Skip to content

50 days to go – Tickets and Mittens and pins oh my!

December 24, 2009

Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh!!  I got to pick up my tickets today (I hadn’t been home when Purolator came by).  And I now have these wonderful beautiful tickets in my hands!  Along with the ‘Official Spectator Guide’ and some special offers for ticket holders!

My tickets! I was only successful in the Second Phase of ticketing, but I got great tickets!

Yes, that’s right folks, I’m going to the Opening Ceremonies!  And my Mom is too!  We’re going to have so much fun!  I really can’t wait! (This may be evident by the number of exclamation points in the last four sentences, hmmm…).  I also managed to get Women’s Gold medal hockey, Men’s semi-final hockey and Men’s Bronze medal hockey.  I think I may still try to go to some other events but I suppose that will depend on how expensive tickets are.  We shall see.

The special offers are interesting…15% off of the Official Souvenir Program or the Team Canada 2010 Hockey Replica Jersey or an Olympic Souvenir Ticket Frame and Pin Set.  I already have my jersey, so I won’t need that and at $159.95 I think the Souvenir Ticket Frame and Pin Set is a bit expensive, but then they taunt me by saying that you can get a free pin with purchase, and it’s the Quatchi and Miga with tickets pin!  Meanies!  I’d love to have that pin.  And it would be sorta sweet to frame my Opening Ceremonies ticket.  However, if it’s a frame and pins or tickets to another event??  I think I’m going to have to save my money to try to attend more events!

*     *     *     *     *

The other pin news of the day was that the Vancouver 2010 Store online put out their December ‘Pin of the Month’ today, and I absolutely love it!

I can’t wait for it to arrive at my home!  It is very cute and it’s nice to see all three Mascots on it.  If you click on the pin image above it will bring you to the site to buy it.  They are $10 + tax and shipping, but there are only 500 of them available so you’d better be quick!

*     *     *     *     *

And then there are Mittens!  And there really are this time.  We had adult S/M (essentially adult small Mittens) arrive in the Olympic Superstore this evening.  So we currently have children’s Mittens (one size only) and adult small Mittens in store.  We do not have any adult large Mittens but there is some small chance that we could get them tomorrow, stranger things have happened!  Anyhow, it looks like we should have enough to last quite a while tomorrow.  I will tweet the status of them as they’re selling to let you know how long I think they will last.  If you’re on Twitter you can follow me @2010vanfan.  If you’re not on Twitter just visit this blog and my tweets will appear on the righthand side under ‘Twitter Updates’.  If you are not in the area, I apologise and can only hope that your Bay, Zellers, or Home Outfitters have got theirs in too.  I’m afraid you cannot order them from the Olympic Superstore, nor put them on hold.  It’s first come first serve and it pays to be fast!

Speaking of Red Mittens, my parents brought theirs along to Hawaii with them for Christmas and they’ve sent me a Mitten photo!  A passing stranger from Vernon (of all places) took the photo for them, right before they headed out for their morning swim on the Kona Ironman course.  And yes, they do swim the entire 2.4 miles.  I’m visiting in January and know that it’s highly unlikely I’ll make it even half that far! 😀

Mittens in Kona... I love how far and wide Red Mittens are traveling!

And with that I’m off to bed.  I finished work at 11:30pm and start again at 7:30am (don’t ask, it was my own fault, I really need to check my own schedule before trading shifts with other people 😛 ).  But just think, only 50 days to go!  I’m so very excited and am sure that you are too.  Those days are going to pass in a flash.  Fifty days from now I’ll be getting ready to attend the Opening Ceremonies.  How cool is that?

Right, well, goodnight, bonsoir.  Until 49 days to go – stay well and take care of each other!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 6:33 am

    Hey, I have tickets to a Mens Hockey Game on the 25th as well. I wonder if we’ll be at the same one! I’m trying to land myself a ticket for the Opening Ceremony. I would love to be there for that.

  2. December 24, 2009 6:49 am

    I just got my email… my tickets will arrive on the 30th! I have that day off, so I’ll be able to stay home and wait SO IMPATIENTLY until they arrive! I AM SO EXCITED!

    And I am going to the Opening Ceremony too! Where are you sitting?

    • Andrew permalink
      December 24, 2009 9:33 am

      So you are supposed to receive an email first, telling you when the tickets are arriving? Cool, I can’t wait! They look great!

  3. Bob permalink
    December 24, 2009 10:43 am

    Congratulations on getting your Olympic tickets. I am stilling waiting with great anticipation for Purolator to arrive at my door with tickets in hand! However, I do have some 2010 tickets already safely stored in my safety deposit box … the figure skating practice tickets, which came with that cool Spectator’s Guide!

    I would love to get more figure skating tickets, particularly men’s free (I have men’s short and original dance) if I can get them for a reasonable price. Also, Opening Ceremonies (lucky you!!!). If I don’t get the Opening I plan to be out on the street taking photos of one of the torchbearers approaching the stadium.

    I cannot wait to get my POM for November & December at this month’s Pacific Pin Club Meeting (another member is ordering for a few of us to save on postage charges). I also love the December one!!! So cute!

    Speaking of pins, there are a flood of new sponsor pins … 7 new McDonald’s alone!

    All the very best for a Merry Christmas!!! And thanks again for this wonderful enthusiastic blog. It is great to know someone else that is as enthusiastic about the 2010 Olympics as I am!!!

  4. dan pederson permalink
    December 24, 2009 2:09 pm

    Remember to come out the The Pacific Pin Club’s December meeting this Sunday, December 27th. The meeting runs from 9:00 AM to 2:00 Pm and is at the Capitol Hill Community Hall off Hastings in Burnaby. Bring your 2010 traders.

  5. Sarah permalink
    October 5, 2010 1:01 am

    That photo pf your parents is so funny! Hahah love it.
    And I know I say this a lot, but I love that pin! It’s not just the mascots, it’s got little birds too! Awww.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 50 days to go – Tickets and Mittens and pins oh my! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 40 days to go – Pin Winners and the new Pin Trading Centre « 2010VanFan
  3. 39 days to go – 2010vanfan goes to Hawaii « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

