Skip to content

52 days to go – Pin trading and Red Mittens

December 22, 2009

It was another hectic day in the Olympic Superstore.  I am pretty sure that roller skates would make my life much easier!  Mostly I just ran (well, walked quickly) around trying to help customers and make sure that staff and visitors alike were happy.  And the day was mostly pretty good until a sales associate whispered in my ear that they had found Red Mittens.  I assured her I thought that this was incorrect, but went to investigate anyway.  By the time I got to the space by the Happiness Café where Mittens hit the sales floor first there was a hint of pandemonium in the air already.  Some associates were clearing children’s Mittens out of the way to make space for the “imminent” adult-sized Mittens.  This still seemed fishy to me so off to our storage area I raced with wonderful Mo, one of our lovely concierges.  Nope, no Mittens in the storage area, so then I checked another storage area, and the loading dock.  The loading dock guy, Peter, confirmed what I’d suspected.  No Mittens had been delivered.

Which of course leads to the bad part of having to go back to the Olympic Superstore and tell all of the Mitten hopefuls that there had been an error.  There were no adult-sized Mittens in store.  This is not a fun task, particularly once people have their hopes up, and many did.  It took a few conversations to convince them all that I really had, personally, checked the whole store and that what they had been told earlier was an error.  They were frustrated.  I was frustrated.  I really don’t like dashing peoples hopes and I like it less when I have no good answer for them as to when we will have Mittens.

OK – I think that was my Mitten rant.  Don’t get me wrong… I love the Mittens and am very happy that everyone else seems to as well.  I just wish we could all have Mittens!  Right, I said that was it, so I’ll stop 🙂

*     *     *     *     *

On the pin trading front… I had a visit today from Rob, a reader and pin winner here on 2010vanfan.  OK – well, he may not have been coming in to visit just me as he was seriously perusing the pin wall, but it was nice to get to talk to him anyway.  He even offered to trade in a calm and gentle way based on my previous post about how nervous I get with trading (thanks Rob!).  And it was a great trade!  Rob was interested in a 2010vanfan.ca pin and had quite a few fun and neat pins to trade.  So my new pins?

I like Whistler! So neat to have a Whistler Host Mountain Resort pin! (Photo from pincollectorssite.com)

And I've been secretly admiring the Rona pins for a while! Now I have one! (photo from pincollectorssite.com)

So thanks Rob for stopping by.  I love getting to meet people and find out how they’re involved in Vancouver 2010.  Rob works for the City of Vancouver and will be working for the City at the LiveCity sites in Yaletown and Downtown.  That sounds like way too much fun!  I can’t wait to hear more about it!

*     *     *     *     *

Two more additions to my pin collection lately, and they’re both super-sweet!  Thanks K for spoiling me rotten!  You rock!

Oh la la! Nifty Panasonic pin (photo from pincollectorssite.com)

Pin from the Olympic Broadcasting Services, so cool! (photo from pincollectorssite.com)

*     *     *     *     *

Gah!  I was going to write a bunch more, but it’s late and I’m a dopey-duck.  Time for some snoozing so that I can go on a serious Olympic walkabout tomorrow.  I’m hoping to take pictures of a bunch of the in-construction venues here in downtown Vancouver!  So wish me luck on my ventures!  It’s going to be a busy day! 🙂

Oh – quick PS though… ’cause the Women’s Olympic Hockey Team Roster was announced today!  And my brother’s friend Colleen Sostorics is going to her third Olympics!!  Eeeek!!  I’m so excited!  Congrats to the whole team!!  I can’t wait to see you all play hockey again, and at the Olympics, better yet!

Our Vancouver 2010 Women's Olympic Hockey Team!! (Photo from CTV)

Woohoo!!  Go Canada Go!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 12:59 am

    Im wondering how I could get to shoot any of the events in February. Have a look through some of the shots I took of the relay here in Toronto last week. It would be a dream if I could shoot for the games.

    Cheers & Go Canada!

    Anthony

    http://www.anthonytuccitto.blogspot.com

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      December 23, 2009 12:22 pm

      Hi Anthony,

      Hmm… I’m not sure how you would get to shoot many of the events unless you have accreditation as Media through VANOC. Though I’m sure that you could visit the free sites and pavilions such as the LiveCity sites or the German Fan Fest. I still have my fingers crossed that I will be able to get ‘unaccreditated’ media status, which amusingly requires accreditation!

      Are you coming to Vancouver for the Games?

  2. Patti permalink
    December 22, 2009 1:31 am

    Hi Andrea,
    If the weather goes according to forecast, you should have a great day for your walk and I look forward to seeing your pictures.

    I got myVolunteer Uniform tonight and was helped by Marianne, the same woman who helped you. I love it and unlike JawnBC, one of my favourite items is the pants. They’re so comfortable and fit so well. And I don’t even hate my smile-free photo :o|

    I also wanted to thank you for posting the information about the new and lower prices for Molson Canadian Hockey House. I only had 2 free days (but no free nights) when I could go so I bought day time passes for February 19. I really wanted to go to MCHH and now because of you, I am. So once again, thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Have I told you before how glad I am I met you last October??? I know I’m not alone when I say how much better my Olympic experience has been in the days leading up to February 12 because of all your efforts to write this daily blog.

