Skip to content

45 days to go – Quick Christmas visit to Kamloops

December 28, 2009

Made even quicker by the recent mayhem at the airports.  My flight wasn’t scheduled until 12:30pm but I decided to go early in case of extra security or the like.  I’m very glad I did!  I’m also very glad for @yvrairport on Twitter where they keep you handily up to date on how things are going at YVR.  On my way to the airport I walked past the LiveCity Yaletown site, where tents are starting to go up (including a really big one!) and then I hopped onto the Canada Line and was whisked to the airport in less time than it took to review all of the tweets from my tweeps!  (Follow me! @2010vanfan 😀  )

LiveCity Yaletown under construction!

It was pretty wonderful to fly into Kamloops.  I grew up in this city and there is always something about it that feels like home.  Maybe it’s the rolling grass and sage hills or the lakes and the rivers but it is beautiful here.  And even more so with the snow all around (it’s actually snowing right now!).  I had an aisle seat, so I couldn’t take a photo as we landed but it’s nice to be here to spend some time, even if it is just short, with family.

I brought Vancouver 2010 and Team Canada gear as presents for everyone here (of course, did any of you expect differently? 🙂 ).  And my Christmas presents are pretty sweet too.  I got Wii Active workouts (gotta be fit to run all over the place writing about the Olympics).  I also got a very neat watercolour set.  I’m not sure how my painting skills are but I think I’ll have to head out to English Bay or maybe up to Cypress and try it out!  And (yes, I am spoiled) my Dad and his wife Dannie got me a 2010 Sterling Silver Lucky Loonie from the Royal Canadian Mint.  Actually, there is a coin set on its way too but it was backordered!  Gosh am I ever spoiled!  I had been admiring the coins but other than collecting the circulation coins and putting them in my collector’s card I had been resisting getting any.  Not really sure why other than I have already bought a lot of Vancouver 2010 gear.

My 2010 Sterling Silver Lucky Loonie!

Speaking of coins, the Olympic Moments #3 coin – Cyndi Klassen‘s Five Olympic Medals in 2006 comes out on January 5th at your local RBC branch.  Hmm… I’m going to be away then, I hope there are still some rolls at my bank when I get back!

*     *     *     *     *

I meant to mention this yesterday, but I wanted to send out congratulations to Jeremy Wotherspoon for qualifying to compete in the Olympics for the men’s 500m long track speed skating competition!  Jeremy is coming back from a broken arm last season and I really hope that I will get to see him compete!

*     *     *     *     *

And last up for tonight, the Canadian Women’s Hockey team faces the Americans in their last two pre-Olympic games this week.  The games are on Wednesday and Friday.  For a fun little game by CTV – find out who your hockey twins are.  Answer a few questions and you’ll find out who, on each of our three national teams (men’s, women’s and sledge) you are most like.  It’s really quite fun.  My hockey twins are Jason Spezza, Hayley Wickenheiser and Greg Westlake!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 11:37 pm

    My in laws gave me the same coin!

    Hope you had a great Christmas.

  2. Bob permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:11 am

    Torch Run
    February 10th
    North Vancouver … Day time community celebration
    West Vancouver … Evening community celebration
    February 11th route
    Belcarra
    Anmore
    Port Moody
    Port Coquitlam
    Coquitlam … Day time community celebration
    Burnaby
    Musqueam Reserve
    UBC
    Vancouver … Evening community celebration (near Cambie and King Edward on map)
    February 12th route
    North on Cambie, over the Cambie Street Bridge to the Stadium … Opening Ceremonies!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 31 days to go – One month to go!! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

