Skip to content

47 days to go – The short side of Christmas

December 27, 2009

With Christmas now come and gone we’re on a very short road to Vancouver 2010.  It’s so exciting!  And a little terrifying but all in good ways.  Venues are having their temporary structures installed, sites around the city are getting decorated with signs of Vancouver 2010 and the workforce is finishing up training and accreditation.  We’re nearly ready to welcome the world!  I can’t wait!

I’ve enjoyed volunteering for the 2010 Commerce Centre and my training as a Vancouver 2010 volunteer.  I have enjoyed being part of the Olympic Superstore.  From helping set up the store for the opening on October 1st through the store getting increasingly busy for Christmas.  I feel so lucky to have worked with such a wonderful team of people.  A team that grows each week as we get closer to the Games but that somehow always manages to feel like a family.  Most of all though – I have really been enjoying writing this blog.  I am so happy with the adventures that I go on, the excitement I get to share and getting to talk to and meet other people from around the world that are as excited about the Games as me.

January 2nd will be my last day at the Olympic Superstore so that I may keep writing during every day of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.  It was a hard decision to make.  It means not being in the Olympic Superstore during the Games, instead I will have time to investigate and share  the Games with everyone.  I will be going to venues, sports and activities that I would not have had time to visit while working in the store, venues such as the German Fan Fest and the Richmond O Zone and I’m sure many more.  I’m certainly a bit nervous, as I don’t have formal writing training, but I have a lot of enthusiasm and look forward to this new adventure and hope you’ll come along!

*     *     *     *     *

A quick congratulations to Daniel and Henrick Sedin from the Vancouver Canucks for being named to the Swedish Men’s Olympic hockey team.  Also to Mattias Ohlund, ’cause while he isn’t currently a Canuck, he always will be to me!  Canada will be announcing our men’s team on December 30th!  Only a few days to go!

*     *     *     *     *

Lastly for today, Renee posted some photos of the Orphan’s Christmas so I thought I would share a few here.  We really did have a fun night.  Mukmuk enjoyed himself too!

Christmas Crackers! Sarah (Australia) is taking the photo, then from left to right - Renee (Australia), Mickael (France), Philippa (Australia), Me (Canada), Maeve and Dennis (Ireland).

Sarah really liked the goodies in the Christmas crackers!

Maeve and Mukmuk!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2009 1:07 pm

    Good choice to take a leave from the store. I’m glad that you will be able to be engaged completely in the games, and have the time to capture your perspective here online for all to enjoy. You just need to figure out a little advertising to get some coin on the side 🙂 Where did you say you will be volunteering?

    Myself, I am thankful that i will be able to take two weeks vacation time for the games, because i don’t want a miss a moment of the experience. I will be volunteering as well, will definitely have my hands full, definitely not your typical ‘vacation’ !

    Looking forward to visiting all the venues around town as well. Richmond O Zone sounds fantastic. Saw that there is a big round tent structure going up a David Lam – that will be THE place to be in the city if you are not at a event in person.

    You mentioned venues, but outside of hockey, what event are you most looking forward to? (whether in person or not).

  2. December 27, 2009 2:14 pm

    I always wondered how you were gonna work and volunteer at 2 different places. Tough call, but the right one.

    I’ve booked off work those two weeks and even with tickets and volunteering still have a fair amount of bandwidth. Which is good because I plan on roving round and round!

  3. December 28, 2009 9:28 am

    Hey there Andrea,

    I look forward to tracking the places you are visiting over the next few weeks so I can pick some ‘must see places’ to help plan my week in Vancouver!

    Cheers,
    Hardeep

Leave a Reply