    Happy Holidays,
    Patti

  3. Brent permalink
    December 22, 2009 8:27 am

    Andrea, I really enjoy reading your blog and was wondering if you could help out a fellow pin collector, particularly since you work in the Olympic Superstore. I’m not sure if you are aware but certain pins are not available in the U.S. due to licencing issues between the USOC and the Vancouver Organizing Committee. =(

    It’s actually quite sad because I really like the New Years 2010 Mukmuk pin (http://www.vancouver2010.com/store/collectibles/pins/vancouver-2010-pin-new-year-s-2010/prodVAN1440.html?gwoSuffix=B) which is available on the Canadian Online Vancouver shop but not on the American side of the e-shop. I was wondering if this pin is available at your store and if it is if we could work out some way for me to purchase it?

    If you don’t feel comfortable about doing so, I can understand – don’t worry you will not lose a reader! I’m just trying to find away around the red tape and you were the only person I “know” that lives in Canada…thanks either way! =)

    • Patti permalink
      December 22, 2009 1:58 pm

      Hi Brent,
      I bought this pin but I wasn’t planning to and I don’t really care if I keep it. So if Andrea can’t help you maybe I can. It was $9.99 plus taxes in Canadian $ plus whatever it would cost to mail it to you. It’s still brand new and I haven’t opened the package. You also could look on ebay but it might cost more. I’m a pin collector not a trader so I’m not trying to make a profit.

      Let me know,
      Patti (the same Patti who comments every so often)

      • Brent permalink
        December 24, 2009 10:27 am

        That’s fantastic news! I would be happy to try and arrange a way compensate you for the pin and shipping – I have a paypal account if you have one or I can mail you a check. Either way, email me at frecciab@gmail.com and we can trade addresses. Thanks!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      December 23, 2009 12:19 pm

      Hi Brent,

      I have heard that sometimes it is difficult for a company to send pins across the border because of where the pin is made, not so much because of who is sending it. Anyhow, did you get Patti’s reply? Sounds like she has a pin she’s willing to send you and if I understand correctly it’s much easier for individuals to send things than companies. And thanks Patti for offering to help out! I’m awfully slow at replying to things lately (sorry!).

      Thanks for reading! Out of curiousity, where in the US are you? I’m starting to compile a map of readers.

      Merry Christmas!

      • Brent permalink
        December 24, 2009 10:33 am

        Thanks for providing a mini-forum to help me out! I just posted to Patti through the discussion thread and we’ll try to work something out.

        Congrats on getting the Opening Ceremonies tix, if any of the past Olympics have taught us anything you should be in for quite a show! Framing the tickets along with Opening Ceremonies pins and a pic of your mom and you in a shadow box would be an awesome momento to have!

        My wife and I (she also posts occassionally on your site as Diana) both live in Wilmington, DE (about 50 miles south of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania).

  4. December 22, 2009 8:47 am

    thankfully, i got my red mittens on the very first day 😀 … i only wear them about once a week so i don’t lose them. my boss has them too, and someone offered her $25 to buy her used mittens with a small hole in one of them. she declined. people are insane! paying more for used mittens? crazy!

  5. Katie permalink
    December 22, 2009 9:17 am

    Am I totally nuts, or do you have snowflakes falling across your site?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      December 23, 2009 12:16 pm

      You’re not nuts. There are snowflakes! I thought it would look pretty. Luckily it didn’t take much skill on my part, I just clicked a button 🙂

  6. Alan Christensen permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:49 am

    Nice job on the blog postings again Andrea!

    I live in UT and I recently contacted Rona about an Olympic pin. I offered to pay money for the pin and shipping and the response I got from Rona was to send them my address. I responded with my address and thanked them in advance. Later that week I received a letter from Rona in the mail claiming “due to Canadian and international law, they could not send me an Olympic pin!” Needless to say, I was very surprised by this answer, seeing that I had already received Several pins from other suppliers and sponsors in Canada already! I’m ok with them being honest and responding that they cannot honor every request due to overwhelming interest, but blaming it on Canadian and International law is just a flat out lie. Next time all I ask is to just give me an honest answer instead of responding with an obvious lie! I guess you win some and lose some being a pin collector…..

  7. Bob permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:48 pm

    The Panasonic pin is a great addition to your collection … that is one that even I with my hundreds of pins don’t have’!
    Have you seen the new oversized retail Flags pin? I was at Hudson House when they came in … was the first to get one right out of the shipping box! It is a real beauty … a circle of flags with the Vancouver skyline and mountains in the centre! I love it … one of my favorites!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      December 23, 2009 12:15 pm

      I haven’t seen it yet! I’ll have to get myself to Hudson House lickety split! Hopefully Suraj has one set aside for me! Merry Christmas Bob, thanks for all of your comments.

Leave a Reply

