Skip to content

54 days to go – Christmas pin winners and MCHH update!

December 20, 2009

I just did the draw for the Christmas Mascot pins and the lucky winners from posting Holiday Wishes on the blog are: Jake (submitted by Ron A.), Ryan B. (submitted by Sarah P.) and Daemon (submitted by Judy W.)!!  And the lucky 2010vanfan Facebook group member is Nicole J!  Winners, please send an email to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com with the address where you would like your pin sent!  And thanks to everyone that participated!  It was lovely to hear from so many of you!  2010vanfan readers have a lot of Holiday Spirit! 😀

I am going to post a new pin contest in a few days, maybe after Christmas when life has calmed down a bit (Calm? Who am I joking??  We’ll be that much closer to the Olympics then! But the holidays will be over so I’ll pretend in my head that it will be calmer 😀 ).

*     *     *     *     *

More Red Mitten Mayhem!  There were Red Mittens in the Olympic Superstore on Saturday, December 19th.  Actually, there are still youth-sized Mittens, but adults are sold out again.  We had only received large Mittens and once again I was surprised at how fast they sold, it’s really something to watch.  I had taken a few more photos but I think I must have forgotten my camera at work so instead here is the photo that I posted with twitpic.

More Mitten Mayhem!

I will continue to try to let everyone know by Twitter when Mittens are in at the Olympic Superstore!  Don’t forget, $4 from each pair sold goes to support Canadian athletes through the Own the Podium program!

*     *     *     *     *

Model of Concord Place with the Molson Canadian Hockey House

So, Molson Canadian Hockey House announced this week that they now have 1/2 day passes available starting at just $99!  At first I thought that would be great for people who don’t want to spend ~$500 to go, then I was a bit upset as my Mom had spent that sort of money to get my family in for a day.  So, I’ve done some research to find out what the difference is.

Here’s what MCHH says about its passes:

– – – – – – – – –

VIP Lounge (from $450 pp)

Molson Canadian Hockey House’s most exclusive area, guaranteed to deliver a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Full day pass (11:00 am to 2:00 am)
  • Complimentary full open bar
  • Complimentary gourmet meals prepared by the world-renowned Wolfgang Puck Catering team
  • Daily visits from Hockey Canada Alumni
  • Guaranteed seating within a luxurious upscale Lounge environment
  • Access to host/hostess service
  • In and Out privileges

FAN ZONE (from $99 pp)

Offers access to Molson Canadian Hockey House and all the exciting Olympic action, from watching Canada’s men’s and women’s teams go for Gold to all of the live nightly entertainment on the main stage.

  • Half day pass (either Matinee or Evening session*)
  • 2 complimentary beverage tickets included with pass price, cash bar
  • Complimentary food from the Wolfgang Puck Catering team
  • In and Out privileges

– – – – – – – – –

The prices for the new passes:

The Fan Zone passes range from $99 – $259 for a matinée pass, $239 – $259 for an evening pass, and $239 – $439 for a full-day pass (only available for February 12th, 27th, and 28th).

– – – – – – – – –

This all started to make a bit more sense to me when I saw the differences in the passes.  I had reacted to the announcement because the way the media spoke about it I felt maybe we were getting a bit ripped off, but I should know better.  Molson knows how to throw a party and they aren’t going to mess with people who have already bought their tickets.  These new passes are just another way to get new people in the door.  One of the biggest things I like about the VIP Lounge pass is the guaranteed seating!  We have tickets to see the 4:30pm hockey game at Canada Hockey Place (GM Place) on the day of our pass.  We are planning on getting to MCHH  around when it opens (11am), we will watch the noon game there before heading over to see the 4:30pm game live and then return to MCHH.  I had been concerned about whether or not we’d get a seat again for the evening games, but we don’t have to worry which is very nice.

Oh!  And while checking out the passes I noticed that the programming schedule is up as well.  It lays out what games will be shown, as well as what bands, entertainment and hockey alumni will be around.  We have too many hockey games the day that we’re going for there to be much in the way of entertainment (I certainly don’t think we’ll need more than the hockey) but I have to say it would be really cool to be there for a lot of their line-up!  I would love to go see Brent Butt or Tom Cochrane in a venue such as MCHH!  Hmm… maybe I’ll look into some of these half-day Fan Zone passes… 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron Anderson permalink
    December 21, 2009 7:55 pm

    Hello Andrea – Thank you so much for choosing my nephew’s name in your pin contest – he 13 and is the oldest of the nephews and nieces. Jake plays Rep Hockey Team B for the Belleville Bulls in Belleville Ontario and absolutely adores Alexander Ovechkin!

Trackbacks

  1. 53 days to go – The city continues to transform! « 2010VanFan
  2. 51 days to go – My Olympic walkabout, what a great day! « 2010VanFan
  3. 1 day 21.5 hours to go – Molson Canadian Hockey House Preview « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

