Skip to content

40 days to go – Pin Winners and the new Pin Trading Centre

January 3, 2010

There were a few entries into the Vancouver 2010 Spirit Album this week!  The first week of Spirit pin winners are: Joyce H (from Scotland!!), Michael R, and Rowena A!  Congratulations and thank you for sharing your spirit with all of us!  I promise I will have the album up soon.  I think I will have a few more hours of free time over the next week!  If you are one of the winners please email me your address to 2010vanfan@gmail.com and I will get your pins in the mail in about one week’s time!

I still want lots more photos for the Vancouver 2010 Spirit Album though, so keep sending in your photos!  Get your photo in before the evening of Sunday, January 10, 2010 and you could win one of three HBC Mascot pins!  Click here for more information (same idea, different prize).  And thank you in advance to everyone sharing!  This is wonderful!

You could win one of these very cute HBC Mascot pins!

*     *     *     *     *

The Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre opened today in the Olympic Superstore.  It was a pretty great day.  The guys set the space up the day before and everything was ready for the ribbon cutting at 9:30 in the morning.  There were pin give-aways for answering trivia plus pin draws.  There was a free Torch Relay aluminum bottle of Coca-Cola with any beverage purchase from the Happiness Cafe.  There is a very cool ‘Give a pin, Get a pin!’ wall where you put an Olympic pin on your home on the map of the world and you get a Coca-Cola Vancouver 2010 pin in exchange.  What’s really neat about this wall is that Coca-Cola will be collecting the pins that are pinned up and they will all go to the World of Coca-Cola museum in Atlanta.  I wonder how many pins there will be?

There were pin traders at the tables all day and lots of people in the store stopped by to see what was going on.  It was a pretty neat day.  I took quite a few photos.  If you would like to see more please check out the album here.

The Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre before the Opening.

Some of the Traders setting up at the tables.

Beth and Pete revealing the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre Opening Day pin.

Yup, a 2010vanfan.ca pin is heading to the World of Coca-Cola straight from the Give a Pin, Get a Pin wall in Vancouver. Neat!

I made a few trades and am very happy with all of them.  It even looks like I’m set for some future trades which is pretty neat.  I will have to post some photos of my new pins soon.  Hmm…

*     *     *     *     *

Besides being the Opening Day of the Coca-Cola Pin Trading Centre, it was also my last official day in the Olympic Superstore.  Luckily it was a pretty busy day or I would have had more time to be sad.  I am going to miss being in the store with all of the wonderful people who work and shop there, but I am confident that having more time to write  about and explore the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games is the right choice for me.

I head out on a little vacation here soon.  I’ll be away from Vancouver for a week, but I’ll be bringing Red Mittens with me and of course still reporting daily on any goings-on that I hear about.  And when I’m back, well, I have a lot of plans!  I can’t wait!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 9:49 am

    Hey Andrea

    I won a Spirit pin…yoohoooooo….even from 6,000 miles away :o). You don’t need to send the pin to Scotland…I will email you my cousin’s address in Vancouver.

    I am so chuffed and will gladly give you a Scottish pin in return.

    I have been out in the snow today with my Red Mittens…my 9 year old niece tried to pinch them from me but I fought her off :o). Hopefully I will be able to buy her a pair when I get to Vancouver.

    Enjoy your vacation…rest up, you will need all your energy in a few weeks time.

    I look forward to meeting you soon.

    Kind regards

    Joyce

  2. Rowena permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:21 am

    Thanks Andrea! This will actually be my first pin. I haven’t jumped on the bandwagon yet with the pin collecting, but perhaps this will give me a start.

    I excited that we are now in 2010! I’ll be there at Vancouver 2010 with my red mittens on!

    Best wishes this New Year 2010! Go Canada Go!

    Rowena

  3. Jim H permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:36 am

    Hi Andrea, I didn’t want to say anything to you about your last day at HBC when I saw you at the opening of the Pin Trading Area, but it will be sad not seeing your shining face at the Olympic Store. Always look forward to seeing you at HBC and talk about pins and your blog. Have fun volunteering at the Village. I am sure your pin collection will be growing big while you are there. Maybe one day you and I can make a trade again. See ya

  4. Bob permalink
    January 3, 2010 7:05 pm

    The torch is in Thunder Bay this evening! That means it will soon start its trek across the prairies, which I find really, really exciting! It finally seems to be gettting closer now! It will be in B.C. and then Vancouver before we know it!

    Thanks for the pin trade yesterday Andrea … I will treasure your 2010vanfan pin!

Trackbacks

  1. 39 days to go – 2010vanfan goes to Hawaii « 2010VanFan
  2. 37 days to go – Oh! New Tickets! « 2010VanFan
  3. 33 days to go – More places to explore! « 2010VanFan
  4. 31 days to go – One month to go!! « 2010VanFan
  5. 30 days to go – Transportation plan = party on the sidewalks! « 2010VanFan
  6. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan
  7. 18 days 18 hours to go – Torch relay, Kesler, pins and more! « 2010VanFan
  8. 9 days 16.5 hours to go – Pins, the village and a bit more 2010vanfan « 2010VanFan
  9. 5 days 10 hours to go – Walkabout and “I should know better” « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

