Skip to content

43 days to go – Canada’s Men’s Hockey Team + photo challenge!

December 31, 2009

As most of us syrup-sucking Canadians are aware, the roster for Canada’s men’s Olympic team was announced today.  Some players were expected to be there (Sidney Crosby, Roberto Luongo) but others seem to be more of a surprise (Toews, Bergeron).  Now, I like my hockey, but I have to admit that I don’t know nearly enough to understand how the team all fits together but what does seem clear to me is that it is a team built with a mission.  There are experienced players and young guns (potential leaders for the Sochi 2014 team?).  There are big name stars and guys you may not have heard of before.  But as far as I understand the team was built to be just that, a team.  It’s a bunch of guys with complimentary styles and skills, guys that together have a full toolkit of hockey know-how and the talent to work together to achieve their goal, gold.  I have to say the team looks pretty good to me.  But if you want more, check out these stories in the Vancouver Sun and on CTV.

*     *     *     *     *

Speaking of the roster announcement this morning…  I watched it unfold on CTV, and I’m pretty glad I did, they also had a bunch of new commercials run during the breaks and I have to say, as much as advertising isn’t my favourite thing in the world, these commercials are pretty fantastic.  I really love Nike’s “Destiny” ad.  It really captures the spirit of our athletes – their grit and determination.  And the visuals in Molson Canadian’s “Tapped” ad really appeal to me as well.  I love the idea that our country is filled with fresh water lakes and barley fields and that logically the thing you do with them is make beer.

It was sort of ridiculous.  I would watch some players be announced and then cry through the whole commercial break.  I really am going to need a lot of water and tissue with me during the Games.  Something keeps telling me that I’m going to be crying a lot!  What a wonderful, happy and exciting time we’re all going to have!

*     *     *     *     *

One of the inspirations for the Olympic Spirit photo album I’m starting (missed it?  read the post and enter to win pins!) was Pat.  I met Pat on my flight back from Kamloops.  Pat is from Sydney, Australia and was on his way back to Australia yesterday.  But, as some of you know, my flight from Kamloops to Vancouver was delayed 5.5 hours, so I got to spend a lot of time talking with Pat.  It started with snide comments (it was me I admit) about people getting on the plane that didn’t seem to understand how to board a plane sensibly (seriously, two people were checked in but almost missed the flight, there is only one gate at the Kamloops airport… how did they miss it?).  I figured Pat was going to be Canadian as he had on a Team Canada hoodie but no, he just liked the hoodie and is a general fan of the Olympics.  I figure if Aussies can wear Canada gear, and lots of other people I see wear Canada and Vancouver 2010 gear then obviously the exposure of the crank-pot, pessimistic, grumpy-faced, nay-sayers is being really over-blown in the press.  Hence the challenge to show our spirit!

Right, back to the story.   Unfortunately for Pat, the delay in Kamloops meant that he missed his flight back to Australia but the smallest of margins (ie. an American airline didn’t understand that WestJet was going to international courier his luggage to him and refused to allow him to board his plane without it).  So Pat got stuck in Vancouver…  until Friday!  Needless to say I headed out to join him last night to drown his sorrows in a beer or two.  Now the interesting thing about Pat is that besides being a Team-Canada-hoodie-wearing Aussie is that he’s also really good at meeting people.  And he was intrigued by the photo challenge I’d set myself of photographing a perfect stranger every day in either Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear.  He decided to teach me how to meet random strangers and get them to let me take their photo.  It was hilarious!  We had Aussies, Americans, Irish, Singaporeans, Scotsmen and Canadians all willing to don some gear (usually Pat’s hoodie) for a photo.  And while some did express some concerns about the Olympics, overall everyone seemed to think it is going to be wonderful!

Me and my Aussie mate Pat at Doolin's - The Irish Olympic House!

C is for Canada! - From left to right Shana (can't remember where she's from but she's wearing Pat's hoodie), Tiffany (White Rock), Stacey (San Diego), guy in green (sorry, can't remember your name, oops!), and Dave (also from San Diego)!

Thanks so much to everyone that has already sent an Olympic Spirit photo, I will be getting the photo album up as soon as possible (many appointments this morning, worked until late, I have an early shift in morning, and then it’s New Year’s Eve 2010!  Eeek!).  I’m so happy to see such spirit!

Hope you all have a safe and happy (happy, HAPPY!) New Year’s Eve 2010!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jared permalink
    December 31, 2009 11:09 am

    Who is the older gentleman in the Nike Destiny Commercial?

  2. January 1, 2010 9:45 am

    Nike’s “Destiny” ad totally makes me tear up too! RBC also has a good one with flames spreading across Canada and that made me cry as well.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 1, 2010 10:01 am

      OH! I forgot about the RBC one! I love that one too! Hmm… I should find the link! Thanks Marsi!

  3. Sarah permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:50 am

    Hahah, Pat’s The Man. I hope he got home okay.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 43 days to go – Canada’s Men’s Hockey Team + photo challenge! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 42 days to go – Happy 2010! « 2010VanFan
  3. 26 days 3 hours to go: Some great new commercials « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

