unexpected encounters…

We started the day with some swimming/snorkelling.  Oddly, Katie and I both have issues involving breathing in this sort of situation.  She is not particularly comfortable having her face underwater.  Myself?  Well, I am still trying to get over a phobia of fish (don’t ask) and tend to inhale sharply when fish are spotted (non-ideal when oxygen is at least a snorkel-length away).  We both did fabulously however and are looking forward to tomorrow.

After a breakfast of fruit, and a bit of work, we headed to coffee country – first stop lunch!  We ate at a restaurant in the Aloha Theatre, which was built in 1936!  It is quite the work of art, and the food was fantastic!  From there we headed to Mountain Thunder, a Kona coffee plantation for a tasting and tour.  Miga seems to like the pineapple and coffee berries.  I was pretty fond of the Tiki posts.

Miga in the beautiful seats at the 1936 built Aloha Theatre in Kainaliu.

Miga with a baby pineapple at Mountain Thunder.

Miga with coffee berries; the red ones are ready to go!

From Mountain Thunder we went to Fike Farms, one of the best (if not the best) coffee estate in Kona!  Sadly it has been sold and will be in different hands soon, but we met the gentleman that currently owns the place with his wife and it sounds like it is a great thing for them that it has sold.  We had a few very amusing conversations (unfortunately he wasn’t well or we would have talked until something resembling forever!).  Two startling ideas came up: firstly, he would like to move to New Brunswick when the estate is sold (but not for winters), and secondly, he has a niece whose husband is helping to run the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Games!  What a very small world we live in!  I do have a photo with him (and some coffee) but I will have to post it tomorrow as it is not on my camera.  I will also try to post some snorkeling photos.  I was given my own mask and snorkel today as a Christmas present from my parents so I think the morning swim should be extra special!

Yes, Tiki's are more Polynesian than Hawaiian, but I couldn't resist the opportunity for a Red Mitten photo.

Miga practicing her surfing 😀

*     *     *     *     *

Right then, it’s gotten awfully late again, and with so much excitement I can’t seem to stop writing but I’m going to and then hopefully I’ll still have something to say tomorrow!  Mahalo!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    January 5, 2010 3:28 am

    Congratulations Andrea. You deserve the unaccreditated media status. I look forward to reading all you will be writing about.

    The photos are Miga are so cute. They remind me of the kidnapped garden gnome who goes on trips around the world and his owner gets photos of him in various places. Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

  2. January 5, 2010 3:45 am

    Well done Andrea, on getting the unaccreditated media status….wonder if there is an equivelent in Whistler for overseas volunteers….hmmm.

    I too received a special invitation to attend the Opening Ceremony dress rehersal…and I am going 🙂

    Feels like Whistler here…we have had real winter weather since before Christmas, snow and low temps…the temp in Edinburgh right now (at noon) is minus 7…but, hey, it is sunny!

    Love the photo with you and the mittens in Hawaii…enjoy!

  3. Vicki Yehl permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:58 am

    Way to go Andrea! Congrats on the unaccredited status — can’t wait to see super special things on the blog. It is so close and I’m on a countdown to my torch run — I will send you info — 19 days left and I’m all ready now!
    Cheers
    VIcki

  4. Kim Crosby permalink
    January 5, 2010 8:14 am

    CONGRATS!!!! I am so happy for you my dear!!! You went out on a limb and it has paid off for you. I hope 2010 just continues with its many blessings on you.

    You are missed at the Superstore!

    Kim

  5. elspeth permalink
    January 5, 2010 8:33 am

    that is totally totally awesome Andrea!! If anyone deserves it, you do, and if anyone is going to make good use of it, you will. Congratulations!

  6. Samantha permalink
    January 5, 2010 8:37 am

    Congrats Andrea! Well deserved after all of your hard work on the blog. Enjoy the warmth and sunshine in Hawaii!

  7. Bob permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:38 am

    Congratulations Andrea on your unaccreditated media status!!! Enjoy!

    Re: Opening Ceremonies dress rehearsal … you must not reveal one detail or you will be “unfriended”!!! Personally, as great an opportunity as it would be, I would turn it down if I had a ticket to the real thing … but I don’t so, maybe …

    Today is my momentous time. Moments ago Purolator delivered my Olympic Tickets!!! Whoppee!!! I have actually held the tickets in my hand. So, it’s true, its real … I am going to the 2010 Olympics!!! Wow!!! I am over the moon with excitement!!!

  8. January 5, 2010 10:16 am

    CONGRATS!!!! I love your blog and I’m so happy for you!!!!!! Have a blast in Hawaii!!!

  9. January 5, 2010 12:58 pm

    Hey there Andrea,

    Congrats on the unaccredited media status.

    WOO HOO!!! That’s truly amazing!

    I wonder what inside scoops you will be able to share with all your readers with this new status!

    Thanks for mentioning the COLD-FX contests on our site & fan pages!

    Cheers,
    Hardeep

  10. January 5, 2010 2:58 pm

    Hi & Congratulation,

    I have been myself an un-accredited media in Torino 2006 !
    So let talk about this status… This is not an official accreditation linked to the OCOG (here VANOC) or the IOC.
    It’s generally set by a local authorities (here BC province) to allow more journalists to cover the games by supplying them with services and facilities. So you will find at the un-accredited media center work area with internet connexion, live video feeds from the various venues, assistance to realise side report (regarding the city, the province, canada, tourism, …)… but in any case access to any olympic venue.
    So a great position to get more extra games souvenir, some invitation to some parties around Vancouver…
    But becarefull there is some restriction (as normaly for spectators too). You are not allowed to publish on your website videos and pictures of the “games” (in an official venue even from a public stand) as those rights belong to official accredited media !!!!
    Enjoy the Games & once again congratulation for this great blog !

    Vincent

  11. Kerstin permalink
    January 5, 2010 3:54 pm

    Well done Andrea. How exciting for you, to be so involved in so many Olympic activities. With time counting down, I can’t imagine what you’ll be like (on such a high!) when there are only a few sleeps to go.
    Love reading your blog. Have you thought of publishing highlights (hard copy) as a lasting souvenir for your fans? One person’s journey into all things Olympic!
    Cheers.

  12. January 5, 2010 4:20 pm

    I’m not exactly sure what unaccredited media is or what you’ll get to have access to but I bet it will be really cool! So happy for you. I know you’ll do great things with it.
    Thanks so much for being a big supporter of my blog. Both of our blogs will only get better as it gets closer to the Olympics and while the Games are on!
    See you soon Vancouver!

    Christina
    Journey to Vancouver 2010 – Diary of a Fan

  13. January 5, 2010 7:13 pm

    Congratulations. That’s so exciting. Enjoy Hawaii.

  14. Beau permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:51 am

    Hey I’m going to pick up my dress rehersal ticket next Friday! Maybe see ya there.

  15. Sarah permalink
    October 27, 2010 1:46 am

    Info post overload!
    Congrats that you got to be unaccredited media, well deserved and understand your reluctance to see the dress rehearsal, OMG that’s a SPOILER! But yes, a once in a lifetime spoiler so you have to do it.

    Fab pictures of Miga and Mittens, looks like you and her had a great holiday!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 38 days to go – 2010vanfan “unaccreditated media”!! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

