Skip to content

44 days to go – I need to take more photos!

December 29, 2009

I am not a journalist.  I am not a professional photographer nor a professional writer.  I am not used to taking photos of people who I don’t know but I think I’m going to have to start working on it.  I need to put on my big girl panties and not be embarrassed by photographing strangers.  What has brought on this sudden realization?  It’s all of the people wearing Team Canada and Vancouver 2010 clothing and the fact that I don’t have any photographic evidence to share.

Every day I hear stories that are the downside of the coming Olympic and Paralympic Games and I admit I find it really frustrating.  It is not just because I am one of the biggest fans of Vancouver 2010, though that is part of it.  It is because I can see Vancouver, the lower Mainland and really all of Canada embracing the Games and there is little to be said loudly from the supporters.  It’s not that we don’t support loudly to each other, because I really believe that we do.  I think that it is because we are happy and excited and happy, excited people don’t need to yell it at other people, we just smile.  We wear clothing that shows our support.  Or follow our favourite athlete or team.  Together we are a force of excitement and joy, but we just don’t seem to be as newsworthy as those with a less positive view on proceedings.

So, I’m going to set myself another challenge.  I will take at least one photo of a perfect stranger in Vancouver 2010 or Team Canada gear every day.  I can be bolder.  And I think it would be nice to share this both with those wearing their country and hearts on their sleeves and with those of you that I talk to everyday.  You know what?  I’m going to add in a contest to boot, since it’s been a while since I’ve had a pin contest!

Three ways to win this time!  (Gosh, that sounds exciting 🙂 ). I am going to start a photo album of Vancouver 2010 spirit and would like you all to contribute!

1 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear by emailing it to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com.

2 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on my Facebook group 2010vanfan.

3 – Post a photo of you, your loved ones or perfect strangers of your own in their Team Canada or Vancouver 2010 gear on Twitter and make sure to include @2010vanfan in your message so that I can see it too!

All entries will be added to my Vancouver 2010 Spirit Photo Album (which I will get started tonight) and will be entered to win one of three Vancouver2010.com Pin Club’s December pins.  They’re called “Spread Some Cheer” and they are adorable!  The website said that only 500 were made so this is your chance!  To win this pin please get your photo submitted by the evening of January 2nd (that’s Saturday!).  I will definitely be continuing with this contest but with different pins if it seems that there is some interest (and I know you’ll all be in!).  I have some pretty cool pins kicking around for the next batch, so go out and find lots of Vancouver 2010 Spirit!!

Oh, the pins that I just got in the mail say "SPREAD SOME CHEER", not CELEBRATE but they're still darn cute!

Can’t wait to see what we all find!

Oh, and if you happen to find a great display of Canadian Spirit take a photo and send it to Christina, blogger for Journey to Vancouver 2010-Diary of a Fan.  She’s collecting photos too but of big Canadian-ness!  Check out her request here!

*     *     *     *     *

And really quick – the tent continues to grow at the LiveCity Yaletown site!  So neat!  I can’t wait to see it all finished!

Nearly finished the exterior!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:37 pm

    Have you seen the RBC Branch at the corner of Burrard and Georgia lately? The entire building is wrapped in the Olympic theme. It looks great! I must take a photo next time I have my camera with me when downtown … like Saturday when I am in town for the opening of the Pin Trading Centre! By the way, I have volunteered to help man the Pin Trading Centre in January on Tuesdays and probably Thursdays. Pin mania begins!!!

    And speaking of pins, I was thrilled to receive in the mail today the 6-pin Cold-FX set of 2010 pins that I won! It is a numbered LED set to boot!

    I love your photo challenge! You definitely have the spirit and then some!!!

  2. elspeth permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:52 pm

    Now that would be a fashion coup…Vancouver 2010 girl big panties…genius Andrea!!;~)

  3. December 29, 2009 10:16 pm

    Andrea

    I have accepted your challenge and posted a photo on your Facebook of myself wearing Vancouver 2010 gear (also wearing a Team Canada Commonwealth Games jacket).

    When I get to Canada I too aim to take a daily blip and post it in my blog.

    I am a serious pin collector having started my collection at the 1978 Commonwealth Games in Edmonton. I have since been a volunteer at five Commonwealth Games therefore my collection is growing and growing. I have already managed to secure a few V2010 pins and look forward to collecting more when I get over there.

    Love reading your page, keep up the good work.

    Best wishes for 2010. Kind regards

  4. December 30, 2009 6:04 am

    Thanks Andrea for helping spread the word of me looking for Canadian Olympic Spirit. I just found another display the other day on my way home from my Torch Relay Ride Along. I will get the photo up on my blog soon.
    As for your challenge, I think I can step up and contribute something, lol. I’ve got lots of Olympic gear.
    As for approaching strangers for pictures, I have the same problem. I am having personal business cards made up with my blog addresses on them. When I ask people to post for pictures of my blog, I can give them a card so they know I’m not lying. Then they also have the blog address to check out their photo!
    We’ll have to compare photos of Olympic spirit at a later date!
    Have a great day.

  5. Bob permalink
    December 30, 2009 5:01 pm

    I got an e-mail from Vancouver 2010 Ticketing today … my Olympic tickets will be delivered on the 5th of January! Now I am getting really, really, really excited!!!

  6. Dwayne Taylor permalink
    January 6, 2010 7:46 am

    Someone told me i could enter a photo contest. I have wicked Olympic gear for christmas. Am I wrong here. No contest?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 6, 2010 8:56 am

      Hi Dwayne, yes, there is a photo contest! The details on how to submit a photo can be found on the link below, the only difference from the explanation on that page is that the prize and submission date has changed. If you get your photo in by the evening of Sunday, January 10 you could win a HBC Mascot pin! However, I plan on continuing to collect photos, so if you miss Sunday then the prize will change but the contest will still be on. Thanks for your interest and good luck!

      http://2010vanfan.ca/2009/12/29/44-days-to-go-i-need-to-take-more-photos/

  7. February 7, 2010 9:46 am

    Out feeding the birds wearing our warm and cozy Olympic Mits ♥

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 8, 2010 12:08 am

      How lovely!
      Thanks for commenting Catharine! – Andrea

  8. Sarah permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:46 am

    I know I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, this is why I love your blog. The moaners always seem to have a louder prescence than the patriotic and proud. It’s so great that you went out of your comfort zone to photograph people like yourself who are excited for the games, it’s catching a piece of of history too. Good onya!

Trackbacks

  1. 43 days to go – Canada’s Men’s Hockey Team + photo challenge! « 2010VanFan
  2. 41 days to go – The Coca-Cola Pin Trading Area « 2010VanFan
  3. 40 days to go – Pin Winners and the new Pin Trading Centre « 2010VanFan
  4. 39 days to go – 2010vanfan goes to Hawaii « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

